We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An elegant b&b with an unsurpassable breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Two Chimneys Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 42 Lewes B&B and Inns
Guildford
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“An elegant b&b with an unsurpassable breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

This was our first visit to Lewes and I nearly always seem to be lucky in picking the perfect b&b; this one was no exception. There is free parking on the road outside or in the drive. Averil and Eric's hospitality is second to none. We were welcomed with a freshly made pot of tea, a jug of fresh milk and biscuits, which Eric makes for guests whenever required.

The rooms were cosy and warm with lovely views over their beautiful large garden and the town. The whole house is decorated in perfect taste. The bathroom is attractive and modern with a huge shower cubicle.

Breakfast was the 'pièce de résistance'. Guests tick what they want for breakfast from the extensive menu. One can choose an English breakfast with free-range eggs and bacon, or a continental breakfast, fresh orange juice, cereals including home-made muesli and various choices of tea and coffee. I had a delicious platter of freshly prepared fresh fruits followed by scrambled eggs on toast with Scottish oak-smoked salmon. One can also have poached undyed smoked haddock with scrambled or poached eggs, a bacon, cheese or plain 2-egg omelette or Welsh home-made Rarebit topped with a poached egg. What makes the breakfast a cut above any other b&bs we have stayed in were the home-made marmalade, bread and muesli. The traditionally home-baked bread made from organic stoneground flour we had lightly toasted. Next time I shall have to try the home-made pancakes with maple syrup which were on the continental breakfast menu.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amazingsunsetbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

A lovely B&B in a very quiet, residential part of Lewes, just a short, pleasant stroll into the town centre. Our hosts, Averil & Eric, maintain an immaculate property. The room was very comfortable and the private bathroom was stylish. It was not en suite but our hosts provided lovely towelling robes.Breakfast was excellent with a great selection from traditional fry-up to omelettes and smoked fish plus home-made muesli and marmalade and a wonderful fresh fruit platter. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Three of us stayed here on our first night of walking the last bit of the South Downs Way. We couldn't have had a more hospitable welcome. The rooms (a double and a single) were very comfy and we had sole use of the bathroom which was very clean and had everything we needed. It was only a 10 min walk into town although slightly uphill on the way home but nothing too onerous. We were brought tea in the morning at a time which suited us and, again, breakfast was served at a time that suited us. Breakfast was everything we could have asked for and more. Absolutely fab. Will certainly be coming back - we felt so relaxed and were treated to first class service. Thank you so much to the owners.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Small friendly B&B. The owners were lovely and brought us cups of tea every evening as well as cooking up a delicious breakfast made-to-order each morning. There are only two rooms so you'll have a quiet and relaxing stay. The owners don't hand out keys to guests so you need to let them know when you are coming and going, but they are very relaxed and we never had a problem with timings

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlottie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal River, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

The room and service that my wife, Jill, and I received when we stayed at Two Chimneys for three days last June 2011 was absolutely wonderful. We were served excellent breakfasts out on their very pleasant deck facing their beautiful gardens. The host and hostess were extremely accommodating and friendly. Lewes turned out to be a great base for exploring, hiking and catching a convenient train to other interesting destinations. We highly recommend the Two Chimneys B&B in Lewes, England.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Treb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at Two Chimneys at the weekend and were utterly delighted with the place. The couple that run the B&B are very welcoming and full of local knowledge and history. It's perfectly located inbetween the town (ten minutes walk) and the South Downs (ten mins walk). The room was clean and cosy with fabulous views overlooking the garden. The real treat came in the morning with the breakfast. We were given an extensive breakfast menu that knocks the socks off most B&B and hotel menus. Every details was taken care of from the steamed milk that came with the fresh coffee through to a plethora of yogurts and fruits.

I can't recommend Two Chimneys enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CelticwandererLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here with a friend for one night in July 2011. Two Chimneys is in a quiet tree-lined residential road close to the centre of Lewes, with plenty of parking. It's quite a hilly town and so if you're not very mobile, the walk from the centre will take you a bit longer than the 10 to15 minutes it took us.

There are two rooms for guests: a single and a double, both with views to wards the NE and the Downs and all very clean and welcoming. There is a shared bathroom across the landing, but as other reviewers have said, the owners only let both rooms to groups, so you won't be sharing the bathroom with strangers.

The owners were very friendly and helpful. We were visiting Glyndebourne and they arranged our taxi for us and even offered to drive us there and collect us if a taxi wasn't available. Breakfast was excellent, probably one of the best cooked breakfasts I've had in a B&B.

I would thoroughly recommend the Two Chimneys. If we're looking for a night or two's B&B accommodation in the Lewes area, then the Two Chimneys would be my first choice.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms available: a single and a double. Both have views towards the Downs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Passer-domesticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lewes hotels
0.6 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#5 of 8 in Lewes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#7 of 8 in Lewes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Lewes Town Centre
7.0 mi away
Beechwood
Beechwood
#4 of 42 in Lewes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Chimneys Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Chimneys Bed & Breakfast

Property: Two Chimneys Bed & Breakfast
Address: 25 Gundreda Road, Lewes BN7 1PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Two Chimneys Bed & Breakfast Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing