We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top marks for a lovely boutique hotel.”
Review of Hastings House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hastings House
Ranked #4 of 47 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed mid week for one night and found the hotel to be amazing. Run as a family owned unit, the owner stayed awake till we arrived - gone 2230hrs when check in is usually around latest 2000hrs. No issues or bad words. Lovely chat on arrival with local update on what there is to do. Given a fantastic room upgrade as the property was fairly empty (being a weekday and not a weekend) which was just how I expected it to be - clean, well presented and finished to a higher than average standard. Loved the internet radio in the room and the bed was beyond comfortable. The bathroom was decorated to a high hotel standard and I could not have asked for more.

The following morning we had a lovely full English breakfast and set off for our day. Parking is free until 8am and then for 2hrs after this so until 10am you should be fine. Other areas offer similar parking options but generally 2 free hrs is the max.

The owner is a delight and I loved his story of how he started the business. We should all support the boutique brands more as they definitely provide a fab service in so many of the properties I have stayed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kvunadkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 848 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

Wow!!

This B&B is wonderful!! Thoroughly and emphatically impressed! My husband and I stayed from 30 Dec 2013 to 1 Jan 2014 and we enjoyed our stay immensely! We shall definitely stay again.

The attention to detail to the rooms, decor, bathrooms, breakfast (yum yum!!) service, friendliness, location, advice, I could not fault!! Absolutely perfect!! Loved our stay there.

The owners are wonderfully warm, hospitable and delightful!! You are such gorgeous people!

Thank you for making our stay so comfortable and fantastic!! We shall be back!!

Just want to say, the interior design is fabulous - loved the colour schemes, all the furnishings and fixtures even the back ground music, subtlety playing at breakfast was a great choice & spot on with the volume!! Furthermore, we loved the fact that your breakfast times are at a decent time and not obscenely early like some other B&B's.

Very very classy place !!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Keri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Thank you for a lovely stay. The complimentary glass of wine on check-in really helped with the weather! Beautiful room complete with full range of hot drinks and bathroom products. The bed was so comfy even though I jumped out of bed to watch the sunrise over the pier! Really helpful in terms of suggesting places to eat and visit and even let us leave our bags so that we could explore the following day!

Room Tip: 3, 5 and 7 have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kfoliage04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I cannot recommend this wonderful little boutique hotel enough! I was there in July for about 11 days and stayed in Room#1. Some of the highlights include:
a pristine room with dimmers on the lights - great modern bathroom with amazing rainshower shower head - extra wide sink and huge mirror - great satellite TV with lots! of channels and DVD player - comfortable soft luxurious bed - lots of outlets for the gadgets - tea kettle, tea cups, glasses, bottles of water, all on a leather tray - fresh cookies every day - fresh flowers. Such a beautiful room to relax in after a day out. The location is excellent with the seafront right outside the door. The train station is down the street behind the hotel.
And the breakfasts!! Better than anything in London! Superb!
I felt very welcome by Elizabeth, Seng and Dusty (woof) and their attention to detail. I would absolutely recommend this lovely place! Thank you guys, love Andi :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliveandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This was my second stay at Hastings House. As before it was very comfortable with an extremely clean room and very comfortable bed. The cooked breakfast was also extremely good. I will definitely use it again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timsevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. Friendly welcome, lovely decor in the room, nice attention to detail. The accomodation was stylish, modern and spotlessly clean.
The b&b is in a good location, just a few minutes walk to the train station which was handy for our evening out. The bed was so comfortable, would have loved to stay another night!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DeeDee-Candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We arrived a bit late in the evening to a very warm welcome and a freshly made cup of tea. Super room - number 2 on the first floor. Comfortable bed, working tv ( can be unusual these days) and a very roomy shower. Excellent breakfast, the full english with real sausages and bacon, not the watery mass-produced rubbish, All in all a wonderful stay particularly as I lived the first 3 years of my life 200 yards up the road and it brought back some memories.

Room Tip: Only experienced one room, with no view. Suggest you ask if that is what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.4 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
886 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
152 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#1 of 47 in Hastings
399 reviews
0.7 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#5 of 47 in Hastings
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hastings House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hastings House

Address: 9 Warrior Square, Hastings TN37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range: £94 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hastings House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hastings House a gorgeous seaside Boutique Hotel it is a beautifully designed Bed & Breakfast … one thing is for certain … it is truly an unexpected pocket of style and "5 star" luxury with a character all of its own that guarantees a completely relaxed and indulgently comfortable stay in St. Leonards-on-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hastings House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hastings House Hotel St. Leonards-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing