We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hastings House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hastings House
Ranked #4 of 49 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Exceptional service, beautiful room (we stayed in a see-view room), clean. If I had to fault this I'd like better lighting in the bathroom. But I don't have to fault it, and I won't. We thoroughly enjoyed and hope to come back

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    106
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
73
506
42
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Staff really look after you, to make sure your stay is a good one . Excellent breakfast. Safe underground parking at very cheap price . A little out the way, but walkable to old town. Only negative is no aircon, otherwise great stay

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave-moe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Sadly a family funeral bought us to Hastings. On the day of our stay we got lost and the owner patiently took 3 calls from me and gave clear instructions which greatly helped. On arrival we were provided with a complimentary drink which was very welcome and we sat in the small patio area.
The room was immaculate and a great deal of thought had obviously gone into the decor and amenities.
There was also a well stocked fridge and ample pillows..bed was sooo comfortable!
Breakfast was served at your table and the selection included smoked salmon and scrambled eggs.
Overall a very pleasant stay and highly recommended.
Debbie xx

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

My boyfriend and myself stayed here last week for a joint bday vacation and overall Hastings House was amazing. We stayed in room 6 (top floor and the only room with a bath) and it had modern decor and was nice and clean. The bed was very comfortable and the minibar was handy and very reasonably priced. We had a tv with freeview and a DAB Radio in the room and the bathroom was spacious and had a massive mirror. Bathrobes were provided and the bath was lovely, big enough for two. The hosts were amazing, very attentive and polite. Breakfast was top class, lots to choose from and fresh. Location is good, about 7 mins walk from St Leonards Warrior Square Station, 10 mins walk to shopping centre and is right on the beach front. Lots to do in Hastings and surrounding areas so make sure you plan ahead. The only con we had was that the wifi signal on the top floor where we stayed was very weak. Will defo stay in Hastings House again and would recommend if you want to relax and get away from a busy lifestyle.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsJPerfectionist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Hastings House is a great place to stay - right by the sea and a good base to explore Hastings, St Leonards, Bexhill and beyond. The staff are friendly, the food good, atmosphere relaxing and the room extremely comfortable. This was my second stay and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: I have stayed on the first and second floors and found both to be extremely quiet - apart from the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HJLondon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I have just had a wonderful 3 day stay in this lovely Boutique Hotel. I had 2 rooms during my stay one on the first floor and one on the second floor and both were very stylish and comfortable. Mr Seng Loy , the owner of the Hotel and his staff were very pleasant and helpful at all times and the breakfast offered a lot of choice and was of a high standard. I am coeliac and they made sure that I had gluten free bread which I appreciated very much. The staff take great care with the presentation of the Hotel - it was beautifully clean and there was good attention to detail- the roses on the tables even matched the colour scheme of the paintings on the dining room wall when I was there and I had a beautiful sunflower in my room too. The Hotel is close to the sea front but also peaceful and quiet at night so I slept well. I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone planning a trip to the Hastings / St Leonard's area

Room Tip: Room 1 on the first floor is a good size and has two windows which cools the room in the heat of sum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatDunn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We booked last minute choosing this bed and breakfast due to the ratings it had previously received. On closer inspection after we booked I noticed some negative reviews about room 8 which we had booked and a comment about no door on the bathroom so was a little nervous about what we would find upon arrival. Fortunately our concerns were unnecessary. What a wonderful place!

The gentleman that greeted us was very welcoming offering us a complimentary drink upon arrival and a map of the local area advising us of the locality of restaurants. Nice touch.

Our room was number 8. Yes it is in the basement, but what a great use of space and beautifully decorated. Complimentary toiletries with robes and hair dryer supplied in the room too.

The complimentary breakfast was lovely. Nice light and airy breakfast room with a good choice of food items. Orange juice followed by tea and coffee and a full English breakfast with a variety of egg options to choose from, I chose poached and my husband chose fried egg. The toast was wonderful, thick slices with a choice of marmalade and jam.

The only negatives; free parking is limited. We were fortunate to find a space. And the seagulls. They are so loud throughout the night. Two things that cannot be controlled by the owners!

Being in the hotel industry we know how difficult it is to please, but this couple have no trouble what so ever. It surprised us both that a bed and breakfast could be this good. It is more like a classy boutique hotel.

Attentive service, but not intrusive. Made to feel welcome immediately. Will definitely choose Hastings House again. Fabulous!

Room Tip: Don't be out off by other reviews for room 8. We loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.5 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Cloudesley
The Cloudesley
#5 of 49 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#6 of 49 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hastings House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hastings House

Property: Hastings House
Address: 9 Warrior Square, Hastings TN37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hastings House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hastings House a gorgeous seaside Boutique Hotel it is a beautifully designed Bed & Breakfast … one thing is for certain … it is truly an unexpected pocket of style and "5 star" luxury with a character all of its own that guarantees a completely relaxed and indulgently comfortable stay in St. Leonards-on-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hastings House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hastings House Hotel St. Leonards-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing