We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent! A 100% must, modern, clean, welcoming, 10-10!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Myself and colleague turned up off the cuff on a Thursday night and only because of reading reviews.

We were not let down, we were offered penthouse suite, as full otherwise at a reduced rate.

Simply magnificent, fully liveable flat, kitchen, huge bath, shower, jukebox, queen sized bed etc etc..

Great people can't do enough for you.

Breakfast served to you, whatever you want from extensive menu.

Cannot give any more recommendation and full 10-10 which I have never given before and written many reviews.

We will be back quite simply.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Dudders15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxORourke, Owner at Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2014

Thanks for your wonderful review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We all work our socks off and it's great for my staff and I to get some recognition for our efforts! We look forward to seeing you back here to continue your 'miniature world tour' with us soon.
All the best, Max

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Japan room for our 2nd wedding anniversary. The hotel has a very relaxed vibe, every part of the hotel from the restaurant, the stairs to the rooms all have their own quirks, the whole hotel is very well thought through.
The Japan room is lovely, it was a shame the jacuzzi had packed up when we got there but the hotel staff were more than lovely by providing us with a decent free bottle of prosecco and yummy truffles. The windows in the room are a bit thin as you can hear everything outside, but the lovely room compensates for that and you forget you're actually in Hastings.
Hastings doesn't really have much to offer for couples so we spent all our time in camber and rye

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank dillyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a great friendly boutique hotel with attention to detail. We had a very warm welcome on arrival and had a welcome drink whilst our bags were taken to the room. We were then shown to the room and were told everything you would ever need about the hotel and local area. Our bedroom was the Japanese room (all the rooms have a different theme) which was decorated perfectly and had all the extras including a mini bar with fresh milk for tea/coffee. The bar area and restaurant looked very bright with a nice outdoor area to the back and great views of the sea to the front. A complimentary newspaper was delivered in the morning and breakfast was amazing with the offer of a glass of Champagne. Great atmosphere, food and service.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Japanese room, but it does not have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alastair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Another lovely stay at Zanzibar. Africa is the best room for the views and big jacuzzi bath.
Nothing is ever too much trouble for Max, the owner and his staff. Dinner in the restaurant is a must too with delicious food and beautiful surroundings. We also go down to Hastings for some much needed time alone and peace & quiet. Highly highly recommended.

Room Tip: Africa, Antarctica or South America for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cazkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Wonderful 2 night stay. Staff really friendly polite & helpful. Room (India) very clean attractive and well equipped. Comfy bed and nice overhead shower. Nice touches including bottled water & milk in the room, free newspaper of choice. Very good breakfast with v good selection to choose from.
Had dinner in the restaurant on the first night and that was first rate too. Overall, couldn't fault anything.

Room Tip: We had a room on the back of the hotel which was very quiet although not a great view, but you can g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazyfool24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Believe the hype, this boutique hotel is mad, querky and very cool. First and very importantly Do Not be put off by the surrodunding buildings, yes they're scruffy but then all of Hastings is a mixture of rough and smooth. We paid extra for underground parking and to be honest there was the odd second or two when I thought I was going to be gang raped and I'm a six foot guy from the rough part of south London, but once back at street level I relaxed again.

So what's so great about this hotel? Well, just about everything. Each room is themed i.e. Antarctica, Morocco, Japan etc. We chose the Japan room but were offered a discounted upgrade to the Antarctic room as the Japanese jacuzzi/bath wasn't working properly. The Antarctic is sea view the Japan room is not. We chose to stick with Japan because I seriously wanted to try the Japanese bath only having a shower at home. I'm glad I stuck to my guns because despite no sea view and no jacuzzi bubbles the room was still great. Its the attention to numerous small details which is one of the things that set this place apart. Not only that, decor aside this place is run by a very friendly, on the ball professional, somewhat Russell Brand like guy called Max. This guy has that Goldilocks's touch, not too invasive and not too aloof but just right. Further, his staff are top notch. One in particular, originally from Rumania, was friendly, chatty and a consummate professional.
Then there is the restaurant, very good ambiance, top quality service and very good food at reasonable prices. The elder flower panna cotta was amazing and my risotto was quite simply perfectly cooked.
So who should stay here? Basically, anyone who enjoys something different, something chilled out and welcoming, something well run hidden behind a veneer of quirky chic and fun.
If you're the sort of person who is happy at a Premier Inn then this place will probably intimidate you, but if you're someone who likes a spicy difference, with hosts who know how to make you feel at home, if you've travelled a bit and now seek a bit of difference whilst still feeling pampered, then whether you're 18 or 80 then I strongly recommend this place.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank David-Epping-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed in the Morocco room. Clever design used all the space in the room to great effect. The room has a high ceiling and the bed is on a snug mezzanine level up a small spiral stair case, this creates space for a living area in the main body of the room.

Nice selection of art both in the room and around the hotel.

Breakfast was taken outside in the "garden".

Only niggle that I have is that the room looks out onto the "garden" dining area - and as a consequence anybody in the dining area can look straight back in!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frozboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
867 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
148 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings

Address: 9 Eversfield Place, Hastings TN37 6BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: £192 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique beach-front hotel with good size, well-designed rooms providing outstanding creature comforts. Unbroken, panoramic sea views through elegant floor-to-ceiling windows. The perfect hideaway for those needing to de-stress and unwind. Big soft bathrobes, complimentary slippers, contemporary bathrooms for your well-being. Quiet rooms and the finest Egyptian cotton bed linen for the perfect night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing