We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accomodation at a great price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hastings House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hastings House
Ranked #4 of 49 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great accomodation at a great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

I stayed here with my husband over a weekend, attending a wedding at the Royal Vic hotel down the road. We were greeted kindly on arrival by the owner and given all sorts of information on the area and shown to our room- number 5. It was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The only trouble we had was trying to find an ironing board when the owners were out but that couldn't be helped. Breakfast was great and unrushed and there were plenty of sunday papers to choose from to. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs-Smith-jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    106
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
72
502
40
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

My two sisters and I had the good luck to spend the weekend at the Hastings House Hotel recently. From the moment we walked through the door, to the moment we left, Seng and Elisabeth looked after us ( and our family who came to visit us) in a warm and friendly manner. The rooms are luxurious and so comfy!! The food served at breakfast was superb - great choice and healthy too ( should you want it!)
Hastings House is in a lovely location on Warrior Square, and is excellent value for money - we would have no hesitation in recommending it to family and friends - and we look forward to returning in the future!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NettaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

This is a guest house set up by a man who has known the best of the big hotels from the inside and knows that he can more than match what they have to offer in the way of rooms and meals and so on; and that he can beat them by a mile when it comes to personal service.
I brought my elderly parents here for a weekend and their every need was catered for - usually after pre-stay enquiry by e-mail to see just what would suit (such as a shift of room to a lower floor [not something I had asked for: spontaneously offered] and a meal exactly constructed to meat their [rather old-English prissy (!)] needs.
Excellent.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MogMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

We stayed at Hastings House for one night, and were amazed at the service and facilities that we were provided with. The stay was very personalised, the owners were extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 3 and it was amazing! Modern decor and lots of space, view was amazing! We will both recommend to anyone and will definitly be returning in the future!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vickyf60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

One of the best B&B's I have stayed at. This is in fact more deserving of a title "B&B" when in fact it can easily be classed as a small boutique hotel. The service was first class. Rooms are generous in size and immaculate. I can not fault the hotel in any way and can only highly recommend Hastings House.
Sion, Aberystwyth

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SionWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

We recently stayed at Hastings House for the weekend and found the service and setting impeccable. Both Elisabeth and Seng couldn't have offered a better welcome, with fresh coffee and biscuits on arrival. We stayed in Room 8, which although it didn't have a view was very comfortable and stylish. Breakfast was lovely and there was a good choice offered. The location on Warrior Square was ideal, overlooking the very pretty gardens and seafront and being only a relatively short distance into the Hastings town centre.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runikfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wraysbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

I booked the small green room and it was really well decorated. Everything was new and very clean. Tea and coffee facilities and also mineral water including in the room. Mini bar in the room was very good value. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was excellent. We had plasma TV with dvd. Breakfast was really nice with a la carte choice. Seng Loy looked after us very well. I highly recommend this boutique hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.2 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.5 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.7 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#5 of 49 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#3 of 49 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hastings House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hastings House

Property: Hastings House
Address: 9 Warrior Square, Hastings TN37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hastings House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hastings House a gorgeous seaside Boutique Hotel it is a beautifully designed Bed & Breakfast … one thing is for certain … it is truly an unexpected pocket of style and "5 star" luxury with a character all of its own that guarantees a completely relaxed and indulgently comfortable stay in St. Leonards-on-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hastings House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hastings House Hotel St. Leonards-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing