We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely New Year Holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
The Master Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Master Bedroom
The Dining Room The Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
The Master Bedroom
The Dining Room
The Kitchen
The first floor drawing room, with stunning views over the Old Town and a glimpse of the sea.
The Drawing Room
The Snug, complete with table football and a 58' TV screen.
The Snug
The Master Bedroom
The Main Bathroom (directly opposite the Master Bedroom, but not en suite)
The Second Bedroom, with a Superkingsize bed (6' wide)
The Second Bedroom
View from the Second Bedroom
The Second Family Bathroom
The Third Bedroom with its own balcony and almost aerial views over the Old Town and the sea.
Views from the house
Views from the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Hastings, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Amanda M
2 reviews
“Lovely New Year Holiday”
Reviewed 17 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Jon was the perfect host - very helpful and generous - leaving a bottle of bubbly for us on arrival, with which we toasted in the New Year! The house was very well equipped, spacious and perfectly situated for exploring the old town with it's funky bars, shops and restaurants. The bedrooms and bathrooms were luxurious - the 3 doubles having excellent views over the rooftops to the sea - and the basement snug, with it's enormous TV, was a particular favourite with the kids! We wouldn't hesitate in recommending this historic property for large groups and shared family holidays.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Family Gathering"”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We live in the US and wanted a place where we could gather all our family for a homely vacation. This house was perfect. Large, comfortable rooms where we could all sit around and play games, dine and enjoy each others company. There are two separate lounge areas where alternative activities like watching a movie or just relaxing could take place. And a big dining room and table. Two huge, comfortable bedrooms and two smaller ones which are still double or twin (with great views). And more than adequate bathroom and showering facilities, all modern and well maintained. The place was well equipped for catering (we had a Sunday Roast for 12 and a family Barbecue for 20 without any problem) and there's plenty of storage for food/drinks. No complaints or issues. It was a great visit.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: Lovely views/bathrooms
Liked least: Only 1 car prking space but not a problem really.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect house for a large family”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

There was plenty of space for our family of 8 and 2 dogs (thank you Jon for allowing us to bring them both when the advert stated only one pet). In fact I can't thank Jon enough for ensuring the garden was fully pet proof before we arrived. He was also very helpful, responding to my emails really quickly.

Although there are no photographs of the garden I assure you it won't disappoint. The outdoor sofas are a lovely touch and there's a huge table to seat everyone with a small lawn lower down. There is everything you could possibly need in the house including BBQ coals to get you off to a good start and ice in the freezer. No expense has been spared on the towels and I have to say that the beds are the comfiest we have ever slept in. We have honestly never slept so well (although that may also be due to the house being on so many floors!). The upside to the accommodation being spread over six floors is that there was no holiday weight gain for any of us.

The old town of Hastings is a really pretty place with a lot of character. We were there for Carnival Week so had the pleasure of seeing the annual pram race - a must if you are there for the first week of August. The Smugglers Adventure, which is only a few minutes walk away, was a great place to visit on the one day it rained. We took the cable car up to the top which added to the fun. The funfair on the front is very reasonably priced and you can enjoy Go Karting, Adventure Golf and Swan Pedaloes. There are areas of the beach that are dog friendly and a lot of the restaurants/pubs in the area are also dog friendly. I particularly recommend the Radley as they let you take your dog inside to eat. We enjoyed a day out to Brighton on the train which was far more relaxing than driving. The family group ticket for 2 adults and 2 15 year olds (plus 2 dogs) worked out only £2 more than the cost for 2 adults.

Although there is only parking outside the house for one car, Jon helpfully sent us details of local parking and our older daughters parked their cars in an underground carpark down by the pier for a small daily cost. You do need to go and pay for a ticket daily but the 15 minute walk by the sea is lovely and you have peace of mind that your car is safely locked up overnight.

The TV in the lower games room is huge and there is plenty of seating for everyone. In fact every room is huge - especially the bathrooms. The master en-suite is actually across the hall from the main bedroom but this is a bonus when there are so many people sharing the house as they can use the shower/bath without having to enter the bedroom. Free WIFI was a great bonus, especially with two teenagers!!

Battle Abbey is well worth a visit. There was a re-enactment taking place that weekend which we really enjoyed. Alexandra Park is also a lovely place to go with lots of space to run around if you have little ones and good for a family game of cricket or rounders as unfortunately the beach along that part of the coastline is pebble rather than sand. Make sure you sample the fish and chips from the Blue Dolphin and we can also recommend the Chinese we had delivered from the menu that was in the dining room. One tip worth knowing is that a lot of the small cafes in the old town are cash only but there were plenty of free cash machines around especially in the amusement arcades.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Thanks for your kind words, Angela, and for your wonderfully detailed review. Just for the reference of future guests, it is actually possible to purchase a very reasonably priced parking season ticket for several days or a full week if you need to bring additional cars, and there is free parking in some of the surrounding streets. The other upside of the six floors of course is the stunning sea views from the four upper floors. The three top floors are all bedrooms and bathrooms, so actual day to day living mostly takes place on the two or three floors lower in the house. Thanks again for all the tips - I will try one or two out myself!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maurice14...
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A beautiful comfortable eleganthouse with all mod. Cons and the photos do not do it justice.”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Very welcoming,mwith everything you could want to make a compfortable and elegant weekend stay. Beautiful location, a very attractive home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and stupyle of house
Liked least: Lots of steps
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JL611
London
2 reviews
“fantastic large house”
Reviewed 22 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Fantastic large house with playroom, living room, tv room etc etc. Extremelly well equipped. Very very good location

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite simply the best holiday let I have ever stayed in!”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This house is simply amazing! The pictures do not do it justice, the property is enormous, totally luxurious and incredibly stylish. Please book this property, you will not be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison R
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“An awesome house and an excellent weekend.”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We celebrated my 60th with our three and their other halves. The house was amazing - comfortable, enormous, and in a super location. We enjoyed a breezy walk after going up on the East Cliff funicular, superb fish and chips on the beach, and visits to Herstmonceux Science Park and Bodiam Castle, with a meal in the Old Town on Sunday evening. A perfect weekend in a delightful house. Quite sad to come home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful house with 4 double beds and everything you could need
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2015
Hi Alison - many thanks for the lovely review. I'm so pleased you had such a good time in the house and town with all the family and your special birthday was appropriately celebrated. Many happy returns from me, too!

Best wishes,

Jon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing