We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B, Wonderful Hosts”
Review of Beechwood B and B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beechwood B and B
Ranked #3 of 39 Lewes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I had arranged a special Birthday/Christmas treat for my Opera loving wife - tickets to Glyndebourne. This B&B was recommended on the Glyndebourne website. It truly lives up to its 5* rating. Carol and Ceri are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Carol handled the transfers to and from the Opera, including Picnic Chairs and Tables and all the food and drink that goes with a traditional Glyndebourne Picnic. There was a wide selection of breakfasts on offer and I found the Full English very tasty and satisfying. Beechwood is ideally situated for touring this delightful part of the country with numerous National Trust properties and other attractions to see. If you fancy a quiet relaxing break then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeaLegsBarnstaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Beechwood B and B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

We were attending the 3 day "Love Supreme" Soul & Jazz festival in Glynde with friends and needed a to find a local place to stay. Trip advisor identified Beechwood as an ideal local B&B close to the venue and the feedback it had been given meant that we booked it straight away.
Well we have just finished our stay there and we have to thank Carol & Ceri for their fabulous hospitality.
Their home is indeed 5 Star and so is the service. Breakfast choice is first class which is cooked and presented perfectly.
We stayed in the "Emerald" room which has a large bathroom and shower en-suite with all the comforts you could possibly ask for.

This is no ordinary B&B and Carol & Ceri both make you very welcome. If you are in this part of the country and need a place to stay then I can highly recommend "Beechwood" to you and you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Carol and Cere were excellent hosts and the hotel was spotless. You would not want for a better breakfast, ask my wife who had smoked salmon (with a hint of chilli) and scrambled eggs. My daughter (aged 13) also stayed with us and found the whole experience very memorable due to the time and effort the hosts put in. If in that part of the world again I will look no further than the Beechwood B and B.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the Main road although it did not create a problem for us - it was the Eme...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeeg56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We travelled with our 1 year old daughter and stayed for one night. We would have loved to stay longer. The rooms and bathroom are so beautiful and luxurious and every single detail has been carefully thought out. It is very much like staying with friends even though you've never met them before! Breakfast was lovely and is served in the bright conservatory with lots of choice. Our daughter loved the dogs, the huge garden, the trampoline and the masses of attention.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDaley-Mellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I spent 11 weeks at Beechwood because I was doing an internship in Uckfield, I was welcomed by Carol and Ceri, they introduce their-selves as my new parents, and they were. The house is beautiful with a huge garden, three lovely dogs, great bedroom and bathroom. Carol and Ceri are very nice people, they know good advice for tours in the area. If I had to go back in East Sussex, it is here that I would book a room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ben c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel like old friends and we sat and chatted over coffee for such a long time we nearly forgot to go out for dinner. Carol and Ceri are genuinely interested in their guests and really personalise the stay, so unlike any hotel I've ever stayed in. The house, gardens, and our room was truly 5 star and the breakfast was excellent. We would certainly recommend to anyone looking to stay in the area as we wouldn't fault anything. I will be promoting them to all my colleagues and friends who need to go that way.

Room Tip: We had the Emerald room which was very large and had a large ensuite bathroom with separate bath and...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abc123980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Carol and Ceri are great people. When we arrived Ceri was gardening but stopped what he was doing and made us fresh coffee and served it in our luxurious room with home made cake. Bathroom was to die for with enough free toiletries to last us a year. I have to have towels like these, they are soooo soft. Breakfast was very indulgent, very well presented and service throughout was excellent. Dogs were great although got covered in slobber a few times.
Would love to return and would highly recommend this B & B. They work very hard to maintain its high standards - Well Done
Helen & Mark

Room Tip: After having a nosey around I think our room, Emerald was nicest although it is at the front of the...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenandmark9068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
7.0 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#3 of 8 in Lewes
388 reviews
6.8 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#5 of 8 in Lewes
820 reviews
2.2 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,215 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
171 reviews
3.9 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood B and B

Address: Eastbourne Road | Halland, Lewes BN8 6PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Price Range: £111 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beechwood B and B 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beechwood Guest House is a Gold Award Five Star Bed and Breakfast in East Sussex, this Sussex style house sits in one acre of mature gardens. We are ideally located for a host of local venues, including East Sussex National Golf Club and Glyndebourne Opera House just 10 mins from door to door. Within a twenty mile radius you can get to Brighton, Tunbridge Wells and Eastbourne. We are only 25 miles from Gatwick and 3 miles from the local Uckfield railway station, which is a direct line into London. We will be very happy to advise on the wide choice of local pubs and restaurants, as well as local places of interest and the excellent choice of National Trust locations within the area. We are open all-year-round including Christmas and New Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Beechwood B and B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood B And B Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing