We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN ABOVE AVERAGE STAY”
Review of The Roebuck Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Roebuck Inn
Ranked #6 of 39 Lewes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“AN ABOVE AVERAGE STAY”
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Although the Roebuck Inn is very easy to find, my stay did not get off to a great start because they weren't expecting me. I'd booked and paid via Expedia and when I showed the staff my booking confirmation they said they hadn't received an email about it, and despite their best efforts in the ensuing 15 minutes, they were still mone the wiser. Thankfully, there was a room available and to be fair, it was a lot better than I had expected. It was Room 5, very well appointed and although it was situated in a separate annexe, it was in very close proximity to the inn. It was very clean and comfortable although there were no details of the place itself (no menu, history of the place, that sort of thing) in the room. There were no details relating to an emergency either (fire etc) although it was pretty obvious which way out it would be!. I did not eat in the evening as I had already eaten prior to arrival but the menu looked very appealing and reasonable. So, after a quiet and comfortable night, having booked breakfast for 7.30 I went down to eat but the inn was locked up. Basically, the owner had overslept and eventually they opened just before 8am. The lady was very apologetic, and to be fair she was not feeling too well and, I understand, was in the process of selling the business. The breakfast (full english) was well cooked and there was plenty of it, so it was well worth the wait. All in all, I would definitely stay here again because although this review may appear to show my stay as somehwhat shambolic, they are minor points. The room itself was the saving grace and that is the most important aspect of any visit. I also met another lone business traveller who had been a regular visitor, and he said he had always found the place to be welcoming and good value. Parking is also easy and very close to the inn and the annexe. To avoid confusion, don't book through Expedia in this instance.

Room Tip: Room 5 is recommended. It's a twin-bedded first floor room in the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAJCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    37
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
31
54
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We spent a couple of nights here, and although the pub is located on a fairly busy road, the rooms are set back behind the pub so there is no noise disturbance at all and you can park your car near the room. Once checked in, you have your own key and can come and go as you please. The rooms look perfectly nice from the outside, located in what could have been an old stable block or other similar outbuilding.

Despite our late arrival on a Sunday evening, the landlady made us nice doorstop sandwiches from fresh bread with a bowl of chips for dinner. Locals were friendly, and a country music group were having a monthly informal "jam" which provided good entertainment on our first evening! Breakfasts were quite acceptable, cooked with local ingredients where possible, with a choice of cereal selection boxes, individual jam pots and a jug of orange juice on the side for us to help ourselves to while it was being cooked. It would have been nice to have been offered more toast and tea or coffee etc as we ate though, and we felt guilty when we did ask for it! Breakfast is served in the "dining" area of the pub bar - tablecloths etc would have made it feel more appropriate for breakfast, but it was clean and warm.

The room we stayed in was on the ground floor and although perfectly adequate and set up for our needs, it was very small and a little tired-looking. We were relieved to find it had a thermostat controlled radiator, which meant we made it nice and cosy inside to beat the chills of the outside weather! We would have welcomed somewhere to hang our wet coats other than in the small wardrobe above our suitcase, and more hanging space for towels as the towel heater in the bathroom was just big enough for one, with a hook on the back of the door for the other. Cleanliness could have been better, and small things like the wobbly loo seat, missing lampshade and blown bulbs could have been attended to. But the overall feel was fairly modern and cosy which was nice.

So, overall the place has potential to be lovely, and it's location is great, but it feels as though the owners are just a little tired of running it so the effort is not as focused as it could be. We would consider returning but would dearly like to see renewed enthusiasm from the quite evidently nice owners!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larfincouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

The two points given are for the comfortable bed and the good breakfast.

Small room, looked a little like a converted garage inside. Bed shorter than average, not good for tall persons. Wardrobe is less than half the recommended depth for hanging clothes in so can not be used, you either use the shower to hang them or live out of suitcase as there are no drawers either unless you are travelling very light and can use the two 2" deep ones that are in the desk unit! The small ensuite has no shelf or cupboard so everything has to be balanced on the small sink!!! The coffee/tea tray sits in the windowsill due to lack of table top space.


We visit this area regularly and thought we would try the Roebuck having read some favourable reviews. However there is far better accommodation locally and we shall not return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy10red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed at the Roebuck Inn for 2 nights using 2 rooms in July whilst down from Cumbria for our daughters Graduation in Brighton.We found the rooms clean,tidy and quiet.
The staff were very friendly and helpful from initial booking to leaving,and were very accommodating for both us, my elderly Mother and our Yorkie.
We found the location ideal for visiting Brighton & Hove,which took around half an hour in morning traffic.
The breakfasts were plentiful and we ate in the bar the second night where the food was very nice and reasonably priced.
We would recommend staying here and would definitely stay again when visiting our daughter.
D&S Griffiths,Cumbria.

Room Tip: We found the ground floor rooms to be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeputyDylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I recently stayed at The Roebuck Inn for 2 nights. The staff were all very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The access to the rooms was separate to the pub, so you could come and go as you please. The rooms were clean and functional and even though it is located at the roadside there was very little traffic and i had an excellent nights sleep. The breakfast was well cooked, quality local produce. All in all it was excellent value - I would recommend staying here and would return if I was visiting the area again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loobylooWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We've stopped at this Inn many times when travelling either to the South Coast or the Sussex countryside (which we do several times a year). The food is great - especially the burgers which are home made and cooked to order. The prices are reasonable but you can expect a bit of a wait to be served as the bar/restaurant is always busy (well, it has been whenever we've called here). We've never stayed overnight, but if the lunchtime food is anything to go by, we'd be more than happy to spend a night here. I think it would be a great venue for a wedding reception

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walker036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed here for one night in April 2012 after going to a wedding in Brighton and found it to be very friendly, clean and well-appointed. The inn was very friendly and homely, the locals were particularly friendly on the night we were there (with Sam the choccie lab being the friendliest fellow!) and the bar staff (only one young lad) very polite and helpful.
We are a young couple and we found the room met our needs- it was clean and not too small and had tea-making facilites, a television and a good shower with towels and shampoo etc. It was very quiet and we felt safe and we got a lovely nights sleep. Our breakfast was delicious and plentiful too.
Would recommend!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KansasKitty2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
6.0 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#4 of 8 in Lewes
382 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
805 reviews
5.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#7 of 8 in Lewes
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,192 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
170 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Dorset Inn
The Dorset Inn
#14 of 39 in Lewes
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roebuck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roebuck Inn

Property: The Roebuck Inn
Address: Lewes Road | Laughton, Lewes BN8 6BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Roebuck Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Roebuck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roebuck Hotel Lewes
The Roebuck Inn Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing