We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
c h
Sheerness, United Kingdom

An amazing place!

Review of The Laindons
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Nov 2021
We stayed for 2 nights as a midweek birthday treat. The place was amazingly comfortable, with every need you can think of catered for. The room was very spacious, the bed super huge! The extras lovely, (homemade cookies). The tea and coffee high quality too. The pillow wouldn’t fit in my bag but I did threaten to steal it! The bed linen was sumptuous.
The room looked out over the high street but it was very quiet at night. Ear plugs, (gull plugs) were provided but not needed at all.
The breakfast was divine - homemade granola was delicious and full English very good but the blueberry pancakes with smoked bacon and maple syrup was even better!
We were even treated to homemade carrot cake which was left for us to help ourselves to with our afternoon cup of tea.
There is no hotel car park but parking is available in a pay&display car park two minutes away, (literally). Complementary overnight parking vouchers are provided. I cannot fault The Laindons, it is the best B&B I’ve stayed in! Well worth the money, I would definitely recommend and will stay again as soon as I can. Thank you, I left feeling thoroughly spoilt.
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Malcolm Twist, Owner at The Laindons, responded to this review
Responded 2 Dec 2021
Thank you for such a amazing review you deserve a chocolate cake to yourselves the next time you stay regards Malcolm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£186
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £186
3.3 miles from The Laindons
Free Wifi
Free parking
£96
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £96
0.7 miles from The Laindons
Free Wifi
Beachfront
£195
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
2.5 miles from The Laindons
Free parking
Pool
Royal Victoria Hotel
£121
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £121
1.8 miles from The Laindons
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Premier Inn Hastings hotel exterior
£58
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £75
  • Algotels
2.7 miles from The Laindons
£85
  • Expedia.com
    £107
  • Agoda.com
    £73
  • Priceline
25.9 miles from The Laindons
Free parking
Restaurant
getlstd_property_photo
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £67
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from The Laindons
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £106
  • Expedia.com
    £125
0.6 miles from The Laindons
Free Wifi
Beachfront
bar area
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £79
  • Expedia.com
    £85
2.0 miles from The Laindons
Free Wifi
Free parking
East hill vie oh Hastings
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £120
  • ZenHotels.com
    £116
  • Trip.com
1.5 miles from The Laindons
Beachfront
View more hotels in Hastings
Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
418 results
Traveller rating
406
11
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
406
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar high street yellow room hastings old town freshly ground coffee compote crispy bacon beach towels fresh milk little touches thoughtful touches highly recommend a stay antique shops full english perfect hosts public car park comfortable bed
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 418 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2021

We stayed in the yellow room for a three night stay and it was a superb room, very spacious and a very comfortable bed.

The location in the old town was perfect,Karen recommended a couple of places to eat very near by one being the pub/ restaurant First in last out, very good food and atmosphere.

The highlight for us were the breakfasts, I tried all of the choices, my husband stuck with the very tasty full English. My favourite was the salmon and bagel, the salmon was so tasty, I've never tasted anything like it certainly it was the best I have ever been served, superb, oh and the home made jam was scrumptious.

We highly recommend a stay at The Laindons if visiting Hastings.

Room tip: All the rooms are lovely, but the yellow room is very spacious
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vivienm408
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Malcolm Twist, Owner at The Laindons, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2021

Thank you for staying with us and glad you enjoyed your stay
Best Malcolm and Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2021

I stayed here recently for a family weekend away. It was absolute perfection. The beds were comfortable, the rooms well equipped. Breakfast was delicious. The lounge is comfy and welcoming. Its a brilliant location for exploring Hastings.

But what makes it really special is the friendly staff. They have great suggestions on where to eat and are attentive and helpful. I will definitely be back.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 643issyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Malcolm Twist, Owner at The Laindons, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2021

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2021

We recently spent five nights in Hastings and the Laindons was our home for that time.
This is a beautiful house located on the High Street in Old Hastings. The street is full of character and close to the sea and plenty of pubs and restaurants.
On arrival, we were welcomed by Malcolm who showed us to our room and also explained how breakfast works. Our room, The Red Room, is a really good size with the most amazing bed, chairs, good shower room and storage space. The tea & coffee supplied in the rooms are of an excellent quality - also home baked cookies.
Breakfast is served in a beautiful sunny first floor room and the breakfasts are superb. You order the night before and a time is allocated - worked well.
Malcolm and Karen were delightful hosts, friendly without intruding.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend a stay without hesitation.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank phillip0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Malcolm Twist, Owner at The Laindons, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2021

Thank you for your lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2021

I cannot recommend The Laindons enough. Very welcoming and friendly. Room was fabulous… well stocked mini fridge chocolates on the bed shower room fully stocked even down to mouthwash. The bed apparently hand made was just so comfortable. Breakfast ranged from a traditional full English to smoked salmon avocado fare, granola compote or a green smoothie, juices you name it! Location wise absolutely smack bang right for all the coffee shops and antique-y shops. We found a lovely pub not 2 minutes up the road and the food there was fantastic too. We went for 3-4 days and I loved every minute of it.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank maryseanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Malcolm Twist, Owner at The Laindons, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2021

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us
Thank you x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2021 via mobile

Hastings is one of our favourite UK short breaks and The Laindons is our go to place to stay. We first stayed in February 2018 for the Fat Tuesday Mardi Gras ( also recommended) and we had a return visit in August 2021. The bedrooms have been redecorated and are just as individual as before and the breakfast is just as good in the dining conservatory with view over the Hastings ‘valley’. We send our best wishes to Malcolm, Karen and housekeeper Amanda. We will certainly return perhaps as soon as Fat Tuesday 2022.

Room tip: Parking is not the easiest at busy times in Hastings. But our tip is to park up the hill on the way in and walk down to the High Street.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank B0b_and_Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Malcolm Twist, Owner at The Laindons, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2021

Thank you both ,for keep coming back
xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews