We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Recent Stay”
Review of Hastings House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hastings House
Ranked #4 of 46 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Our Recent Stay”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed here for three nights after hearing good reviews on Trip Adviser. We were visiting National trust properties in the area and this was a very good central base for us. The owner "Seng" was very welcoming (along with his staff), helping with the luggage etc.and nothing was to much trouble. Breakfast was fine with choices of either full english or continental style. Although the room was very small, it was clean and spotless and we would stay here again when in the area.

Room Tip: We had a room in the basement (No.3) if you need more space go for an upstairs one and if you are to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaymad8449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    110
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
77
512
43
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Recently stayed at Hastings House and this hotel was absolutely fantastic. Cannot fault breakfast, rooms or service, the decor is chiq and unique, bed was more comfy then our own! Made to feel welcome the moment we stepped through the door, will definitely return and recommend to anyone who's looking for something special.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex/Suffolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We had a weekend stay here and I have to say this is a stunning B & B and deserves all the positive reviews it has received. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel most welcome by Seng and Elizabeth. I had researched B & B 's before organising our weekend trip and I was not disappointed!
The room was gorgeous and the attention to detail was impressive. The breakfast menu was varied and extensive. It is fair to say we were spoilt for choice. The food was delicious. Both Seng and Elizabeth were happy to help with any queries we might have about the area and it seemed as if nothing was too much trouble.
My only disappointment was we were only there for a weekend break. However, we are certainly hoping to return at some point in the not too distant future.
All in all a wonderful place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherylbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roesrath germany
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The Hastings is a claasical white painted Victorian sea front terraced house - narrow but tall extending over several floors. Has light attractive breakfast room reception area but no other facilities.
Hastings interioor has been renovated recently with an attractive modernish design with bold colours.
Our room was the best in the house on the top floor.. not huge but bright, light and airy with 3 bay window and good (angled) seafront view. But the long & steep stairs were a challenge with a 2 week holiday suitcase (use an overnight bag !). Seng was a very professional host belied his long 5* expernience in the industry. Starting with a welcome drink , an attention to detail on breakfast food allergies, a spot-on restaurant tip he cant be faulted. Breakfast was also great . We enjoyed our stay and can recommend - dont expect a luxury hotel experience but its a top class B&B.

Room Tip: Top floor seafront room in purple
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveCGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Had a fabulous stay in this lovely b+b more like a hotel. We got a warm welcome in to the b+b after a long drive lovely cup of tea and Jaffa cakes on your arrival. Amazing breakfast and a lovely nights sleep not got a bad word to say about it thank you to seng and Elizabeth for making us feel so welcome

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasha080990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2012

What a lovely place to stay. The room was delightful and Seng was a most genial host, who has put a lot of effort and time in to making our stay special. The food was superb, in all a truly lovely visit. We will certainly be coming again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the park, look out to sea and are tranquill
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Hastings House certainly deserves all the fantastic reviews it has received so can only really say 'ditto' to all of them :) This break was a two night stay for our anniversary and everything was perfect. We will definitely be back. Thank you so much for letting us share your lovely home.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina16559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.4 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
0.5 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Cloudesley
The Cloudesley
#6 of 46 in Hastings
291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#5 of 46 in Hastings
173 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Old Town Guesthouse
The Old Town Guesthouse
#9 of 46 in Hastings
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hastings House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hastings House

Property: Hastings House
Address: 9 Warrior Square, Hastings TN37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hastings House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hastings House a gorgeous seaside Boutique Hotel it is a beautifully designed Bed & Breakfast … one thing is for certain … it is truly an unexpected pocket of style and "5 star" luxury with a character all of its own that guarantees a completely relaxed and indulgently comfortable stay in St. Leonards-on-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hastings House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hastings House Hotel St. Leonards-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing