We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveller rating
349
11
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
349
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar hastings old town high street attention to detail yellow room east hill little touches antique shops pleasure of staying comfortable bed perfect hosts homemade biscuits excellent breakfast home made cakes perfect location a wonderful stay poached eggs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 361 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Room was beautiful, had a lovely big bath for two, very nice lotions and potions, bed very comfortable all high quality. Unfortunately the extractor fan in the toilet did not turn off so I had to put in ear plugs but I still did not sleep very well, it was so noisy. When we mentioned this in the morning, it was covered over as a joke with an apology and explanation that they had a electrician on his way, so they know about the problem but didn't make us aware of it, so my sleepless nite could of been avoided, breakfast was very tasty, except for the hair in my partner's food, just an apology and a light hearted comment of don't review it, but then to add real insult to injury was that 5 minutes after we was supposed to be out of the room we had a bang on the door, give us 5 we said then just as we was about to leave another big bang, then on exiting the building we could hear the lady of the house complaining about us very loud and rude, when she was told we was still there she just said we'll shut the door and carried on complaining, so I said to my partner come on I'm not having this the other owner said what, what the problem, I said her complaining about, us so he just walked away, we was going to go back as every thing was lovely but we are not now, such a shame

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank lisacogswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twist691, Owner at The Laindons, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Lisa

Many thanks for your review highlighting some of the high quality features that The Laindons provides for it's guests, this is usually the feedback we receive from our guests. We are therefore very disappointed that you were not fully satisfied with your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for the elements which you were dissatisfied with.

Firstly, we apologise for not warning you not to use the extractor fan in the toilet. We had booked an electrician who was arriving on the day of your check-out, so it was entirely our fault for not flagging that up to you on arrival. Many apologies for your disturbed night's sleep.

Secondly, huge apologies for the hair in your partner's breakfast. This has never happened before due to our vigilance in the kitchen regarding hygiene and our guest's health & safety. We were as upset by it as much as you were, so please be assured we will do our upmost for it never to happen ever again.

Thirdly, regarding the knock on your door prior to your departure, this was just a member of the housekeeping team requesting to take off the bedding from the bed for an imminent linen collection from our laundry service. There was no intention of hurrying your check-out.

Finally, raised voice you heard from the owners quarters had no relation to you or your partner. Of course you should not have heard this, but it was due to a series of unfortunate incidents which had come to a head. It was totally out of the ordinary, of course it should not have occurred and you should not have been aware of it, and we will ensure that it does not occur again.

Once again please accept our sincere apologies for any stress and inconvenience caused during your stay. The unfortunate things that did occur were exceptional and have never happened before. Please be assured that we take onboard all the issues that you have raised and that we take them very seriously, we will do our utmost for them not to occur ever again. Please we aware that our guests are usually delighted with their accommodation and the service they receive. If ever you come back to Hastings we would be delighted to welcome you back to show you what our guest experience is usually like. If you do take us up on this offer please let us know and we would be happy to offer you a 25 per cent discount from that bill.

With sincere apologies and best wishes
Malcolm & Karen Twist
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

This was our second visit to Hastings and our first time staying at The Laindons, we are so glad to have stayed here. I can't imagine a much more perfect boutique B&B/small hotel. The decor is simply perfect, the owners clearly have an eye design -- bright and modern but also comfy! Lovely art in the rooms, and amazing attention to detail -- down to the linens (heavenly) and Seascape toiletries. Lovely touches like the honesty bar and a box with a toothbrush and such if you forgot your essentials. Breakfast was stunning and cook was so attentive and friendly and making sure we got everything we wanted and more. Staff (manager Ian) was very friendly and helpful with local suggestions to visit, and guided us to free parking that's very convenient to the hotel. Great shops nearby, and cool coffee shop just downstairs. Really lovely location in old town Hastings but you can walk to more modern parts of town in 10 mins (and of course the famous seaside). You have to go check out the new pier (about 15 mins away).

Room tip: we stayed in room 2 but all rooms looked lovely
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twist691, Manager at The Laindons, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2019

Dear Wendy

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we really appreciate your lovely comments and hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Many thanks & best wishes
The Laindons Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

We stayed here during the May bank holiday having only decided to visit
Hastings the week before. We spoke to Malcolm and Ian and they offered to 'create' us a room for the weekend. This room was beautiful - we are considering asking to stay in the loft room for the pirate weekend! Malcolm and Karen are the most incredible hosts, i met them by accidentally walking into their house whilst rushing to get out - they were so kind and laughed at my disorientation!! Staying at the Laindons is home from home comfort. Both Karen and Malcolm make you feel so welcome - the only piece of advice I'll give you is: don't miss the breakfast - it's absolutely fantastic!!! Thank you both - we can't wait to see you again!! xx

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolavferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twist691, Owner at The Laindons, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Hi
We loved having you stay ,next time we are going to party with you !!!
Come back soon
XX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018

We enjoyed a lovely one night stopover at The Laindons this week. An excellent location for the old town, nice and quiet and a short walk to the sea. Karen and Malcolm (? Apologies as I thought he Introduced himself as Ian!) were fantastic hosts welcoming us warmly. We had the green room - really spacious, light and a super huge comfy bed. The bathroom was a little small but adequate, and all the thoughtful touches made our stay a pleasure. The breakfast was delicious and Karen’s blueberry waffles were fab. We bought a jar of the Seville marmalade back with us it was so scrummy. Would stay here again if ever in Hastings and would thoroughly recommend.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jaxx35
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twist691, Manager at The Laindons, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Dear Jaxx35

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we all really appreciate it - makes everything so worthwhile, we're delighted. Please spread the word and we look forward to welcoming you again some day soon.

Enjoy the summer.

Many thanks & very best wishes
Ian - Duty Manager
Owners - Malcolm & Karen Twist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

When I arrived I was welcomed by the hostess with the mostest, Karen, who offered me a glass of wine. Just the welcome you need when you're in need of a bit of R&R! Ran a hot bath in the freestanding tub in the room and then slipped in between the fresh cotton sheets into one of the comfiest beds you could wish for, enjoying the peaceful quiet of the old town. The breakfast next morning was spot on & they make a lean, mean, green machine of a juice to get that vitamin injection. Lovely touches all round from the fish chocky on the pillow to the bath lotions and hooded dressing gowns. I'd highly recommend a stay with Karen & Malcolm if you're in the area. Plus, if you wake up early enough you can enjoy watching to fishing boats going out for their morning catch, due to The Laindons' ideal location to the seafront.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twist691, Owner at The Laindons, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2019

Thank you very much for such a lovely perfect and personal review, it was a pleasure ready it. Please come and stay next year when we at the Laindons would be in our second year and hopefully would be even better at hospitality than this year. Kindest regards Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews