We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Booked a 3 night stay with some trepidation as reviews were not great. However our room in the annexe was excellent. I gather they are renovating rooms & ours had been modernised 3 months ago. Room was large, bright and clean with an attractive balcony. Tea facilities were provided & room was warm & comfortable. Bath/shower was also modern & clean. Breakfast was excellent with a choice of full english or fruit/ cereals. Service was superb.
The big selling point is the fitness centre with a lovely pool a rare treat.
To sumarise, a very good hotel especially when all of the rooms are updated.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your constructive feedback following your stay at the White Hart Hotel,we hope that we can wxtend you a warm welcome on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    244
    202
    162
    215
See reviews for
125
393
40
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed at the White Hart for two nights with a Groupon voucher. I had read all the reviews on here first so we knew it might not be tip-top standard accommodation, but the Groupon was such good value that we decided to go for it. We were pleasantly surprised.

The staff were brilliant, from the call I made before I even bought the Groupon (to check the dates we wanted were available) to our welcome on arrival all the way through to the end. All staff were extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful.

The food was really good - our cream tea had homemade cake (I think!) and big, warm scones. The evening meal was of a really good standard - proper gourmet food, beautifully cooked, served and presented - and the breakfasts were good too.

Our room was on the second floor of the main building. It was very spacious and the bed was comfortable. It looked out onto the side alley, so it wasn't noisy, it was the right temperature and the radiator was easy to adjust and the windows opened if you wanted them to. The en-suite was clean and perfectly adequate. The room was in the eaves and had great original beams and lots of character.

The hotel itself is a marvellous, historic building with original panelling, a beautiful oak staircase and all the character you would expect from an old coaching inn.

The pool was lovely, I swam in it twice and really enjoyed it both times.

There are some downsides to the hotel (see below) but if you are someone who enjoys the beauty of an old hotel full of character, you will like the White Hart. If you are bothered by small details and like everything to be modern and shiny, you will find things to complain about here and you should probably go and stay in a travel lodge or similar!

As mentioned, parking can be tricky because the car park is small and full of difficult angles but this didn't bother us and we managed to get a space the whole time we were there. The furniture in our room (apart from the beds) and in some places around the hotel was dated and looked rather tired but again, this didn't bother us at all.

Overall, we were completely amazed at what extremely good value our Groupon gave us - afternoon tea with fizz, three-course meal with wine, two nights acccommodation and use of the pool/spa - and all for a VERY reasonable price. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the White Hart - as long as, as I said, you are not a pernickety person who would complain that the fabric covering the lampshades in your room was not sufficiently stylish and you couldn't manage to manoeuvre your car into the space in the car park!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building have lots of character. Room 19 looked out onto the side alley so was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your feedback on the Tripadvisor site,your comments are appreciated as we strive to move the hotel forward,the team at the hotel are exteremly positive and motivated as we move the hotel forward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We also went to the White Hart Hotel on a Groupon deal. The imposing fireplaces, old wooden frames in the room, make the bar, reception and tearoom pleasant and cosy. The evening dinner was very good, with an interesting choice of duck, pigeon, fish. The staff were friendly and accommodating as we had to leave very early the next day. We would recommend this hotel and Room 26 was very good.

Room Tip: Room 26 has character, clean bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UK2013UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your positive comments on the Tripadvisor site,I was delighted to read that your overall stay was enjoyed and the team look forward to extending a warm welcome on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed at the White Hart with a Groupon Deal. It was very good value and I am rating the hotel on what we paid. If we had not had the deal I would have given an average score.

Good points - the staff were very good especially Derek the manager, the food was very good and it was nice being able to see the chef cook the food, the pool and sauna/steam room were good too.

The things that were not so good were - the parking as there were 30 places for 50 rooms, the showers in the leisure club were freezing, the TV in the room kept losing the signal, the decor was very dated, broken tiles on patios, the bitter was chilled.

This hotel was well positioned but needs some money spending on it to bring it up to scratch. It was not the Savoy but we were not paying Savoy prices.

Overall a good place to stay and positives outweighed negatives.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffolkMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to offer your constructive feedback in relation to your recent stay at the hotel.I review all the comments that are made and share them with the team in order to maintain consistent standard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

Lots of potential in this hotel, which has not been realised. Legacy - you need to put a few tens of thousands into this place and then it would rate a lot higher. We stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast deal my wife and I and another couple. We had rooms in the main building, which sounds like we got off lightly compared to the annexe in other reviews.

Ok its tudor, but that does not excuse letting the place fall to bits. Threadbare patches on carpets in the main corridors? Come on, thats just lazy or plain tight!

So from the beginning - check in was quick and efficient, but I am afraid the person on reception had no sense of humour. Pleasant enought, but not what you would call friendly. No lifts, not surprising in a building this age, but one to be aware of if you dont like or want to manage stairs. The floors creaked and none of them are level, beware if you have too much to drink, you wont know if you are leaning, or its the floors. The door and door frames are 'olde worlde' pattern, but the woodwork is in very tatty condition. If thats a style choice due to the age of the building, its not one that works for me. It just looks poorly maintained.

So in the bedroom, continued floors uneven creaking and sloping (thats not a criticism, by the way, thats just a description). More carpet that has seen better days, nice bed and bedding, comfortable. Odd choice of furniture, some quasi art deco (bed and wardrobe) some mock antique regency. The wardrobe leaned precariously because of the angle of the floor but no problems arose. No view from the window, but thats not an issue, its a chance you take in a town centre hotel. Not really expected one. Our friends room looked straight at a brick wall.

Sad little touches were the broken curtain rail mended with gaffer tape, and the dangling top corner of the curtain where the curtain ring had obviously disappeared some time ago, which meant the curtains could not be drawn. Needed better storage as well, silly little drawers in the bedside and the dressing table, meant we ended up piling our clothes on the deep window cill.

The en suite shower was bright and clean, looked like it had been recently refurbished. But there was no extractor fan and the window did not fit very well, as witness the tissue stuffed in the gap by, presumably, a recent room occupant. We left it there! And there was a water stain on the ceiling.

We were provided with 2 bottles of shampoo, a shower cap, but no shower gel and no soap (which our friends did get). We asked at reception if we were supposed to have soap and the lady seemed very uncertain 'but would check'. Within a few minutes a wrapped soap was pushed under our door.

Service in the restaurant was remarkably slow. Its an odd set-up with an open kitchen area as part of the dining room. The chefs worked hard but I would have to say not very efficiently. An hour from ordering to getting our starters. The food in the restaurant was generally good, and well presented, let down only by the wait, although there were several things we ordered from quite a small menu, which were not available.

Breakfast in the morning was variable. Plenty of it, but on our first morning "sorry all the fruit has gone". Another oddity - 2 mornings the hot breakfast was buffet style, third morning it was table service for no apparent reason. The self service cooked eggs looked very tired one morning, but the chef was more than happy to cook fresh fried, or for our friends, he did a fresh omellette. On the third morning there was some sort of mess up on the cooking, (table service day) long wait and then what turned up looked like it had been under a heat lamp for some time. There was a complaint to the manager from the table next to us.

The hotel bar was very odd. Seemed like it wasnt finished. Spartan, spit and sawdust, felt like a bit of an amateurish attempt to look old. And the beer on our first night, well, one ale was off, another tasted like it was just about to go off.

The climax of the stay for us was on our last morning. We were packing ready to check out, and my wife, sitting at the little dressing table, suddenly jumped back and called out to me that she was getting wet. I looked round to see water pouring through the ceiling running down the wall, over the lights, the electric sockets etc. I phoned straight down to reception to let them know that it looked like the room above us had flooded and it was all running down the wall, to which the response was "Oh, OK". It stopped after about 5 minutes, leaving a large pool congregating on the carpet near the door to the room.Breakfast and finished packing later, no one had come to the room, nothing had been done, apparently, about it. A very strange reaction - almost like it was a common event, which warranted no special measures.

Sounds like a pretty grim review so far, but there were good points too. The people were all helpful and mostly very friendly as well. As I said above, the food was mainly good and well presented. The discounted DB&B stay rates a "good value" mention. The location is great, in the centre of town, easy walk to station for the train - we went to Brighton one day on a group ticket, £9.40 return for all four of us (not each, that was the total price), interesting places all around, and easy access to the South Downs - we did a circular walk of about 11 miles one day up to the downs and back along the river. The bed was comfortable, and the room and ensuite were clean.

So overall, we enjoyed our trip, and because we are all easy going, we enjoyed our stay in this hotel, but there are lots of areas which need getting to grips with and tidying up.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waynenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your constructive feedback on the Tripadvisor I only wish we had had the opportunity to discuss your feedback prior to your departure.As the new manager at the hotel we have a detailed plan for the White Hart as we strive to take the business forward.
There are key issues that are being resolved to ensure that the hotel moves forward in the right direction and although on this occassion the hotel was not to your liking I do hope that you may consider the White Hart on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lewes hotels

London
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed at the White Hart Hotel on a Groupon voucher and it offered really good value for money. It is right in the centre of Lewes so everything is nearby but it has its own (free) car park. The building has seen better days but, hey, it is Tudor in parts so hardly surprising. We had a lovely room right at the top of the building with exposed beams and a view over the rooftops of Lewes to the South Downs. Service was mostly good - the first night there was only one waitress on duty so it took a bit of time but everyone was served strictly in turn. Friendly staff, warm welcome. We recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJC49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your constructive feedback your comments are greatly appreciated,we are exteremly excited about the changes that we are striving forward to make at the White Hart Hotel,and I do hope tat on your next visit to the area you will see the positive steps forward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

And i'm glad I didn't having looked at the sheer quantity of negative reviews... I booked a room with them about 4 weeks ago and was due to stay there tomorrow night, but this morning I received a call to say they had overbooked and could no longer accommodate my booking. However, They had already booked me and my partner into a different (nicer, more expensive) hotel which on inspection has a much better reputation amongst reviewers (the shelleys). And this was all at the hotels expense - so sometimes mistakes do pay off. I shall be reviewing the shelleys when I return.

Overall I would give this hotel a 2. I cant really say anything about their rooms or food or facilities but what i can say is that they have good customer services and were prompt to fix the problem and book us into another hotel. And we are still free to use the facilities provided by the white hart to customers.

Room Tip: I'm just gonna say what everyone else has said - avoid the annex - I have read so many bad revie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geek_Girl_Beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on the Tripadvisor page.Pleasse accept my apologies for the inconvienance that you were caused due to the fact that your accommodation could not be provided on the night of your choice,I was pleased to read that the alternative hotel was to your liking.
Many guests read Tripadvisor prior to making a reservation and please be assured that as the new manager at the hotel I am with my team are taking the business forward which will include the White Hart Lodge complex
I do hope that you will on your next visit to the area that you may decide to stay at the hotel were I am sure that you will note many changes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.1 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#5 of 8 in Lewes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
13.8 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 55 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legacy White Hart Hotel is an unusual 16th century coaching inn. The original Tudor building has been sympathetically extended to incorporate a good standard of facilities whilst retaining its wonderful historic character. The public rooms boast period features, original oak beams, stone Tudor fireplaces, oak paneling and creaking, sloping floors. Then step into our leisure facilities complete with heated swimming pool and fully equipped gym offering treadmills, weight benches, cross trainers and much more. The hotel is within close proximity of Brighton and Falmer and Eastbourne. The train station is a short stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Lewes
White Hart Hotel Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing