We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Newmarket Inn Restaurant
Ranked #91 of 113 Restaurants in Lewes
Price range: US$0 - US$14
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
2 reviews
“Not bad”
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night while we visited my uncle.
The staff were friendly the breakfast was a nice surprise gd quality food with decent bread used for the full English.HHowever the room was disappointing the toilet seat was broken with no handwash . the TVhad some kind of commentary on every channel which could not be turned off we had a llittle window with the street light directly in front but with no blind or curtain the light keept us awake for quite a while. little let downs in our experience that could be sorted easily.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andysupra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    9
    7
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
“Carvery meal”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Called into the Newmarket on the off chance as we were hungry and thought we would see if it looked ok.The food looked good so we gave it a go.The interior is fine,not palatial but clean and warm.The carvery was excellent, vegetables well cooked and fresh.The price of the carvery included a large choice of deserts, including fresh fruit salad.I had home made cherry pie and custard which was delicious.The drinks were reasonably price ,the staff friendly and quick. A very good value meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value, friendly staff. Will stay again”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Over delivered on the food, was great grub and fantastic value. Beers were a tad on the expensive side but that was the only bad part. Room was to a higher standard than expected and had a very comfortable bed and good hot shower. Breakfast was a plesant experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank benzie2k13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good value Sunday carvery”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We camne for the Sunday Roast which was one of the best around for a low price. plenty of deserts of pick from too. Im sat at home now feeling full, and want to sleep it off lol. :) Will be using again

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattsbeamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Have been twice to this Carvery in the last six months, and both times my party and I had a first class experience. Obviously the problems of a few years ago have been rectified, as we all found the staff friendly and helpful, the food fresh and an amazing selection of vegetables (nine last visit). As two of us are veggie, we wondered what sort of reception we would get at a carvery, but no problem - a delicious nut roast appeared, as did veggie gravy. Vast selection of generous-portion desserts, and drinks priced reasonably. Also, if you might be tempted to go regularly, as we are, ask for a loyalty card with discounts and free wine for regular visitors. Highly recommended

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Newmarket Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Lewes, East Sussex
Lewes, East Sussex
 
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Lewes, East Sussex
 

Been to Newmarket Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing