We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel”
Review of Hastings House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hastings House
Ranked #4 of 47 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hotel”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

is love and everythings is just spot on ,hotel is nice ane clean every one is friendly too.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    112
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
78
518
43
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Oasis of calm and good service, well-located, ample roadside parking. Attentive, genuinely welcoming hosts, able to give good advice about restaurants, short walks.... Spotlessly clean and faultless room. Nice, relaxed hassle-free atmosphere. Light room in which to enjoy well-prepared and ample 'full English'. B&B seemed pretty full, testament to good quality and value for money. And there's a fine dog called Dusty thrown in...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My partner and I spent a gorgeous one night stay in this charming, contemporary B&B. We were welcomed with a friendly smile, a pot of fresh coffee and a lovely room. We stayed in the deluxe room with the double bath. The bedroom was compact and beautifully furnished with stylish, tasteful furniture and fittings. Actually I should have asked Seng where he buys his art! He was kind enough to give us some great recommendations, the best of which was Maggie's restaurant (just behind the art gallery). for the best fish and chips ever (it's a lunchtime place - booking advised)! Our breakfast at Hastings House was lovingly prepared and beautifully presented. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this lovely B&B and would definitely stay there again. Many thanks to Seng and his team for providing us with a very relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank razzledazzle7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed here for one night on business (about 6 months ago now) and had a great stay. I was welcomed by a smiling face and a cup of coffee (with biscuits). My room was very stylish, modern and comfortable and has wifi facilties.

The locations great for a wander along the sea front and is close to some nice pubs and places to eat.

Breakfast was also delicious.

Will be back this year for another work visit hopefully.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dp51080l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This is no ordinary B&B, I was away on buisness and I was delighted I stumbled upon Hastings House. Seng, Elisabeth - and Dusty the dog - were so welcoming and nothing was ever too much for them. The room I stayed in was tasteful, stylish and above all else immaculately clean. Breakfast was lovely and the choice was great too. Thank you. Ellen.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012 via mobile

We've just got back from Hastings and had a great time, which was made extra special by the warm welcome we received from Seng at Hastings house. Everything excellent, couldn't fault the place in any way, would thoroughly recommend staying here.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank JEV70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We’re Londoners, so life in the rat race sometimes gets all a bit too much.
So we thought about getting away to Sussex or somewhere within 2 hours via train to recharge the batteries and enjoy a weekend away.

Scrolling through forums and message boards, Hastings House caught my eye. All the reviews were positive but very understated. And now I know why. Seng and his wife have been in the game long enough to know exactly what people want. And I mean exactly. Little touches which often get overlooked have become standard practice here.

We had a great weekend, we stayed in the ‘Orange’ room as the place was fully booked for the weekend. The place looks as new, spotless, fresh and incredibly warm and inviting. Luckily for us, we had a nice big bathtub so for a romantic weekend, it was perfect with our robes and slippers.

And Seng’s recommendations simply match his level of service and pride he takes in his business. If you’re looking for a place to eat, definitely head to the Curlew in Bodiam. Casual pub dining but exquisite food and amazing hosts. You wouldn’t think it’s a Michelin star – the price for starters! And if you decide to stay stress free and travel by train, recommend speaking to Stuart from Hasting Taxicall. 15-20 min ride. Not only did his team pick us up, the dropped us in the old town for a drink and then said to call him when we wanted to go home. Local, honest and really lovely.

We had breakfast looking out to the square – fruit then followed by something hot. It really made the stay even more enjoyable! Seng goes the extra mile – accommodating our requests yet still having a smile on his face. I know the area generally gets a bad rap but for me, don’t listen to the hype, I was pleasantly surprised, the proximity to Hastings and access to transport is amazing. And you’re surrounding by an amazing square which is wonderfully maintained. But it does have a seaside feel and everything attached to it.

5 star service, 5 star stay. Just keep it a secret – he’s only got 9 rooms!

Room Tip: Go for one of the rooms facing Warrior Square, which also looks out to the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.3 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
142 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#6 of 11 in Hastings
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#7 of 47 in Hastings
183 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cloudesley
The Cloudesley
#6 of 47 in Hastings
302 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hastings
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hastings House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hastings House

Property: Hastings House
Address: 9 Warrior Square, Hastings TN37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hastings House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hastings House a gorgeous seaside Boutique Hotel it is a beautifully designed Bed & Breakfast … one thing is for certain … it is truly an unexpected pocket of style and "5 star" luxury with a character all of its own that guarantees a completely relaxed and indulgently comfortable stay in St. Leonards-on-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hastings House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hastings House Hotel St. Leonards-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing