We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food excellent service”
Review of Spice Merchant

Spice Merchant
Ranked #52 of 112 Restaurants in Lewes
Price range: US$0 - US$33
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Spice Merchant serves timeless Indian cuisine to dine in or takeaway. We procure the finest and freshest ingredients as it is the only way to ensure the food we serve is the best we can produce. In addition to dining in and takeaways, we offer a full outdoor catering service that can be tailored to suit any occasion and budget.
Sussex
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great food excellent service”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Just eaten at the spice merchant, everything was perfect. It was packed but we were not rushed for the table, the service was excellent every member of staff was friendly and happy. Food delicious hot and plentiful. The whole restaurant had a great atmosphere and we had a great evening. Thank you definitely recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TR27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    43
    19
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic specials”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

A bit noisy but it was a busy restaurant full of happy customers. Drinking eating, big parties, packed boothes... probably not ideal for a romantic evening but perfect atmosphere for bigger groups or friends. Starters are enormous mains are very tasty particularly the tiger prawns tandoori style and house special dish. A good wine selection for a curry house. Excellent service. A good night.

Helpful?
Thank lovethebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“ugh”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I'm updating my previous review in which I said this was the best Indian Take-away I've had in years. Not so much anymore I'm afraid.....

This has been our favourite local curry house since we moved into the area in December and we've supported them on a number of occasions. As we don't actually live in Lewes but just outside, we loved their food so much that we would ring up, order and then drive into Lewes to pick it up. 2 weeks ago we ordered our usual as a take-away and it was absolutely awful. The person who took our order in the restaurant was surly as well, where previously the staff have always been really courteous and pleasant. When we got the food home it was greasy and taste-less. The lam was really tough as well, where it had always been cooked to perfection. We couldn't understand what was going on because it has always been so fantastic previously. They've changed their menu so might have changed management....not sure.

I'd like to mention as well that the prices have shot up so not only is the food bad, but we now have to pay more for it than we did a month ago.
Won't be supporting them again I'm sorry to say. Very disappointing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monita_Le_Roux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“great place, great people”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

had one of the best meals out in a long time here. the staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. made a table for 18 for us and were very attentive all night, checking on drinks orders etc. great food, not rushed once we finished, got the impression that we would of been welcome to stay all night if we wanted.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HIXSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algiers, Algeria
Level Contributor
327 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“not sure what timeless cuisine means?”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Good. Some interestingly critical reviews of this on the local town website, but we had no difficulties. Quiet and food was quick. Waiters hover a lot, it's as if there's always one within distance. Wide range of food, not that I know what timeless cuisine is. But reliable and worth a return visit. Some sites claim it's very expensive - we had popadoms and main courses and drinks for £30. 10% tip automatically added to that. And a complementary digestif to round it off, which was nice of them. Maybe they recognised me from my tripadvisor mugshot?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Merchant also viewed

Lewes, East Sussex
Lewes, East Sussex
 
Lewes, East Sussex
Ringmer, Lewes
 

Been to Spice Merchant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing