We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rainbow Inn

The Rainbow Inn
Ranked #94 of 111 Restaurants in Lewes
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

As somebody who likes great food and if found doesn't mind paying that little bit more I can honestly say.
Great staff!
Great chef!
Lovely garden!
Fabulous food!
It's thumbs up from me!

Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    44
    16
    16
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lewes
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Was passing by and decided to pop in with my husband and kids. We ordered the kids roasts and 2 adult beef roasts. The food was absolutely great! The meat was so tender and all the trimmings were excellent. We will be back very soon for another roast when we are around this area!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank H1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great Sunday Afternoon! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My family and I were passing by Lewes and thought we would grab a spot of lunch, but somewhere slightly out of Lewes in the country. So it was decided I would take my husband and kids to the Rainbow Inn.

Upon arrival we were greeted by the friendly waitresses and bar staff and shown to our seats in this beautiful secret garden.

The kids ordered the children's fish and chips, my husband order the Roast Beef and for myself I ordered the Pork Belly. Absolutely delicious! The food was so tasty and the service was great. Will definitely be coming back here along with my friends and other family members! Definitely worth a visit!

Helpful?
Thank Hannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I revisited this pub as had been here before for lunch (which was lovely) however tonight dined with some friends.1. No atmosphere2. Pretty much empty on a hot Sat evening.3. Food ordinary in fact bland. Only x1 veg option as the other main option was 'off'...this was early in the evening 7.30pm! Puddings were 'shop bought' presentation poor, one option was 'off' ...small menu yet some options not there! Wine VERY expensive £27 for a bottle of Malbec...4. Staff .....well pretty disinterested,started off attentive then we had to find the waiter to pay for the bill! I don't think the manager or head chef were in tonight,certainly didn't feel as if anyone was 'in charge' ....will not be returning!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Empty on a Saturday night.....!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Bar area is very small - which would have been OK had there not been a child running around it all the time. (Sorry I don't like children in bar areas). Despite being a Saturday evening the place was empty except for us, another couple in the restaurant and 2 people at the bar. The waitresses were very nice and friendly and the food was OK. Probably won't be going again

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank prodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rainbow Inn also viewed

South Chailey, East Sussex
Uckfield, East Sussex
 

Been to The Rainbow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing