We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swan House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Hastings
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Lansdowne(Hastings)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel(Hastings)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Victoria Hotel(St Leonards-on-Sea)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (528)
Filter reviews
528 results
Traveller rating
513
12
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
513
12
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomrenaissance roomold townb bhomemade baked beansattention to detailopen firehonesty barbeautiful old buildingthe perfect hostwarm welcomebreakfast was deliciousparking permitjerwood gallerygeorge streetperfect in every waysmoked salmon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
330 - 335 of 528 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Character oozes from every pore of Swan House. The accommodations are spacious, luxurious and comfortable.

From the second we arrived we were treated respectfully and hospitably.

Every detail added joy to our stay from the fresh tea on arrival to the luxurious soap in the bathroom.

Brendan and his team were friendly, helpful and utterly welcoming.

Couldn't recommend highly enough.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank WayneBerkeleyHerbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendanMcDonagh, Owner at Swan House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Wayne, many thanks for taking time to write a review of your stay at Swan House. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and that you especially liked the little extras we provide for our guests. In fact, our co-owner, Lionel Copley, has just launched a new toiletry range, which we now provide at Swan House. The next time you visit, you can enjoy our very own, shampoo and bath and shower gel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a stunningly beautiful place to stay and we were made to feel most welcome. Upon entering we were struck by the stylish design of the beautiful open-plan ground floor. The bedroom we stayed in (Church) was equally delightful and we enjoyed a very comfortable night's sleep. The breakfast menu accorded us a wide range of options and the food was delicious. Swan House is tucked away in a tranquil part of Hastings Old Town. It was a short walk to local shops and attractions as well as the 'First in Last Out' pub where we had a delicious evening meal on Brendan's recommendation. The lounge had a beautiful open fire and we are looking forward to sipping another glass of wine in front of it on our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We just loved this incredibly stylish B&B in Hastings Old Town and would highly recommend. In fact I would have to say it's my favourite B&B I have every stayed in. Brendon the owner was quietly charming and really helpful - we were made to feel very welcome.
The living room, patio garden and bedrooms are beautifully styled with a lovely mix of vintage furnishings and unique details such as the hand painted walls. Bedooms are very comfortable as well as stylish.
Breakfast was delicious with some lovely additions such as home made baked beans.
We went with friends and enjoyed sharing some wine from the honesty bar in front of an open fire in the lovely living room before and after dinner out in Hastings.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the Artisan room at Swan House in April. What a treat! Brendan, the owner, was quiet charm personified and very helpful with dinner and other arrangements.
Lots of lovely little touches and the great advantage of having the use of the beautiful lounge
were hallmarks of our stay. Would we go again. Yes please - when?!
Our room was lovely and bed very comfy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Swan House has to be the best place to stay in the area. Brendan is the perfect host who always makes his guests feel like friends, which is why people return again and again. Brendan is an expert on the best places to eat in Hastings and is happy to book tables for his guests. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable and warm and I can't wait to go back soon. Believe the reviews, Swan House is simply the best B&B I have stayed in (and has the best breakfasts).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews