We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
352
11
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
352
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar hastings old town high street attention to detail yellow room east hill little touches antique shops pleasure of staying comfortable bed perfect hosts homemade biscuits excellent breakfast home made cakes perfect location a wonderful stay poached eggs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2018

I stayed last night with two friends. What a great find: I Occupied the red room (rm3) so stylish with luxury touches in decor and goodies. Comfy bed, Chocs on the pillow biscuits in nice glass jar, quality tea fresh milk great linen towels dressing gowns.Better than an upmarket hotel etc etc. Wonderful breakfast served in bright conservatory.
The best is the warm welcome from the very charming and characterful owners Malcolm and Karen. Perfect.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Quaver90
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twist691, Owner at The Laindons, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Your review is one of the most touching review I have read about my hotel and myself, thank you very much. Please stay for longer next time. The pleasure will be Karen’s and mine. Kindest regards Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

We came for a weekend visit over new year the guest house was really great and the breakfast was really great Malcolm and Karen were really nice and made us so welcome looking forward to another visit in the summer Lynn and mick

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank gemhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twist691, Owner at The Laindons, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thank you very much Lynn and Mick for your review, you were great guests. Karen and myself really look forward to your summer visit. Kindest regards Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

We would highly recommend a stay at The Laindons, where you will be very well looked after by Malcom and Karen. Even after just one night we are feeling rested and relaxed.

This place has all the trapping of a boutique hotel coupled with a feeling of being a special guest in someone’s grand home.

We arrived in the morning in a bit of hurry on the way to a vineyard tour. Malcolm greeted me at the door with a big smile. We left our luggage after a brief exchange and headed off - a very good start.

The attention to deal here is impressive and thoughtful. Proper, luxurious bed linen will makes it hard to get out of bed in the morning! However please do as an amazing, home cooked breakfast awaits. You gotta try those blueberry pancakes with crispy bacon from a nearby local farm! Our bedroom room
contained a very hipsterish selection of teas and biscuits which we enjoyed.

There is an ‘honesty’ bar downstairs in a drawing room, which contained a nice selection of wines, spirits and some snacks. Being able to take a drink by yourself makes the experience very homely and bespoke.

On departure Malcolm was really helpful with local information.

Not much left to say apart from we will be back!

P.S. We are not revealing which room we stayed in as we want it available the next time we book...

Uli & Ro

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ulianch1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twist691, Owner at The Laindons, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

This is the most wonderful review, I cannot thank you enough, I myself enjoyed your company as much as it seems you enjoyed mine.As for the Laindons, I am so proud of the new hotel. Please please come and stay because we are changing the menu and in the month of Jan every room will be a special price of ninthy nine pounds per night including weekends. Hope to see you then lots of best wishes over the Christmas period. Kind regards Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

We stayed at The Laindons during a final brief break away before my wife and I welcome our first 'new addition' to our family. It was everything we'd hoped for an more; gorgeous comfortable rooms, friendly service, excellent breakfast (with great and varied menu) and a great location.

Everything in the whole of The Laindons has been thought through properly by the owners who clearly understand the details that go into making a comfortable and relaxing stay. We slept in a beautifully comfy beds with top quality linen (my pregnant wife noted that she had the best night's sleep she's in a while!), there was a well stocked honesty bar with drinks and snacks, a good selection of DVDs and board games for use (useful for a November stay!) and similarly hats and umbrellas for use to cover all weather that might catch you out. The bathroom was well stocked with excellent shampoos etc,,, I could go on. We wanted for nothing and it felt like a really rather lovely home from home with the most wonderful hosts. If you're thinking of booking, go for it.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twist691, Owner at The Laindons, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

OMG, I have blown and printed this review up and placed it over my bed so thatI can read it every night before sleep, just to remind me that all of my hard work is paying off. Thank you very much it really means a lot to me. Many thanks and kindest regards Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

This was our second stay at The Laindons and we weren't disappointed. Although the B&B has changed ownership since our first visit, it appears to be in good hands with new owners Karen and Malcolm. All of the rooms are beautifully decorated with a sort of nautical theme that certainly fits in Hastings Old Town. We were warmly welcomed and Karen's fabulous breakfast was worth the trip. We also had a very nice dinner at Latham's bistro in George Street, which is just short walk from The Laindons. Both highly recommended.

Room tip: Top floor room has great views of old Hastings.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kwd14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twist691, Owner at The Laindons, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you very much for your super review, as you know we try our upmost for the comfort of our guests. Please visit again in the new year for a winter break and sample our new breakfast menu and winter extras, many thanks again kindest regards Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews