We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull accommodations for a stay in Lewes.”
Review of The Prospect

The Prospect
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Prospect
Ranked #17 of 39 Lewes B&B and Inns
Calgary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderfull accommodations for a stay in Lewes.”
Reviewed 11 January 2010

My grandmother was born in Lewes, so on a recent trip to England, I decided to stay a night in this charming town. It was a highlight of our trip, and the Wisemans helped make our stay extra special. We had never before stayed in a B and B, so we were nervous about what to expect. Our nerves were quickly settled. Lynn was a gracious host, and our room was cozy and wonderful. It may have been the most comfortable sleep we had during our entire two-week stay in England. The bed was soft, but not too soft. Lynn provided a detailed book outlining sites, restaurants, and many local activities. The breakfast was delightful--fresh fruit, breads, eggs, bacon, sausage, cereal...all the fixings. We were delighted with our experience and would heartily recommend the Prospect to any Lewes visitors.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustWayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
26
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland, USA
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2009

First visit to UK since 1977, and traveled from Skye to Brighton. Lewes was our intended base for four days of easy rail and road trips to Brighton and London, as well as to visit old rugby mates around Sussex. The Prospect was cheerful, sunny very well located in Lewes right off main shopping street, three or four great pubs, including one Thomas Paine habituated in 1700's, and two minutes walk from Lewes Castle, ten from historic Harvey's Brewery. The Wiseman's are very gracious hosts, and friendly, cheerful welcoming people. Stay with them - this place beats most B&B places because of the people running it, and you almost don;t want to go out after the breakfast part!.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annapolitan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

I spent a couple of nights at The Prospect as I was in Lewes for a friend’s wedding. The room was beautiful and clean, and the breakfast was the best I’ve had in a B&B. Nick and Lynn were fantastic hosts, and very knowledgable about the local area. Overall, it was a lovely stay and I would heartily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarry123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2009

The Prospect b&b has a good central location just off the high street yet peaceful and with off street parking. It is a very attractive house, Mr & Mrs Wiseman are the perfect hosts and the breakfasts are superb.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonJane123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lewes hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
767 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#4 of 8 in Lewes
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#7 of 8 in Lewes
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
234 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
166 reviews
4.7 mi away
White Lodge B&B
White Lodge B&B
#1 of 1 in Cooksbridge
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prospect? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prospect

Property: The Prospect
Address: The Prospect St. Martins Lane, Lewes BN7 1UD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Light, airy contemporary house in quiet Lane. Close to Station, one minute from High Street's restaurants, Norman Castle and shops. Twin bedroom with en suite shower room plus double bedroom. WiFi, private parking and wheelchair accessible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Prospect Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing