We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh milk for Tea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hastings House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hastings House
Ranked #4 of 49 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fresh milk for Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just stayed here for 5 nights while working the south coast ,can not fault here .As a person who can spend 4 different nights per week in Hotels it was a pleasure to stay the 5 nights here , on 3 mornings it meant leaving at 7am and traveling for 2 hours , then doing the same each evening. First night asked for fresh milk for a cup of tea and from then on was greeted as I arrived HOME with a jug of milk and fresh tea bags .Wifi in my room , and was of a good strength ,this is a must for me .I was picked up one morning by a colleague who arrived slightly early , he was invited in and give a complimentary cafeteria of coffee while he waited for me .
Will return .Thank You

Room Tip: All ways be nice , this works in every thing one does !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 645richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    106
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
72
501
40
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

My partner and I stayed in room 6 this was our second stay and a much more luxurious one too than our previous room 2 room 6 is smallish but very cosy and what I would call a boutique room the decor is beautiful with it's burnt orange grey and dark wood furniture, the bathroom is something else with the most beautiful bath I have ever seen over our two night stay my partner and I had 5 baths the two hosts are very lovely and helpful the only thing was that the DVD had no sound but the hosts had tried to fix and couldn't but it did not effect our stay in anyway I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone as the breakfasts are very well prepared and tasty don't be put off by the price as you will soon understand when you get inside your room but if your after a view I would either book 3,5 or 7 as they are much roomier and look out to the see

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loulabudandchelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

It was lovely to receive a friendly welcome after a hard journey and a complimentary drink, although we arrived well after the stated booking in time. Hastings House is a small hotel, with a lot of stairs, but the facilities they offer are beautiful and the customer service provided is friendly and very efficient.
We stayed four nights and although we booked late and so had to start in a small lower ground floor room, we were moved to an upper floor sea view room as soon as one was available. Both rooms were beautifully presented with luxuriously comfortable beds, en-suite shower rooms, bathrobes, flowers and chocolate biscuits and the sea view room with a huge bay window was quite lovely, with an enormous bed and a huge shower.
Breakfast was very good and the service second to none. I can thoroughly recommend the scrambled egg with smoked salmon.
The location on Warrior Square is great, the possible downside is lack of parking at busy times.
Will I go back? Definitely!

Room Tip: Chose a sea-view room if possible, it's worth the extra! Avoid room 8 unless you don't min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Summerlok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

My husband and myself stayed here on our way to our journey. It is very welcoming, friendly and comfortable. We have a expensive bed at home but my husband who suffers with his back said that the bed in the hotel was best he had ever slept on. It is possibly the cleanest hotel I have ever been in and we travel a lot and stay in 4 star hotels. They could not have been more welcoming and even recommendation a restaurant to us and also booked it for us. Breakfast was perfect. Definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dorothy25051961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

From start to finish my stay was an exceptional experience.
Arriving on a cold windy February afternoon, I was given the warmest welcome.
A pot of tea and a relaxed check in with a map of the area and an interesting chat with the owner left me feeling what a good choice I had made.
I had upgraded to a sea view room the view was lovely with an enviable view out to a choppy sea.
The bed was extremely comfortable, with every modern comfort. I loved the tasteful design touches and the room was immaculate.
After a restful nights sleep I forced myself to get up.
So glad I did because breakfast was worthy of a very special mention the best breakfast I've had in a long time, worthy of a 5 star hotel.
Served by a charming young lady who was very pleasant.
All I need now is an excuse to do business in the area again. I will definitely be returning.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SallieHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

A warm welcome followed by great hospitality . Pot of tea on arrival, relaxing start that continued throughout the weekend . Comfortable room ,clean and compact . Road outside a little noisy which is part of the Hastings one way system . Great breakfast with lots of tea ,coffee and toast .
Nice weekend with old school friends .

Room Tip: Maybe a room at the back if you don't like traffic noise .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crag789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

A warm friendly welcome - friendly and comfortable. Luxury b&b and great value for money. Contemporary yet charming -. Will most definitely stay there again. The choice of breakfast was great. \all the staff were helpful and kind.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.2 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.5 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.7 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#6 of 49 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#3 of 49 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hastings House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hastings House

Property: Hastings House
Address: 9 Warrior Square, Hastings TN37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hastings House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hastings House a gorgeous seaside Boutique Hotel it is a beautifully designed Bed & Breakfast … one thing is for certain … it is truly an unexpected pocket of style and "5 star" luxury with a character all of its own that guarantees a completely relaxed and indulgently comfortable stay in St. Leonards-on-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hastings House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hastings House Hotel St. Leonards-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing