We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seaside Retreat!”
Review of Hastings House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hastings House
Ranked #4 of 46 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
1 review
“Seaside Retreat!”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Booked this lovely B&B for a little get-away for my hubby's birthday and we are both so glad we did! We stayed for 2 nights (stayed 5th July - 7th July). The location is excellent a short stroll from the beach, shops and attractions. Breakfast was very good and filling with a choice of having a fruit copote starter!

After a horrendous journey on arrival Seng made us feel welcome and relaxed straight away and brought us a cafetiere and biscuits, made sure we knew where free parking was, and marked down on the map where all the best restaurants were! The Nepalese restaurant around the corner from the hotel is amazing!!

We stayed in Room 9, which is the small luxury double. It was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, had everything we needed including mini bar, wine glasses, tea/coffee, robes etc.

The hotel is beautiful and is exactly as shown on the website!

We had a lovely time in Hastings and we will definitely be back to Hastings House next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    111
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
78
514
43
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

A lovely boutique B&B that provides excellent service. The breakfasts are plentiful and tasty. The room was intimate with a comfortable double bed and a modern ensuite. Being only 20 metres from the Front, it is an easy walk to shops, restaurants and the beach.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed 3 nights at Hastings House. The things that makes this hotel really special are the service from the hotel owner and the décor and quality of the furnishings. We stayed in Room 6, which is on the 3rd floor and looks out over a service road and roof tops. Although well equipped, the bedroom is narrow, but the bathroom is huge with a fantastic deep free standing bath. We ate very good meals at St Clements, Webbe's Fish Restaurant and Forte Italian restaurant. It is worth exploring the old town in Hastings and taking the lifts up to the cliff tops. Also venture further afield to Rye, Battle and Dungeness.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed here with my partner and our toddler. Friendly and helpful hosts. Pleasant atmosphere, well furnished and well maintained room with a sea view. Pebble beaches are just across the sea front road. Very convenient location if you are travelling by train as you can easily walk down to Warrior Square from St Leonards Warrior Sq. Station (in around 8 minutes). Would recommend taking a sea front walk into the Old Town of Hastings where there are several good cafes and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hug01969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I stayed here for a few nights in June 2013 and was very pleasantly surprised. The location is great, the owners immensely helpful, the breakfast was lovely and the room we had was beautifully decorated and spacious (even with the baby's cot). I've tended to avoid English seas side towns due to some terrible b&b experiences in the past, but Hastings House is one I would certainly return to, if only every b&b owner was a customer friendly as they are at Hastings House.

Room Tip: Parking right outside Hastings House on Warrior Square is free, but getting a spot can be tricky. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shambobala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

I have just spent 2 nights at Hastings House with my husband, in a sea view room, it was a bit more than we would normally pay for bed & breakfast, but definitely worth every penny. Room was spacious & spotlessly clean, breakfast was great. Hosts were very helpful. We went to Webbes Fish Restaurant in Old Hastings it is well worth a visit. We will definitely return to Hastings House.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sharon2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed two nights April 2013
Secure Parking at extra cost. Bedroom with en-suite clean and comfortable.
Great breakfast with excellent service.
Plenty of Restaurants along the foreshore, try the little Italian Restaurant on the other side of Warrior Square you won't be disappointed.
Driving the UK and comparing other B&B with similar service and accommodation I believe Hastings House to be overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burnie675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.4 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
0.5 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
136 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cloudesley
The Cloudesley
#7 of 46 in Hastings
294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#5 of 46 in Hastings
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hastings House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hastings House

Property: Hastings House
Address: 9 Warrior Square, Hastings TN37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hastings House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hastings House a gorgeous seaside Boutique Hotel it is a beautifully designed Bed & Breakfast … one thing is for certain … it is truly an unexpected pocket of style and "5 star" luxury with a character all of its own that guarantees a completely relaxed and indulgently comfortable stay in St. Leonards-on-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hastings House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hastings House Hotel St. Leonards-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing