We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality with a Homely Feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hastings House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hastings House
Ranked #4 of 48 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey,Channel Islands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quality with a Homely Feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

My wife and I stayed at Hastings House over the August Bank holiday weekend.
Being an avid TA reader as a resource when it comes to selecting accommodation I was naturally drawn to one of the most highly rated B&B's in the East Sussex region.
The trip was a surprise for my wife and therefore I was looking for somewhere where we could relax and very much feel at home. Hastings House hit the spot.
The proprietor, Seng, drawing upon his wealth of experience in the hotel industry has established a B&B of the highest quality with the nice little touches and a personal approach that is so often lacking in large hotels.
Well done to Seng, his wife and dusty the dog for creating such a lovely home from home.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    106
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
73
506
42
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

Lovely little place on a seafront garden.
Just outside Hasting, so a lovely walk along the promenard to the new town and a bit futher the old town. The staff are very friendly and very helpful and will tell you everything you need to know about the area on arrival.
It's a very clean BnB and the rooms have TV, DVD, Fridge, tea & coffee.
Breakfast is fantastic with a hugh choice, not buffet but choose what you want.
We had our 10 month daughter with us and this was no problem and they were happy to provide a cot.
Can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnJampot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

we stayed for two nights at this wonderfully friendly b&b, on arrival a very warm welcome by Seng and his wife Elizabeth,and Dusty the dog, we had refreshments whilst Seng booked us in and made us all feel at home. the rooms were beautifully decorated with everything you needed, free bottled water, coffee,tea etc, replaced when used,the breakfast menu had lots to choose from,recommend the scrambled egg and smoked salmon or the french toast absolutely delicious.Nothing was too much trouble, all in all a truly wonderful place to stay would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carovon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

My wife and I just enjoyed a 2 night stay in room 3, what a wonderful place. The owner Seng was so friendly and helpful and the service was second to none. Our room was just excellent, clean and luxurious, exactly what we were looking for. The breakfast menu was delightfully varied and and well cooked/presented in a very pleasant breakfast room. Diane, the waitress was a credit to this B&B as nothing was too much trouble and most important of all, service with a smile and friendly chat... no dumping the plate down in front of you here.
Thankyou Hastings House for making our stay special.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAFFAEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed for one night to celebrate our wedding anniversary and had such a wonderful time. We are local but needed to stay close to home so when we came across Hastings House and read the great reviews here we thought we had found the perfect solution! On check in we got a warm welcome and the room we stayed in (room 6) was gorgeous. The bathroom is lovely and impeccably clean with a huge bath! We had arranged for champagne and choclolates and fruit and these were in our room ready. The bed was very comfy too. Breakfast was really good and we had an allocated time which suited us and meant we didnt feel rushed at all. We would definately come here again for an affordable luxury stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate&Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

We stayed in room 5 which is the most expensive room in the hotel. It is probably one of the most luxurious rooms we've ever stayed in, complete with a glorious view of Warrior Square and Hastings pier. Seng the owner was on the doorstep to greet us on arrival. He advised us on where to eat and even made the booking for us (the restaurant was excellent by the way). Breakfast was a treat and seemed to be equally well appreciated by our fellow guests. Book this hotel well in advance as it is VERY popular.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cags58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

I booked this hotel (B&B) through a web site many mnoths ago, as I needed somewhere to stay on the eve of a family wedding in the area. It looked nice and clean and was close to the seafront, which appealed. However, the reality was way beyond my expectations. Seng (the owner) called me to check on my expected arrival time and the personal touch was evident throughout our brief stay. The bedroom was immaculately furnished with a deep, comfortable bed, and the ensuite bathroom was large and modern. We stayed in room 6 on the back of the house, which was private and quiet. Unfortunately our stay was so short we didn't get chance to utilise the free internet or in-room dvd player, but the breakfast more than made up for that. Having eaten heavily the previous evening we opted for the light option of smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, although I was eye-ing up the full English of the diners at the next table. All the ingredients were of the highest quality - the salmon being supplemented by a fresh fruit salad, freshly squeezed orange juice and wholemeal toast. The service was excellent throughout and we were very sad to leave.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gralev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.5 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Cloudesley
The Cloudesley
#5 of 48 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#6 of 48 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hastings House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hastings House

Property: Hastings House
Address: 9 Warrior Square, Hastings TN37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hastings House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hastings House a gorgeous seaside Boutique Hotel it is a beautifully designed Bed & Breakfast … one thing is for certain … it is truly an unexpected pocket of style and "5 star" luxury with a character all of its own that guarantees a completely relaxed and indulgently comfortable stay in St. Leonards-on-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hastings House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hastings House Hotel St. Leonards-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing