We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”
Review of The Prospect

The Prospect
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Prospect
Ranked #19 of 39 Lewes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This was the second time I have visited here with family, can't recommend it enough. It's slap in the centre of Lewes and has quiet a brilliant view from the breakfast room. Lynn and Nick are the most lovely people to speak to and have a great knowledge for the local area. The breakfasts are superb and a great choice of fruit and cereals followed by a great serving of a traditional English breakfast. Bedrooms are immaculate and modern, have no faults with this place at all. Simply can't say anymore as it's perfect place to stay in the heart of Lewes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is a fantastic b&b right in the middle of Lewes - comfy rooms with everything you need, delicious huge homemade breakfasts and kind, relaxed hosts. Very handy for the station/high street/wedding venue Pelham House.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I highly recommend the Prospect B&B. When travelling solo a warm welcome is especially important and I was made to feel at home and very welcome. The room was lovely, the view at breakfast delightful and the breakfast plentiful and delicious. Excellent value for money and a very convenient central location.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelleboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My partner and I stayed for one night as a short break in Lewes and Lynn and Nick made us feel incredibly welcome. It's a lovely place, the room was spotless as was the private bathroom, and the breakfast was very hearty with lots of choice. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I was in Lewes for a wedding and was able to walk from The Prospect to the church, station and the reception at the Town Hall, leaving my vehicle outside the house. After a 5 hour drive from Exeter, the pot of tea and naughty biscuits out on the back patio were most welcome. My room was really well appointed right down to the catetiere for the first stimulant of the day. Breakfast was in the open-plan upstairs area. And what a breakfast: the full english was exactly that, but supplemented with fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt with home-made bread and marmalade.
An added bonus was having my own access key for the duration of my visit. Lyn is an excellent hostess in every respect and knows the area thoroughly - another useful asset. I will be back!

Room Tip: There are two double rooms either one of which can be 'en suite'. They are close together on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 657andys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I stayed for one night at The Prospect and I was delighted with my stay. Lynn made me welcome as soon as I arrived with a pot of tea and biscuits which was taken in the garden. The room was bright and spotlessly clean with a large shower room. Breakfast was taken in the living room with spectacular views of the Sussex Downs and such a wonderful breakfast with fresh muffins, croissants and fresh fruit salad followed by scrambled eggs, toast and mushrooms. You could not ask for more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Great location 1 minute from high street and Lewes Castle and a short walk to everywhere. Car parking on site which is a huge help. Easy walk to railway station.

I have never had as huge a breakfast as I had for the three mornings, felt a bit guilty but it was that good.

Room is very private and excellent in every way,felt very much at home there.

Lynn and Nick are great hosts. Can't recommend this establishment highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trezonarunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sagehommes, Owner at The Prospect, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

We are always very grateful for lovely reviews like this and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Lewes. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lewes hotels
2.3 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#3 of 8 in Lewes
397 reviews
6.8 mi away
Beechwood B and B
Beechwood B and B
#3 of 39 in Lewes
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
White Lodge B&B
White Lodge B&B
#1 of 1 in Cooksbridge
435 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dorset Inn
The Dorset Inn
#20 of 39 in Lewes
92 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Blacksmiths Arms
The Blacksmiths Arms
#1 of 1 in Offham
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prospect? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prospect

Address: The Prospect St. Martins Lane, Lewes BN7 1UD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Price Range: £45 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Light, airy contemporary house in quiet Lane. Close to Station, one minute from High Street's restaurants, Norman Castle and shops. Twin bedroom with en suite shower room plus double bedroom. WiFi, private parking and wheelchair accessible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Prospect Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing