We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Priceline
FindHotel
Hurb
Destinia.com
Hotels.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
352
11
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
352
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar hastings old town high street attention to detail yellow room east hill little touches antique shops pleasure of staying comfortable bed perfect hosts homemade biscuits excellent breakfast home made cakes perfect location a wonderful stay poached eggs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2019

This is a lovely B&B in the heart of the old part of historic Hastings. It is very close to the sea, antique and junk shops, many old pubs and a short walk to East Hill which was a stunning walk. We stayed for two nights in the spacious yellow room with a superb view and enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra night in the blue room which was slightly smaller but equally charming. Although it overlooks the High Street it was extremely quiet. The rooms were bright and very clean with very comfortable beds and good showers (the yellow room also has a large bath). All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. There is an honesty bar with wine, spirits and home made cake and the breakfast was amazing. We had home-made granola with yoghurt and berry coulis followed by avocado, bacon and poached egg on toast along with freshly squeezed orange juice and good coffee. Highly recommended. We plan on returning in the near future.

Room tip: The yellow room is large and bright but is up an extra flight of stairs. All the rooms were of a very high standard.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twist691, Manager at The Laindons, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2019

Dear David

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we really appreciate your lovely comments and hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Many thanks & best wishes
The Laindons Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2019

We have just spent two nights at this lovely B&B, based on previous positive reviews. It is a really elegant property, situated on the High Street of the Old Town, Hastings. We stayed in the beautifully-decorated Yellow Room which is really spacious, with a separate shower and corner bath. The room had everything we needed and we were able to collect small bottles of fresh milk from the communal area so that we could have hot drinks in our room. Karen and Malcolm were incredibly friendly hosts. Guests are given a parking permit, which allows you to park in the public car park just behind the B&B. Spaces are limited and we happened to stay during a February heatwave when Hastings was ridiculously busy. The permit covers you from 4pm (check-in) until 11am (check-out) the following day. So please bear in mind that if you stay for two nights, as we did, you have to cover the cost of parking from 11am until your next permit kicks in at 4pm. We went off to explore the local area by car and had to park further out of town on a side street on our return until spaces became available in the car park again.
I could hear slight traffic and then seagulls from our room overnight/early morning (and I am a very light sleeper) but the complimentary earplugs in the room did the trick! The toiletries in the room are lovely and we found the bed to be very comfy with luxurious bedding. We took advantage of the DVD library one evening too. There are plenty of bars and restaurants within a few minutes' walk. We would have no hesitation in recommending this as a place to stay.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TheTravellingWilsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twist691, Manager at The Laindons, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2019

Dear Mr & Mrs Wilson

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate it and hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Many thanks & best wishes
The Laindons Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2019 via mobile

Just returned home after spending four nights recuperating from an illness at The Laindons Guesthouse in the seaside town of Hastings in East Sussex. Welcomed on a Saturday afternoon by the owner Malcolm, my immediate instinct was this would be a wonderful experience and I was spot on. This is such an elegant guest house offering accommodation spread across five bedrooms and each of these bedrooms has it's own character and theme. I spent two nights in the gorgeous blue room which overlooks the High Street. This is a room that has the wow factor in abundance and it's stand out feature has got to be the freestanding bath located opposite the bed. How cool is that! This gorgeous room is also adjacent to another unusual feature, the honesty bar which I used for my late night tipple!

I loved this establishment so much when Malcolm suggested I stay for a week! What a charming host, I decided to stay an additional two nights provided I could try out another room. My host upgraded me to the Yellow Room which just blew me yellow socks off! So, so spacious, so, so elegant and with amazing views of the Old Town part of Hastings. This room is en suite and you have the best of both worlds, a rain shower or having a bath! I loved the yellow theme right down to having the famous yellow bordered National Geographic magazine on display.

Breakfast is outstanding and I recommend the Green smoothies and the blueberry pancakes. I always look forward to having breakfast when away from home and breakfast at The Laindons did not disappoint.

Staying in an establishment with all the "bells and whistles" is a real treat but what makes this guesthouse special is it's people. Malcolm and Karen are wonderful hosts. I also met Ian, the Duty Manager and he is such a lovely member of the team.

I left feeling a whole lot better and look forward to returning in the early part of 2019.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank emerald1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twist691, Owner at The Laindons, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2019

Thank you very much, I think this is one of the most enchanting review any guest has posted. Please, please return for a summer or spring visit, we at the Laindons would love it. Kindest regards Malcolm (owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2018 via mobile

Extremely happy with the service that was provided in this hotel, from the minute we checked in everything went smoothly. Breakfast in the morning was great, the room and the beds are very comfortable over looking a beautiful view. If we ever need to stay in a hotel nearby we will be returning

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank serenawendys27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twist691, Owner at The Laindons, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2019

Thank you very for a superb review, I will be contacting you in the near future with a special discounted weekend. just to say thank-you and I would love to meet you and your partner again. Best regards Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Lovely weekend, staff were very pleasant and comical. The breakfast definitely worth getting up for
Malcolm was an absolute hoot, and would go again! Honesty Bar was well stocked, local area was full of exciting things to do

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ThePidge9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twist691, Owner at The Laindons, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2019

Thank you very much for such a nice and personal review, Please, please stay again. Kindest regards Malcolm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews