We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel influenced by many countries accross the world.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Hotel influenced by many countries accross the world.”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel has a great location just 30 seconds away from the sea, it is a great place to relax and unwind. From the outside you may think that the hotel will not be great, but once inside it’s a completely different story. We stayed for two nights and was a great place with room with different themes. We stayed in the Morocco room and it was nice and tastefully decorated in the Moroccan theme. But there was a few things which may not to be everyone’s taste. The only down side for us is that the toilet and sink area was tiny, not the fault of the hotel more the space which is available. Also the bed area was upstairs which has a low ceiling and the stairs on the way up were slightly daunting as the moved with every step you took. Restaurant on site is a good place to be and the breakfast was delightful. All the staff very helpful and would recommend a two night stay or more if you don’t live local. Make sure you go to the crazy golf available 10 minutes’ walk away also 30 minutes away camber sands, the best beach I been to in the UK. I would recommend either the studio apartment or the sea facing rooms as they are much larger in space and have allot better views than other rooms. Please note there is not air con but a fan in the room, maybe very hot around summer.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a sea view room, or apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taz1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    80
    30
    5
    7
See reviews for
30
479
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I have eaten here several times and am always more than happy with the food. The restaurant décor is outstanding and the outside area is lovely...the food is amazing! Sunday roast is by far the best I have ever had!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Myself and my boyfriend were celebrating our birthdays and decided to take a trip down to Hastings to spend a few days by the sea. When we arrived at the Zanzibar we were offered a complimentary glass of prossecco in the bar before being shown to our room. I was immediatley impressed with the friendly service. Only slight disappointment was the room itself - I had booked at the last minute and we had been allocated the Morocco room. The bed in the room is on a mezzanine level up a small spiral staircase, not so easy when you are 6ft 4 like my boyfriend! Although the room itself was nicely decorated, the mezzanine bed wasn't particularly comfortable and although there was a fan provided, it was very warm.

However, we really enjoyed the dinner in the hotels Pier Nine restaurant, it was excellent and very good value. the same can be said for the breakfast the next morning, it was exceptionally well done. I would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Avoid the Morocco room if you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

'Wow! What can we say. .....

Just back home after a fantastic weekend staying in Manhattan room with my husband celebrating my 40th birthday. The room was fantastic and we could not of asked for more and with a nice touch a welcoming bottle had been put on ice for us when we arrived.

The staff were helpful and we did not envy them climbing the stairs with our champagne breakfast each morning!!

We ate both lunch and dinner in Pier Nine and the food was delicious with full compliments to the chef!

The sea views were breathtaking and we could have spent all day watching the world go by! In fact we put it off for as long as possible until we checked out.

We have already been looking at dates for our next visit!!

Huge thanks to Max and all the staff, we will be seeing you all again soon.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Raudi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Japan room which was beautifully decorated. The jacuzzi in the room was a nice touch.

I was very impressed with the facilities which included a smart TV, the usual kettle along with extensive choices of hot beverage options, an iron and ironing board, a fridge with complimentary water and Elemis products.

We ate lunch and dinner at Zanzibar too. Both meals were of a very high standard and reasonably priced too. The selection of drinks was excellent also.

The staff were very friendly and helpful too. And when I realised I had left an item behind, they posted it back to me free of charge.

I would recommend The Zanzibar and will definitely return in the future.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, UK.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Hastings itself is a bit rubbish but this hotel is a little gem. The interior design is superb and the friendly staff can't do enough for you. Breakfast and dinner were top notch.
Hastings is a sad old Victorian resort but the beach and promenade are lovely. There's plenty to see within easy driving distance and free, on street parking close to the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in both the Japan room and the Manhattan. Both were terrific and imaginatively furnished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norwich_UK_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The facilities this hotel provides are better than most , fridge in the room, fans etc. and being able to eat breakfast in your room is an added bonus . The bed was comfortable and decent quality bed linen but what was disappointing was the fact the fixtures and fittings were tired and in some cases needed a really good clean if not replacing , the rug in our room really was quite awful . The road noise was too intrusive and unfortunately the surrounding areas of St Leonards and Hastings can only be described as a complete dump and it was not a pleasant experience walking around . I agree with other reviewers that this hotel is overpriced taking everything into consideration which is a shame as somewhere else and a little updating it could be fabulous , why the owners picked this location and have managed to keep in business is baffling .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
0.4 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
293 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings

Property: Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Address: 9 Eversfield Place, Hastings TN37 6BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique beach-front hotel with good size, well-designed rooms providing outstanding creature comforts. Unbroken, panoramic sea views through elegant floor-to-ceiling windows. The perfect hideaway for those needing to de-stress and unwind. Big soft bathrobes, complimentary slippers, contemporary bathrooms for your well-being. Quiet rooms and the finest Egyptian cotton bed linen for the perfect night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing