We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Stay!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Front view with double doors to deck
Outside dining with views across the glenn
Enterance to shop, swimming pool & gym
The Retreat
views over historic old town from the East Hill lift
Childrens play area, including soft play
Views across the channel
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hastings, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Natasha E
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay!!”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I took my partner and parents here for my dads birthday . We stayed for 2 nights and we only wished it was for longer. The lodge was very clean, well looked after, just perfect really. The weather was totally amazing too. It's in an ideal location,we went Hastings, Eastbourne and Rye, We had a meal in The Retreat Restaurant that's on the site and we just couldn't fault any of it, the veggie lasagne was especially good!...... Thankyou for the Wine and Carrot cake and milk, they were a lovely surprise on our arrival and all went down a treat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2016
Thank you for your complimentary review, hope to welcome you back soon :)

Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a fabulous week in this Lodge. It had everything we needed and some surprise essentials on arrival. Despite it being the week after the May Bank Holiday weekend we found many left the site after the long weekend meaning the site was so peaceful. The views were great and the kids loved exploring the area. The shop, pool and restaurant were ideal for our needs and there was no cheesy entertainment every night at the club house. If you want a more peaceful and relaxing campsite then this is the venue for you.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2016
Thank you for reviewing our property.
Glad you've enjoyed your stay, welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Per-Ander...
1 review
“Glenside 8”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We loved our stay in this cottage in Hastings. The Shearbarn resort was almost empty and very quiet when we stayed there, before the school holidays in the UK. There are plenty of opportunities for walks or day trips (access to a car is recommended).
The cottage was cosy and the perfect size for a family of four. It was really nice to find there was cake, coffee, tea, milk and a bottle wine upon our arrival. There could have been a few more plates and cutlery though, that would have saved us some time washing the dishes. There were books, videos and board games. We also appreciated the sea view, the indoor swimming pool, the free wifi, the reclining chairs on the balcony and the friendly and helpful receptionist Sarah . Owners Sarah and Paul answered all of our questions before our stay and greeted us upon arrival and departure, all very straight-forward. We can warmly recommend this place for a relaxing family holiday.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay, was lovely to meet you :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbarret
Isère
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable and relaxing,”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Very comfortable lodge.
We really appreciated the indoor pool, the nice walks in the surroundings.
The retreat is also a nice place to have a drink or diner.
We defintely recommend this place.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
Thank you for the review & was good to meet you :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKandNI...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Hastings in the Sunshine”
Reviewed 25 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Stayed at Shearbarn Holiday Park for 3 nights in June. It's set in a really peaceful location and the grounds are well manicured. The lodge is really nice and the owners provided perfect communication. Very clean, everything you need and even a few extras such as milk and a bottle of wine. Throw in pleasant views and glorious sunshine and we had the perfect break.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2016
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay & sunshine as well!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kebab1976
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Lodge”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Really enjoyed our stay here..the lodge is beautiful and probably the best self catering holiday chalet/lodge we've stayed in..we even had a cake and a bottle of wine left for us..it was spotlessly clean..real home from home with some boardgames and books and dvd's to use..fully recommended..Owners are easy to get hold of if you have any questions..no need to take anything other than yourselves and your clothes..everything else is provided...maybe one downside..the entertainment at the club is very limited so kids were bit disappointed but the pool was lovely..the whole site is very clean and there is a park so they never got bored and plus it isn't far to town...All in all great weekend away in lovely surroundings in an amazing lodge...would defo return :) xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful loadge
Liked least: lack of entertainment for children
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2016
So pleased you enjoyed your stay, welcome back anytime :)

Sarah &Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catlady44...
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very nice cabin”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had lovely time at this lodge it is in a good location. When we arrived we found all the essentials needed to make a drink and a nice cake that was a nice touch will go back again I the future

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Thank you for your review, welcome back anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing