We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location in Lewes” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Turves UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ideal location in Lewes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

For exploring Lewes this hotel is in an ideal location and just a stones throw for exploring the castle..
We stayed for four nights and we were out all day and out most evenings.
We had one meal in the restaurant and it was good although they did run out of house wine so we had to purchase the next one up.
The choices for breakfasts were very good and very tasty, very enjoyable.
The whole hotel could do with a face lift all round as it does look a little shabby.
The pool is great for a splash about and the sauna is enjoyable.
The big down side is the car parking which is very limited and a bit of a free for all. There is also a question about disabled facilities. Some of the staff were a little grumpy as well!
All in all a great location and the price we paid it was value for money but.......

Room Tip: Difficult to advise as they are on different levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DerbyboyTurvesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Dear Guest

I was pleased to read that you found Lewes to be an ideal location for your recent break and that you enjoyed your overall stay at the hotel,I di hope that you will consider The White Hart on your next visit to the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    244
    202
    162
    215
See reviews for
125
393
40
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this so called hotel and was made to walk through the hotel through the car park and to a room which was basically a dirty old shack. The blankets were out of the war, old scratchy woollen blankets and a TV that was out of the ark. I complained and was offered another room, the staff member who opened the door (the the second room) was embarrassed by the state and smell of the room. I got my money back and left that same night. Seriously you would not let a tramp live in those conditions. Avoid at all costs had a spa apparently god knows what that was like, probably a cesspit in a field. Give this place a wide berth!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katamanda31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments noted on Tripadvisor,as a newly formed team we are in the process of updating the facilities and I am deeply sorry that we failed to meet with your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lewes hotels

Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We paid just £65 per night and for that we got a double room (though we lucked out and ended up in the Pelham Suite as the doubles were sold out), a bottle of wine on arrival and dinner for two every night. The room was stunning, and full of character, typical of this 500-year-old building. The four-poster bed was fitted with the most sumptuously comfortable mattress, guaranteeing a wonderful night's sleep. We expected the meal to be a fairly bland main course only, but it was in fact three courses, a la carte, of the finest food I've ever had (yes, THAT GOOD), prepared in full view of the dining area with consummate ease by the chef, Richard. Also included was breakfast and use of the swimming pool. If we had paid three times as much, it would have been well worth it. And the staff were excellent. Derek and his team are doing great things with this hotel, so if you have given it a poor review in the past, go back and you are sure to be impressed. We had a fantastic experience and were delighted that we were able to stay another night.
The only slight problem is that the car park is small and awkward, but it is difficult to see what could be done about this.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main building rather than the annexe as this historical building has so much charac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrFloZo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your comments on The Tripadvisor site,it is alwyas a pleasure to receive positive comments such as yours.Your feedbak will be shared with the team and we look forward to extending you a warm welcome in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Booked a night here in February with a Groupon deal which, at the time of booking, was seemingly great value with afternoon tea, a 3 course dinner and an overnight stay. We were not disappointed! The staff were terrific and were all so friendly and approachable, the food was wonderful, especially dinner, the leisure facilties were more than adequate and the bedroom was spacious and had all you needed (except a larger TV!!). The bedroom was in the outside annexe and was in need of a facelift as was the bathroom, but everything was clean and working so no complaints. As an aside, the TV could have been bigger! Parking could be an issue if it is busy but we were able to park on the grounds. The hotel building is a mix of old and new but works well and the location is right in the hight street so you can walk around the town very easily.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glugSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Dear Guest

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall experiance at the White Hart.Thank you for your constructive feedback.We are currently looking at the television recommendations for all bedrooms.We hope to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

We use the hotel for training events and have found them extremely accommodating and friendly towards our staff. They accommodated a trainer for us at very short notice recently and he relayed to us how welcome and well looked after he felt. Great level of service and training facilities - thank you.

Anna - Elite Training

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna-Elite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Dear Anna

Thank you for your comments in relation to our conference facilities wqe will have great pleasure being of assistance to you for all future bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Booked a 3 night stay with some trepidation as reviews were not great. However our room in the annexe was excellent. I gather they are renovating rooms & ours had been modernised 3 months ago. Room was large, bright and clean with an attractive balcony. Tea facilities were provided & room was warm & comfortable. Bath/shower was also modern & clean. Breakfast was excellent with a choice of full english or fruit/ cereals. Service was superb.
The big selling point is the fitness centre with a lovely pool a rare treat.
To sumarise, a very good hotel especially when all of the rooms are updated.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your constructive feedback following your stay at the White Hart Hotel,we hope that we can wxtend you a warm welcome on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed at the White Hart for two nights with a Groupon voucher. I had read all the reviews on here first so we knew it might not be tip-top standard accommodation, but the Groupon was such good value that we decided to go for it. We were pleasantly surprised.

The staff were brilliant, from the call I made before I even bought the Groupon (to check the dates we wanted were available) to our welcome on arrival all the way through to the end. All staff were extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful.

The food was really good - our cream tea had homemade cake (I think!) and big, warm scones. The evening meal was of a really good standard - proper gourmet food, beautifully cooked, served and presented - and the breakfasts were good too.

Our room was on the second floor of the main building. It was very spacious and the bed was comfortable. It looked out onto the side alley, so it wasn't noisy, it was the right temperature and the radiator was easy to adjust and the windows opened if you wanted them to. The en-suite was clean and perfectly adequate. The room was in the eaves and had great original beams and lots of character.

The hotel itself is a marvellous, historic building with original panelling, a beautiful oak staircase and all the character you would expect from an old coaching inn.

The pool was lovely, I swam in it twice and really enjoyed it both times.

There are some downsides to the hotel (see below) but if you are someone who enjoys the beauty of an old hotel full of character, you will like the White Hart. If you are bothered by small details and like everything to be modern and shiny, you will find things to complain about here and you should probably go and stay in a travel lodge or similar!

As mentioned, parking can be tricky because the car park is small and full of difficult angles but this didn't bother us and we managed to get a space the whole time we were there. The furniture in our room (apart from the beds) and in some places around the hotel was dated and looked rather tired but again, this didn't bother us at all.

Overall, we were completely amazed at what extremely good value our Groupon gave us - afternoon tea with fizz, three-course meal with wine, two nights acccommodation and use of the pool/spa - and all for a VERY reasonable price. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the White Hart - as long as, as I said, you are not a pernickety person who would complain that the fabric covering the lampshades in your room was not sufficiently stylish and you couldn't manage to manoeuvre your car into the space in the car park!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building have lots of character. Room 19 looked out onto the side alley so was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your feedback on the Tripadvisor site,your comments are appreciated as we strive to move the hotel forward,the team at the hotel are exteremly positive and motivated as we move the hotel forward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.1 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#5 of 8 in Lewes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
13.8 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 55 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legacy White Hart Hotel is an unusual 16th century coaching inn. The original Tudor building has been sympathetically extended to incorporate a good standard of facilities whilst retaining its wonderful historic character. The public rooms boast period features, original oak beams, stone Tudor fireplaces, oak paneling and creaking, sloping floors. Then step into our leisure facilities complete with heated swimming pool and fully equipped gym offering treadmills, weight benches, cross trainers and much more. The hotel is within close proximity of Brighton and Falmer and Eastbourne. The train station is a short stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Lewes
White Hart Hotel Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing