We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beechwood is better than most 5* Hotel's” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beechwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beechwood
Ranked #4 of 42 Lewes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beechwood is better than most 5* Hotel's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

We stayed again whilst visiting friends over a weekend. Beechwood has improved even more since our last stay and is now a true 5* gold credited B&B. It is actually better than some 5* boutique hotels in London that we have stayed at.

As always, it is immaculate with everything you could possibly think of taken into consideration. Beautiful bed linen, fantastic ensuite bathroom with powershower - lush (it sorted out my hangover). And the hostess Carol is lovely, she is now more of a friend to us - super friendly. The breakfast was delicious, my boyfriend opted for the full English works but Carol had me covered with fresh fruit, yoghurt & granola, juice and herbal teas :) ................ if only there were more places like this throughout the UK. We look forward to coming back again next time we visit - this is now our resident Sussex accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celestial1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
78
9
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

Arrived late in the afternoon, had a very nice warm welcome from Carol (the owner), and was treated to a brilliant chicken roast! The room we stayed in was clean, comfortable and cosy... couldnt have asked for any more! The B+B holds a fantastic garden... with an absolutely fantastic hot tub! I highly recommend this B+B and will be definately staying here in the near future! Thanks Carol for a lovely stay!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsWilsonWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2009

Very Friendly .Made extremely welcome as part of the family.Quality accomodation with 5 star luxurious standards.Beautiful setting in large gardens ,beautifully maintained.Excellent positon for all links - rail air.Great food and fantastic hospitality.6 star in my book

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

I stayed at this guesthouse with friends for a nearby wedding. The room was beautifully decorated and Carol made us feel very welcome throughout the rest of the house. The hot tub was a real treat which we all enjoyed, adding another element to the whole relaxing atmosphere of the guesthouse. Wouldn't consider booking anywhere else for when i'm down that way again! 5 stars all round.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RioDeEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

I would fully recommend this B&B to anyone. I stayed with a group of friends, and without exception all thought it was one of the friendliest and most welcoming places we'd ever stayed! The rooms are perfect for couples or for friends to share, the area is beautiful countryside, and the breakfast was just what we all needed... If your in this neck of the woods, I would thoroughly recommend you stay there! Oh, And the Hot tub is quality!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cswalker142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englishman in York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

I stayed at Beechwood B&B for two nights with my fiancée and some friends when we were attending a wedding nearby. Everything about our stay was superb. The house was impeccably presented, as were the rooms - the shower and spa bath were fantastic. There was plenty of space to make ourselves feel quite at home and Carol was the perfect host, allowing us to have a Champagne lunch in the garden on Friday afternoon before our taxis arrived. I didn't think it could get much better but it did: the perfect way to relax the following day was in the Hot Tub! Also, it will be a long time before I have a breakfast as good as that again. I didn't want to leave on Sunday morning. Thanks for a very special weekend Carol. We'll be visiting again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzzford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2009

I stayed at Beechwood with my boyfriend for a friend's wedding at Buxted Park. It was a sunny weekend so we could go into the garden and play with the gorgeous dogs!

The rooms were immaculate. We stayed in the Green Room which is very big and has it's own en suite.

Carol helped us find a local pub to eat dinner and even booked us a taxi to and from the wedding. Nothing was too much trouble.

We'll definitely be coming back to stay if we're back in the area.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScroogeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chyland, owner at Beechwood, responded to this review, 15 August 2009
Thank you for your review.

Kind regards Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
6.8 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#5 of 8 in Lewes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.6 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
3.9 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
6.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#7 of 8 in Lewes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood

Property: Beechwood
Address: Eastbourne Road | Halland, Lewes BN86PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beechwood 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beechwood Guest House is a Gold Award Five Star Bed and Breakfast in East Sussex, this Sussex style house sits in one acre of mature gardens. We are ideally located for a host of local venues, including East Sussex National Golf Club and Glyndebourne Opera House just 10 mins from door to door. Within a twenty mile radius you can get to Brighton, Tunbridge Wells and Eastbourne. We are only 25 miles from Gatwick and 3 miles from the local Uckfield railway station, which is a direct line into London. We will be very happy to advise on the wide choice of local pubs and restaurants, as well as local places of interest and the excellent choice of National Trust locations within the area. We are open all-year-round including Christmas and New Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Beechwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing