We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hastings House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hastings House
Ranked #4 of 49 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Just back from a one night stay and will certainly be returning! Lovely owners, good location, free parking on the road outside and lovely decorated :-)

Stayed in room six would highly recommend as it has the biggest bath ever!!! Fab stay, thank you x

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    106
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
72
502
40
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

My husband and i have just returned from staying the night at Hastings House and will be looking at booking up again and taking our daughter. We stayed in room 6 which had the biggest bath i have ever seen in it. The room was lovely and couldn't find any faults at all. We would certainly recommend staying there and we can't wait to go back. The breakfast was fantastic and cooked to perfection with lots to choose from. Seng and Elizabeth were fantastic hosts and really made you feel welcome, their passion shines through. A very big thank you to them and not forgetting Dusty who is adorable and superbly behaved.

Room Tip: We had room 6 which is at the top of the house, lots of stairs but well worth it, lovely room and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

When two of us arrived at the Hastings hotel we were impressed with the wonderful decor and warm welcome. We were offered a complimentary drink of our choice during the helpful informative talk about the surroundings and where to park. The bedroom was well contained, neat and very inviting. The shower was powerful and the breakfast superb. Well done to the owners.

Room Tip: Higher floors if you are light sleepers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne-Butler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We had a lovely time at Hastings House for our anniversary. We arrived late on Friday and we're welcomed heartily by Seng and Dusty with a glass of wine (very welcome). Our room was lovely - compact but perfect with an amazing freestanding bath. The breakfasts both days were delicious. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely return for a little bit of old-school seaside glamour.

Room Tip: We were at the top of the house with a brilliant free standing bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

I stayed at Hastings House with my boyfriend, and it was absolutely wonderful! The decor is beautiful from the minute you walk in, and the owners greeted us with a drink of our choice, and recommended restaurants/things to do etc in the area. Our room was faultless, and by far the nicest hotel room I've ever stayed in. I am always a little skeptical about breakfasts in hotels, but once again, Hastings House outdid themselves. There was a choice of many things from the menu, and you got plenty to eat, and all of such a high standard! I would recommend this Bed & Breakfast to everyone! Extremely clean, and great value for money! SUPERB!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I highly recommend this boutique hotel and would definitely stay here again.

There was 1 reason I did not give it a maximum rating which I will explain below - not a deal breaker in my opinion but something to be known.

I am not going to repeat what many have already commented on but I will try add a few more bits that might be useful to know.

The building: it is a boutique hotel built into the typical UK sea-front style of building. In general my observations are that a lot of buildings in the area are a bit run down but not Hastings House - it is well maintained to the highest standard.

Reception: Very welcoming. Offer of a complementary drink on arrival and made to feel comfortable from the moment we stepped inside. The interior is nicely decorated with original prints scattered throughout. The place is modernly furnished and clean.

Rooms: We had a Sea facing room. Note that the hotel is not on the road across from the sea, but because of the way the room is set up, you get a great view of the sea right from the bed.
The furnishing down to the smallest detail is superb.
The high ceiling gave a nice sense of space.
The room we stayed in (3) has large widows that open onto a small wrap around balcony to stand on and appreciate the sea view - note that the sea facing rooms higher up did not have this feature.

The one negative was this: the noise. Room 3 is one floor up from the road. The road the hotel is on is not the main road, but the road is a one-way that all cars must pass to get to the main sea front road. Therefore the noise was much louder that what we had expected. I can't comment about rooms higher up or on the non-sea facing side. This was the only aspect that was not so pleasant. Cars/bikes/voices are clearly heard.

Bathroom: Again, perfect, spacious, and as many have mentioned the shower is great.

Breakfast: Made to order, nice touch with the lady serving remembering what we had ordered the day before.

Value: Not cheap but I think worth it. We paid £140 per night but for the weekend stay I think you get what you pay for.

I did not feel overcrowded at all by the hosts, they were great, friendly and helpful.

Parking: We paid an extra couple of quid per day which gave us off site parking (about 1 minute walk) to underground parking facility. It seemed secure but it did feel like an underground dungeon and I wouldn't go there at night! Make sure you understand how to get in/out as some people don't figure it out and get quite perturbed. I would recommend getting the parking otherwise you'll spend a lot of time circling the square.


Restaurants: there are a variety of places in close walking distance. The Lotus (Chinese) was excellent. Quality of food was great and value great.
Pasta Pasta (Italian) was OK, nothing more than that.


It is hard to say if there are other places as well maintained to this high standard in the area (as everything looks old and run down) , but frankly I wouldn't take the chance staying anywhere else.

Verdict: Great hotel, will recommend it.

A note to the owners who I am sure will read this:
- I think a nice touch would be to have complimentary bottles of water in the room with the coffee/tea/biscuit tray. I don't think there is any need to charge a premium for it when other staples such as tea/coffee are offered. 2 bottles at 40p each per day per room will not break the bank.
- Is sound proofing the windows in room 3 a future option?

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms higher up might be less noisy (but not sure)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gazza613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

great little B&B - wonderful location, beautifully decorated bedrooms, lovely stay and yummy brekkie - at an afordable price - great great B&B - would highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.2 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.5 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.7 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#6 of 49 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#3 of 49 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hastings House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hastings House

Property: Hastings House
Address: 9 Warrior Square, Hastings TN37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hastings House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hastings House a gorgeous seaside Boutique Hotel it is a beautifully designed Bed & Breakfast … one thing is for certain … it is truly an unexpected pocket of style and "5 star" luxury with a character all of its own that guarantees a completely relaxed and indulgently comfortable stay in St. Leonards-on-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hastings House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hastings House Hotel St. Leonards-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing