We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent boutique b&b with wonderful service”
Review of Hastings House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hastings House
Ranked #4 of 47 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2010

my wife and i were looking for a high quality b&b to relax in on a two night stay, we definately found it! mr seng loy was a great host and cook. The rooms we stayed in were lovely especially the sea view room with great attention to detail . I would recommend this as probably the best place to stay in hastings!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russell2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

624 - 630 of 836 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2010

Having stayed in a succession of disappointing hotels and B&Bs in the Hastings / Bexhill area a number of times before, I was relieved and delighted to find the wonderful Hastings House. I stayed here for 4 nights on business and would highly recommend it to everyone looking to stay within the area.
The quality of my room was very high also. Beautiful bedroom, bathroom, bathrobes, high quality TV, etc. Matched by the overall quality of the hotel decor and restaurant area. Modern, clean, elegant and full of sunlight. Breakfast was delicious and catered for my vegetarian needs (better than many top hotels I've stayed in).
But most of all, the owners of Hastings House made me feel so welcome and relaxed, with their super efficient yet friendly, informal manner, that it really did start to feel like home from home, rather than just 'a place to stay'.
If you like high quality, great service and a warm, friendly environment, this is the place to book!

Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
Thank haider_imam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

This is a lovely hotel and the interior is perfection , all the decoration throughout the house and attention to detail is fantasic
The breakfasts was very delicious and relaxed
The owners were very down to earth and Dusty hier new dog was lovable and fun
we enjoyed our stay and would recommend to any one who wishes to have a
relaxing time in hastings
Toni and Steve

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SK134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Even we have booked the smallest room but all the interior fit to perfection , all the decoration, attention to details ,all the finishing touches were very tasefull and the breakfasts was really delicious and I can tell it's nothing else but quality . I was very impress from the moment of booking as Mr. Seng Loy the owner he was very friendly and down to earth because i'm someone who doesn't like anything too formal like most 5 stars hotels and they are far too expensive.
I really like Hastings and always have and since I have found Hastings House Hotel I like Hastings even more.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milky2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We booked a room at Hastings House for a long weekend and absolutely loved it. The hotel is beautifully decorated and our room was gorgeous with it's spacious walk -in shower. The breakfast was lovely with lots to choose from on the menu. We will definately be back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachierachholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We stayed for two nights at this lovely B&B having read the favourable reviews on this site. We had room 4 as the larger, sea view rooms had all gone, but it was beautifully designed and had a lovely big shower, a flat screen TV/DVD with a library of films to pick from. The whole house is georgeously designed with huge attention to detail, and pristine. The proprietor, the charming Seng works tirelessly to make your stay a good one, without Breakfasts are delicious, a wide choice, I ate smoked salmon and freshly cooked scrambled egg, my favourite! There is a secluded terrace where you can smoke so you don't have to go out onto the street. It is a pleasant 15 minute walk to the old town, along the promenade. We ate at the Azure the first night and it was misleadingly expensive (VAT added at the end?) and disappointing, so beware. Next night we had some lovely fresh (and cheap) fish and chips at Plato's which made up for it. Perfect B&B and a wonderful break.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Myself and my boyfriend came to Hastings to celebrate my birthday with family. We chose Hastings House through viewing the website and the reality definitely exceeded our expectations. We were warmly welcomed my Seng and his wife Elizabeth, given drinks and refreshments whilst Seng explained everything to us and made us feel very at home. Throughout our stay they were extremely warm and friendly, offering tea, coffee and homemade delicious cakes when we returned after a day out. The breakfast had a wide variety, very tasty and in abundance, and as for our room (room five) we were delighted! High design, clean, cozy, extremely comfortable and everything in tiptop condition, with a beautiful view of the sea. We will be back again for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhiteLillies4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
861 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.5 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#5 of 47 in Hastings
193 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cloudesley
The Cloudesley
#6 of 47 in Hastings
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hastings House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hastings House

Address: 9 Warrior Square, Hastings TN37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range: £93 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hastings House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hastings House a gorgeous seaside Boutique Hotel it is a beautifully designed Bed & Breakfast … one thing is for certain … it is truly an unexpected pocket of style and "5 star" luxury with a character all of its own that guarantees a completely relaxed and indulgently comfortable stay in St. Leonards-on-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hastings House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hastings House Hotel St. Leonards-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing