We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cofortable and clean”
Review of Hastings House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hastings House
Ranked #4 of 46 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very cofortable and clean”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The room we had was well equipped and had a beautiful modern shower room. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent. The owner was helpful and very welcoming. There is plenty of free parking available.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    110
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
77
512
43
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We found this little boutique hotel on Trip Advisor and what a great find. We were welcomed by the owners. They were so hospitable in offering us a lovely perc coffee and biscuits on arrival. This went down very well as we had been travelling from New Zealand for about 38 hours.
The room was on the second floor with a sea view and really quite spectacular. Great big super king bed and tastefully decorated . Advice about local interests and restaurants was very forthcoming and useful.
We only stayed one night but wished it was longer. Breakfast well done and good choice.
Highly recommend, great hospitality, lovely beds and spotless rooms. We will definitely return one day and also recommend.

Room Tip: Sea view recommended although if you have heavy cases be prepared for flights of stairs. There is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JUPANDMUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timetravellerswife2
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This hotel is small, friendly and immaculate. we booked it for a birthday weekend in July and it was wonderful. the greeting from the owner was warm and friendly and the coffee and tea and biscuits served on arrival was most welcome. The owner Seng and his wife and their very friendly dog were the perfect hosts. We stayed in one of the smaller room overlooking the rear courtyard. whilst the room was compact it was adequate. we arrived at the outset of what turned out to be a British heat wave and as with a lot of British hotels Hastings house rooms were not air conditioned which did make for 2 uncomfortable nights sleep (even with the window wide open!) the bed was very comfortable however and did not contribute at all to the lack of sleep. the breakfast was served in the bright and breezy lounge area with windows wide open and the sea breeze flowing in, it felt very comfortable after the heat of the bedroom. breakfast was a nicely cooked English breakfast. We were a little surprised to be asked on our arrival what time we would be coming down to breakfast and when I said "about 9ish" I was told that would be 9 then!! I prefer things a bit more laid back.
We chose to eat over the square at The Gurkha Nepalese restaurant on the Friday night.This is very handy being on the opposite corner of the square. food and service were good.
The owner gave us details and directions to a number of places to eat which we chose to follow up on the next evening.
If you turn right onto the prom you walk down toward St Leonards. It is a pleasant walk but not very many choices for coffee/tea once you have walked about 200mtrs. However turn left onto the prom and there is more choice once you have walked past the what can only be described as the run down buildings and pier. walk the whole length and you come to the older part which on Saturday night had more of a party feel to the area.
Everything is in easy access of this hotel. there is a bus stop just on the square by the statue. that will take you the whole length of the prom if you don't fancy the both ways stroll.
I would like to visit this hotel again maybe in a few years to see if the area has been brought up a notch or two.

Room Tip: One of the larger rooms may have been a little cooler in the heat?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timetravellerswife2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

If you need or want to spend a weekend by the sea in Hastings, this B&B will do you well, as it did for us. Mr Seng Loy, the owner, is tremendously helpful and sorted us out with a taxi, a map, plus recommendations for our walk round the town. He runs a very stylish mini-hotel which has been expensively decorated and is very comfortable. We had the smallest room in the place, on the lower ground floor - and it is pretty tiny for a double en suite. It has no view but was the last room available when I booked a week ahead. Bigger, better, rooms are (we are told) to be had when booked more in advance.
The cooked breakfast was a typical full English,and very tasty, although my wife had a variation, opting for smoked salmon and scrambled eggs - also good. "Real" coffee was available at breakfast but not in the room - so there is scope for improvement. But now I'm being picky.

We will return to Hastings House if we ever go back to Hastings - it's a little gem.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eurobloke17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Booked this lovely B&B for a little get-away for my hubby's birthday and we are both so glad we did! We stayed for 2 nights (stayed 5th July - 7th July). The location is excellent a short stroll from the beach, shops and attractions. Breakfast was very good and filling with a choice of having a fruit copote starter!

After a horrendous journey on arrival Seng made us feel welcome and relaxed straight away and brought us a cafetiere and biscuits, made sure we knew where free parking was, and marked down on the map where all the best restaurants were! The Nepalese restaurant around the corner from the hotel is amazing!!

We stayed in Room 9, which is the small luxury double. It was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, had everything we needed including mini bar, wine glasses, tea/coffee, robes etc.

The hotel is beautiful and is exactly as shown on the website!

We had a lovely time in Hastings and we will definitely be back to Hastings House next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

A lovely boutique B&B that provides excellent service. The breakfasts are plentiful and tasty. The room was intimate with a comfortable double bed and a modern ensuite. Being only 20 metres from the Front, it is an easy walk to shops, restaurants and the beach.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed 3 nights at Hastings House. The things that makes this hotel really special are the service from the hotel owner and the décor and quality of the furnishings. We stayed in Room 6, which is on the 3rd floor and looks out over a service road and roof tops. Although well equipped, the bedroom is narrow, but the bathroom is huge with a fantastic deep free standing bath. We ate very good meals at St Clements, Webbe's Fish Restaurant and Forte Italian restaurant. It is worth exploring the old town in Hastings and taking the lifts up to the cliff tops. Also venture further afield to Rye, Battle and Dungeness.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.4 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
0.5 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Cloudesley
The Cloudesley
#6 of 46 in Hastings
291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#5 of 46 in Hastings
174 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Old Town Guesthouse
The Old Town Guesthouse
#9 of 46 in Hastings
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hastings House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hastings House

Property: Hastings House
Address: 9 Warrior Square, Hastings TN37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hastings House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hastings House a gorgeous seaside Boutique Hotel it is a beautifully designed Bed & Breakfast … one thing is for certain … it is truly an unexpected pocket of style and "5 star" luxury with a character all of its own that guarantees a completely relaxed and indulgently comfortable stay in St. Leonards-on-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hastings House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hastings House Hotel St. Leonards-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing