We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road Trip stopover”
Review of Summerfields House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Summerfields House
Ranked #10 of 46 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Road Trip stopover”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Just like staying in a relatives home. The temporary hosts were lovely (Russ and his wife I think) Clean and neat. Very tasty breakfast served however you like it. A little hard to find by just the address on the GPS so plan ahead. We're not usually B&B guests and enjoyed our quick stayover.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    28
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
138
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is one of the best bandb's we have stayed in. Very clean, homely, well decorated, fantastic massive bedroom with superb en suite bath/shower/jaguzzi - it made us feel like we were on a holiday abroad even though end nov beginning dec! The room was v comfortable with all modern facilities and a fab view of the sea with a balcony. We totally enjoyed the jaguzzi bath and the power shower was v therapeutic. The owners left their capable friends to look after the BandB whilst they were on holiday, but Ross and Charlotte made us feel really welcome, put themselves out to ensure everything was perfect and cooked us the most amazing breakfast served in ap beautiful conservatory within surrounding gardens. We would highly recommend staying here, its first class, private, clean, relaxing, comfortable, safe parking and walking distance to town, ex ellent value for money and would stay again...

Room Tip: Pheonix room fab has sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Liz gave a lovely welcome from the security gate to greeting us outside the door with a lovely genuine smile. We were allowed to book in straight away and the seaview room we had was excellent in light, comfort, clean and welcoming. The on-suite was spotless and such a lovely deep bath as well as a shower along with all toiletries and dressing gowns. We had country and sea views which was surprising. The gardens were very well kept and tranquilic for relaxing in. Liz explains and asks for the breakfast menu to be selected the night before and what a selection to choose from. The actual breakfast was delious, hot, good size portion and you ate in a lovel large dining room or the conservatory. Cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: You may wish to take extra coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

During our stay, we were in the ‘Peonies Room’, which has two twin sized beds. We normally request a queen or king, but the room made up for the separate sleeping arrangements with charm, an outdoor balcony overlooking the gardens, and a jacuzzi tub, complete with candles for a relaxing soaking session. We arrived several hours before check in, but Liz let us take our room early, which was much appreciated since we were quite tired from our flight. Alfredo helped me with my luggage (despite my protests) and both Liz and Alfredo were friendly and informative with directions and anything else that we needed throughout our stay.

In the morning, Alfredo cooked us breakfast, which was [OMG] delicious!!! JC and I both ordered the Eggs Benedict, with a side of baked beans and a grilled tomato, which apparently is a common side dish for breakfast in England. It was so good, that we repeated our exact order for our entire stay. During our meal, Liz made sure that our tea was hot and our meals to our liking.

The one and only complaint that I have, and it’s a small one, is that on the day of our check out, we were running late (in true JC fashion). Check out was at eleven and about five minutes past, Liz was knocking on the door scolding us that we needed to hurry. As we scrambled to get our bags out of the room, the maid entered and began cleaning around us. While this would never happen at a hotel, it is understandable that she wanted to get things moving – still, I hate being reprimanded, even if I know I’m at fault.

Not a biggie, but a slight damper on my mood at the moment. Several hours later, however, we received an e-mail from Liz kindly letting us know that we had left some items behind and that she hoped we were still around so we could retrieve them. We were just down the street so walked back and had a nice little chat with Liz and Alfredo about our day, which made me feel a lot better.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A cosy home from home, clean, bright and cheerful and well situated for the seafront and both Hastings and St Leonards. Liz and Alfredo go out of their way to make you feel welcome and the breakfast is wonderful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

A real gem stayed here for three nights spotlessly clean lovely house a very comfortable room excellent breakfast charming and very kind hosts. Shall definitely be back. Hastings old town wonderful for people looking for antiques and attractive junk

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Owners Alfredo and Liz were most charming hosts, who made our recent stay at Summerfields House a true delight. Their unstinting attention to detail anticipated all of our needs and made for a fabulous time. Rooms were very clean and pleasant while breakfast was sumptuous. Summerfields House is situated on a former estate and is a refreshing 10-15 minute walk to the Old Town. I highly recommend Summerfields House -- the charm of Alfredo and Liz is contageous.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
0.4 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.4 mi away
The Cloudesley
The Cloudesley
#6 of 46 in Hastings
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#5 of 46 in Hastings
176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hastings House
Hastings House
#4 of 46 in Hastings
818 reviews
0.4 mi away
Senlac Guest House
Senlac Guest House
#20 of 46 in Hastings
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerfields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerfields House

Property: Summerfields House
Address: Bohemia Road, Hastings TN34 1EX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Summerfields House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Summerfields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing