We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be a lot better”

Newmarket Inn Restaurant
Ranked #91 of 112 Restaurants in Lewes
Price range: US$0 - US$14
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
105 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Could be a lot better”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

The trouble with a Carvery, is that I always compare to Toby. This place has a long way to go. Don't get me wrong, bar staff were friendly. However the food is key, 3 joints, one slice of each. Veg was pretty standard. Only average I'm afraid.

Helpful?
1 Thank BigBob234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    9
    7
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lunchtime stop”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stopped for a late lunch on a Thursday around 2pm. Place almost deserted. We didn't want carvery as we were out for a meal that evening so asked for bar menu - we were told there was no salad and other items (lamb shank) due to no delivery that morning. We ordered beef and gammon baguettes and was told that chef would add a few chips to make up for lack of salad .... I asked what dressings they came with and was told horseradish for the beef and apple sauce for the gammon. I said great for horseradish but no thanks for the apple sauce - however both came up with no sauce.
Atmosphere severely lacking due to the only other customers leaving virtually as we arrived.
Service wasn't dreadful but there was room for improvement. I asked if we could pay at end of meal so we could order coffees and was told that wasn't possible. As they had a £10 minimum card spend we missed out on our coffees and they missed out on a couple of extra pounds takings too! Prepared to give them another chance on our next visit to the area but to be honest not holding my breath.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MG31England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good family pub”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

All staff was friendly and helpful....the management was brillant!!! Food well i love a good hearty meal and that is what i got great pricing homemade desserts well that banoffe waffle stack WOW thats all i can say....

Would i go bk?? YES i would very hard working people there and i think some of the reviews i read on here need to be ignored because obviously they went to a different pub

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tinker1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Under new management and absolutely awful!”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We come here every couple of months and the food has always been tasty and good value! So we booked a table for a Saturday lunch time the place was empty we thought they were closed when we arrived. The new management served us and were abrupt and pretty unhelpful, the food was awful, undercooked potatoes gravy with no flavour and the consistency of water vegetables with no seasoning and cauliflower cheese that tasted of nothing but cream and was almost raw! The delicious home made desserts of the past are also long gone, my mother in law ordered trifle and received a wine glass of redcurrants in red jelly that tasted of nothing with tinned custard and squirty cream. The whole thing was pretty disgusting we will not be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnetteGts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Not bad”
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night while we visited my uncle.
The staff were friendly the breakfast was a nice surprise gd quality food with decent bread used for the full English.HHowever the room was disappointing the toilet seat was broken with no handwash . the TVhad some kind of commentary on every channel which could not be turned off we had a llittle window with the street light directly in front but with no blind or curtain the light keept us awake for quite a while. little let downs in our experience that could be sorted easily.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andysupra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Newmarket Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Lewes, East Sussex
Lewes, East Sussex
 

Been to Newmarket Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing