We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cute and cozy”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

What was good about the hotel:
- Friendliness: though in a rather informal manner, check in and the entire service was absolutely friendly and competent
- Our room (Morocco) was as we had expected it: nicely decorated, cozy with its mezzanine. We were able to see other rooms and would recommend to opt for a sea view as it is quite stunning
- The restaurant is lovely and tasty

What was not so good about the hotel:
- The car park is an adventure. Though it's good that they have one at all.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyberntz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    80
    30
    5
    7
See reviews for
30
479
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chipstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here with friends for a birthday celebration and so glad we did as it is just perfect. We stayed in 'Africa' and 'Antarctica' and both have sea views from your bed! Welcome drinks on arrival served on the rear terrace was a nice touch by the friendly staff. We had dinner in their restaurant 'Pier 9' which was excellent, with great service. After a restful night we were back on the terrace for a champagne breakfast which was also excellent.
The surrounding area is a little tired in places, but once inside Zanzibar you are in another world and Max and his team ensure you will enjoy your stay. Will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Had sea view rooms and would recommend them
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were in Hastings for the Elvis Costello concert so we were always going to have a good time , but Zanzibar made the trip and far exceeded our expectations. We booked the hotel based on the excellent tripadvisor reviews but if anything they understated the charm of this unique property . In reality Max and his team are always seeking to excel so it will probably be even better on our next trip. Highlights : friendly efficient staff, excellent food , great value. Even things they couldn't do reflected well . We asked for tartare sauce but there was none because they had not finished making the next days batch ! We stayed two nights but will stay longer next time . Thanks for a lovely time , you are a great team.

Room Tip: Sea view - especially room called South America
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RancherDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff / Caerdydd, WALES
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I found this hotel via TripAdvisor. It fully deserves its rating.
Pleasantly surprised to be offered a complimentary drink on arrival, and a choice of where to take breakfast. Glad to take up the secure car parking (which is 2 minutes' walk away, under the prom in a marked bay.)
The room which we had [Bali] was clean and well appointed. Bedlinen luxurious. Mood lighting; talking shower (yes!); minibar and complimentary coffee, newspaper etc. Only drawback is that the room is overlooked by adjacent properties and the garden, but remotely-operated roof window blinds, and Venetian bay window blinds, ensure privacy.
Dinner was, by any standards, excellent. Worthy of a specialist restaurant. Not cheap but nevertheless value for money. One of the best meals we've had for a long time. Staff were attentive and pleasant.
Zanzibar is a find. Unreservedly recommended.

Room Tip: See website. We made a booking at the last minute, and only one room was available. It looks out to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D G l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My partner & I travel frequently for business and pleasure, so we stay in all kinds of hotels. However, this is the first time I've taken the time to review one. Max and his staff could not have provided better service. The sea views were stunning, and the interior design was as good as anything you would see in a magazine. We stayed in the penthouse room 'Manhattan', and were blown away. From the goldfish swimming in the coffee table to a fully-functioning jukebox to the spa-inspired bathroom....every design decision in this large room was incredibly well thought out- right down to the light dimming blinds over the sky lights. When it was time to leave, we were not ready to go. We will definitely stay there again and encourage you to try it. You won't be sorry!

Room Tip: Take the Penthouse room called 'Manhattan'!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 133KK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

What a find! We were so impressed with the service, standard and attention to detail. We stayed for one night in the Moroccan room - it was superb and so authentic. We loved having a separate living room and bedroom area on the mezzanine level. After a hectic weekend, we took advantage of being in such a unique room and the extensive DVD library - great idea for tired travellers. We couldn't believe how much thought had gone into the room and service - selection of food and drink goodies, dressing gowns, toiletries, breakfast choice, newspapers, welcome drink etc - it's definitely been put together by experienced travellers. Breakfast was excellent. Didn't get a chance to try the restaurant but it looked very nice. Max and his team were so helpful and friendly, going above and beyond, even returning my jacket to me for no charge after I left it behind! Looking forward to returning and trying a different room maybe, although we recommend the Moroccan room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeicesterLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel has a great location just 30 seconds away from the sea, it is a great place to relax and unwind. From the outside you may think that the hotel will not be great, but once inside it’s a completely different story. We stayed for two nights and was a great place with room with different themes. We stayed in the Morocco room and it was nice and tastefully decorated in the Moroccan theme. But there was a few things which may not to be everyone’s taste. The only down side for us is that the toilet and sink area was tiny, not the fault of the hotel more the space which is available. Also the bed area was upstairs which has a low ceiling and the stairs on the way up were slightly daunting as the moved with every step you took. Restaurant on site is a good place to be and the breakfast was delightful. All the staff very helpful and would recommend a two night stay or more if you don’t live local. Make sure you go to the crazy golf available 10 minutes’ walk away also 30 minutes away camber sands, the best beach I been to in the UK. I would recommend either the studio apartment or the sea facing rooms as they are much larger in space and have allot better views than other rooms. Please note there is not air con but a fan in the room, maybe very hot around summer.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a sea view room, or apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taz1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
0.4 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
422 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings

Property: Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Address: 9 Eversfield Place, Hastings TN37 6BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique beach-front hotel with good size, well-designed rooms providing outstanding creature comforts. Unbroken, panoramic sea views through elegant floor-to-ceiling windows. The perfect hideaway for those needing to de-stress and unwind. Big soft bathrobes, complimentary slippers, contemporary bathrooms for your well-being. Quiet rooms and the finest Egyptian cotton bed linen for the perfect night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing