We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Hurb
Agoda.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
337
11
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
337
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar hastings old town high street attention to detail yellow room east hill little touches antique shops pleasure of staying comfortable bed perfect hosts homemade biscuits excellent breakfast home made cakes perfect location a wonderful stay poached eggs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2018

This review is the simplest we've ever submitted. Previous reviewers have not exaggerated the lovely rooms, the marvelous welcome or the care and interest of the hosts. We were greeted by Ian who took our bags to our room and set us up with parking permits. In the mornings Karen welcomed us to breakfast and nothing was too much trouble. Simply the best B&B we could have chosen.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank UK-Italy-Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twist691, Owner at The Laindons, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2019

Thank you very much for a lovely review, the simplistic way you have responded show's Laindons at its best. Thank you very much again and hope to see you soon. Kindest regards Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

The Laindons is a true gem: wonderfully quaint, fabulously comfortable, exceptionally welcoming - and with delicious breakfast. A treat for a significant birthday, the weekend surpassed all our expectations including our three teenagers’, who loved all the little touches (movies, sweets on the bed, quality toiletries). The owners have put heart and soul into this beautiful Georgian house and it shows; the common areas were straight out of a design magazine, the rooms lovingly and individually decorated, and the tables laid with luxury linen. Tips for local activities (cliff walk with funicular ride, art gallery, crazy golf, old town walk) were spot on and the dinner recommendation just perfect. We were even given beach towels to borrow after we’d already checked out, and some prosecco (and soft drinks for the kids), served on a tray, to celebrate the big birthday! Special mention to Ian and Amanda who could not have been more helpful if they’d tried (despite our late arrival). We will most certainly be returning!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Hatchie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twist691, Owner at The Laindons, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2019

I Think that this is one of the most incredible reviews (just read it please) thank you very much. This review puts into writing all of our hard work we put into the Laindons Guest house. Kindest Kindest regards Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

In need of brief reprieve from London, we popped down to Hastings for a night away. We came across a travel article which claimed The Laindons to be one of the best B&Bs in the UK. Guess what? This B&B didn’t disappoint.

The room was quite spacious and tastefully decorated. Most importantly, the bed was very comfortable, decked out in designer linens. The bathroom was functional and well-stocked with toiletries, but the water pressure in the shower was pretty poor. This is unfortunately a common problem for older British buildings: always disappointing, but never surprising. We would recommend that the owners install power showers the next time they renovate the bathrooms.

The Laindons has a lovely common area, with an oversized sofa, board games, and an honesty bar. Simply choose a bottle of wine/bubbles/snacks/etc. and record the items in a notebook — payments are handled at the end of one’s stay. This system is delightful and we wish more B&Bs would operate this way. Obviously there’s the risk of loss, but it’s incredibly convenient for guests in need of a late night tipple.

Breakfast was lovely. As we often do, we chose the same dishes: we started with the homemade granola parfaits and then had avocado toast with bacon and poached egg. Both dishes were delicious! No underdone/slimy whites poached eggs here, and the avocados were fresh and ripe (note: actually ripe, not typical British “Ready to Eat” rocks). The individual press-pots of coffee helped wipe out the morning grogs.

To top things off, the owner couldn’t have been sweeter. Even though the water pressure was a let-down, the rest of the stay more than made up for this one negative — no marks off this time! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and we’ll be certain to consider The Laindons the next time we need a relaxing evening away from the hustle & bustle of London life.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank TheHolliheimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twist691, Owner at The Laindons, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2019

Thank you, Thank you, very much for such an amazing review, this review makes up for all of the hard work we at the Laindons has put into this year. What with this review and Bronze Award for the best guest house in the south of England makes me sleep at night. Kindest regards Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

My husband and I stayed here the last weekend in July and it is one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed at.

We had a lovely welcome from Ian who took our bags, helped us with the car parking options and showed us around. The house is stunning and full of character, it felt like home for the two nights we were there.

I booked the Coral room which is beautiful & a lot more spacious than it appears on the website. It was immaculate with a super comfy large bed and the décor spot on - I really appreciated the original feature fireplace and sash windows.

Lovely touches and amazing attention to detail included fluffy bathrobes, homemade cookies, fresh milk, good quality tea / fresh coffee, high end toiletries and a box containing essentials - the facewipes were a nice surprise as I’d forgotten my cleanser. There were also beach towels, hats and umbrellas available to borrow in the hallway. Everything has been thought of!

Breakfast was delicious with a good variety - I particularly enjoyed the veggie full English and the smoothie which makes a nice change from usual B&B offerings. Service was impeccable both mornings.

Typically after a prolonged heatwave the rain hit for our one full day in Hastings! But the beautiful house & room meant we didn’t mind spending a few hours inside - the variety of DVDs and board games helped! I loved the stylish and immaculate lounge too with beautiful décor (particularly liked the Frida Kahlo cushions!).

When we did venture out it was great to be in the heart of the old town where we enjoyed a couple of old pubs and the quirkier bars and restaurants with only a short walk back.

We met Karen on check out - a lovely & friendly host! Herself and Malcolm have done an incredible job of creating a wonderful boutique escape. We are keen to return to The Laindons and hope to book another long weekend soon.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarah_London_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twist691, Owner at The Laindons, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2019

If I could after reading this review offer a free weekend stay, I would. However, I can't. What I can offer is my thanks and I really mean it. My thanks from my bottom of my heart. for such a thoughtful and beautifully worded review. Thank you again and kindest regards Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Laindons is perfectly situated for a stay in the old town of Hastings. An eclectic mix of bars and restaurants are on the doorstep. We stayed in the Coral Room which was very spacious with a large comfortable bed and top quality bed linen, fluffy bathrobes and towels. There were ample toiletries in the bathroom. The breakfast menu offered more than the standard cereal or full English which made a refreshing change and offered the chance to try something different- do try the bacon and avocado on sourdough . Karen was very welcoming and I would definitely recommend a trip to The Laindons.

Date of stay: July 2018
1  Thank EastKentBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twist691, Owner at The Laindons, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2019

Thank you East-Kent-Billy for your down to earth and to the point, positive review. Please come and stay next August and sample the positive changes Malcolm and Karen intend to implement. Kindest regards Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews