We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous breakfast, friendly owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hastings House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hastings House
Ranked #4 of 49 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Gorgeous breakfast, friendly owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here as a film crew travelling in the area - Seng could not have been more helpful -- from the amazing cooked breakfast and coffee, helping us make dinner reservations, parking, beautifully appointed rooms -- simply couldn't fault it. Brand new, incredibly clean, not B&Bish, more like a chic boutique hotel in a converted terrace. Just lovely - very classy. Friendly other guests - overall a really nice vibe.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    106
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
73
506
42
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed one night in the cosy room in the basement. It had everything you needed and the bed was very comfortable with good bed linen. The room must have been cleaned very thoroughly because I looked everywhere for my Oyster card before leaving but I was soon phoned by the proprietor to say that he had found it.
Breakfast was very high quality and the location just a few paces from the sea is excellent.
It seemed more like a small hotel than a B&B. There was nobody to contact to ask questions between 8 and 8 at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris-and-Joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford
Level Contributor
157 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed one night in September with my wife. Room was on the lower ground floor, with a comment that the room was cosy. You would expect that the room would be small but it had everything that you could need or would want. Breakfast was lovely, smoked salmon with scrambled egg. All guests are very well looked after, by the team of people running the hotel. i will go back to this hotel in the future. Thanks for looking after us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Lovely warm welcome, delightful room with sea view and tremendously comfortable bed, excellent breakfast - and lots of attention to detail everywhere which made our stay very relaxing. The owner is exceptionally friendly and helpful. All in all this is a super place which more than deserves all the good reviews. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We are NOT B&B types, so I was a little hesitant about our stay, and I shouldn't have been--this was just a lovely little inn. Mr. Loy, the owner, was SO kind and helpful upon arrival, and even before that: he responded very promptly to my email inquiry about booking, which actually helped make our decision about where to stay. Our room (#7, on the top floor) had a very nice view of the ocean and was large enough to comfortably accommodate a small cot for our daughter. (However, when booking, be aware that the property wifi signal does not reach that room.) But the best part of the stay probably had to be the breakfast--if you go, do NOT miss the brioche french toast, which is practically worth the price of the stay all by itself.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

This is our second stay at Hastings House, on both occasions we had a lovely welcome as well as a drink on arrival. The two rooms we stayed in were spotlessly clean and the decorated and furnished to a high standard. Breakfast was also of a high standard, I love the porridge, it was delicious. The owners make us feel very welcome during our stay and we loved their dog Dusty. We would definitely return again and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JStone3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We find reviews really helpful and had read many of the Hastings House reviews. We must say they were very accurate. We couldn't fault the Hastings house, spotlessly clean, beautiful luxury rooms, fantastic linen and comfy bed. We stayed in the deluxe King size on the first floor, over looking the sea front. The owners were lovely, really helpful and made sure we had everything we needed. We parked in the underground car park which was very convenient. We went to the seafood and wine festival which was really good, we actually wouldn't have known about it unless the owners had informed us. Hasting has some great little shops to browse around, and Rye is wonder and fairly close by, and don't miss Beachy Head its also close by, the views are stunning.

Room Tip: I would imagine they are all fantastic as the whole place was top class, but for views it would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.5 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Cloudesley
The Cloudesley
#5 of 49 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#6 of 49 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hastings House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hastings House

Property: Hastings House
Address: 9 Warrior Square, Hastings TN37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hastings House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hastings House a gorgeous seaside Boutique Hotel it is a beautifully designed Bed & Breakfast … one thing is for certain … it is truly an unexpected pocket of style and "5 star" luxury with a character all of its own that guarantees a completely relaxed and indulgently comfortable stay in St. Leonards-on-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hastings House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hastings House Hotel St. Leonards-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing