We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hastings House Hotel - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hastings House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hastings House
Ranked #4 of 49 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hastings House Hotel - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Hastings House is a great place to stay - right by the sea and a good base to explore Hastings, St Leonards, Bexhill and beyond. The staff are friendly, the food good, atmosphere relaxing and the room extremely comfortable. This was my second stay and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: I have stayed on the first and second floors and found both to be extremely quiet - apart from the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HJLondon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    106
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
73
506
42
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I have just had a wonderful 3 day stay in this lovely Boutique Hotel. I had 2 rooms during my stay one on the first floor and one on the second floor and both were very stylish and comfortable. Mr Seng Loy , the owner of the Hotel and his staff were very pleasant and helpful at all times and the breakfast offered a lot of choice and was of a high standard. I am coeliac and they made sure that I had gluten free bread which I appreciated very much. The staff take great care with the presentation of the Hotel - it was beautifully clean and there was good attention to detail- the roses on the tables even matched the colour scheme of the paintings on the dining room wall when I was there and I had a beautiful sunflower in my room too. The Hotel is close to the sea front but also peaceful and quiet at night so I slept well. I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone planning a trip to the Hastings / St Leonard's area

Room Tip: Room 1 on the first floor is a good size and has two windows which cools the room in the heat of sum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatDunn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We booked last minute choosing this bed and breakfast due to the ratings it had previously received. On closer inspection after we booked I noticed some negative reviews about room 8 which we had booked and a comment about no door on the bathroom so was a little nervous about what we would find upon arrival. Fortunately our concerns were unnecessary. What a wonderful place!

The gentleman that greeted us was very welcoming offering us a complimentary drink upon arrival and a map of the local area advising us of the locality of restaurants. Nice touch.

Our room was number 8. Yes it is in the basement, but what a great use of space and beautifully decorated. Complimentary toiletries with robes and hair dryer supplied in the room too.

The complimentary breakfast was lovely. Nice light and airy breakfast room with a good choice of food items. Orange juice followed by tea and coffee and a full English breakfast with a variety of egg options to choose from, I chose poached and my husband chose fried egg. The toast was wonderful, thick slices with a choice of marmalade and jam.

The only negatives; free parking is limited. We were fortunate to find a space. And the seagulls. They are so loud throughout the night. Two things that cannot be controlled by the owners!

Being in the hotel industry we know how difficult it is to please, but this couple have no trouble what so ever. It surprised us both that a bed and breakfast could be this good. It is more like a classy boutique hotel.

Attentive service, but not intrusive. Made to feel welcome immediately. Will definitely choose Hastings House again. Fabulous!

Room Tip: Don't be out off by other reviews for room 8. We loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I'm sure every other room in the hotel was great, But us being on the lower level meant low air circulation and it was very hot outside! I enjoyed the breakfast everything was very clean and the bed was comfortable, The only things letting this rood down was really no view out the window.

Room Tip: Dont ask to go to the lower rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I was only at Hastings House for 1 night and I didn't spend a great deal of time there but what I saw of it was lovely. My room was a small double (room 4), small but perfectly formed. The decor was stylish and comfortable and I had a great nights sleep. The room had everything in it that was needed.
The breakfast room and the breakfast itself was lovely and the staff I met were helpful and friendly.
Overall a good experience and good value, I can't find fault and I'm glad I picked it.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LauraLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

The owners are really friendly, cleanliness and ambient is usually only found in a 5 star hotel. I would be more than happy to stay with them if I am in the area. Excellent breakfast with good Bio products used.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beejay477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week and we loved it. Had room no 3 with sea view. Spacious, decorated nicely and with quality items. The bed is big and wonderful, and you can enjoy the sea view from here as well. Nice view to wake up to. The bathroom is modern and well equipped. All clean and tidy. Only complaint would be the noisy from the street, very busy in the morning and late afternoon/evening. Mainly because we had to have the windows open because of the warm weather - we certainly can't complain about the weather.
When we arrived we were offered a coupe of coffee or tea, a nice welcome. And the coffee was good!
The breakfast was excellent, good products and freshly prepared on order. Traditional English breakfast, fresh fruit with youghurt, French toast and much more served in a very nice breakfast room/lounge. I love black pudding but it wasn't on the menu. I asked for it, and the owner took the trouble to get it for me. He made my week.
The owner and the staff were helpful at all times.
The hotel is located it bit out of the way from Hastings but only 15 to 25 minutes walk to the town and a range of good restaurants. Also a few good restaurants near the hotel.
We are happy to have stayed at this wondeful hotel and would happily return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NN-CPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.5 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Cloudesley
The Cloudesley
#5 of 49 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#6 of 49 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hastings House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hastings House

Property: Hastings House
Address: 9 Warrior Square, Hastings TN37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hastings House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hastings House a gorgeous seaside Boutique Hotel it is a beautifully designed Bed & Breakfast … one thing is for certain … it is truly an unexpected pocket of style and "5 star" luxury with a character all of its own that guarantees a completely relaxed and indulgently comfortable stay in St. Leonards-on-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hastings House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hastings House Hotel St. Leonards-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing