We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and very comfortable”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed at the hotel at the beginning of March and were not sure what to expect having read the reviews. Our room was the Pelham Suite which was lovely, warm, clean and very comfortable.The staff were helpful and friendly, we did not have an evening meal but breakfast was very good. The telvision only seemed to want ro show Family Guy (could have been us)
the hotel is old and a bit qurirky it is also excellent value for money. The best recommendation we could give is that we have booked to stay again.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alison s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Dear Guest

I was pleased to read that your overall stay at the White Hart was an enjoyable one and should you to decide to visit the area in the near future the White Hart will be your first choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (982)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

656 - 662 of 982 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

We loved the fact that we were staying in such an old hotel - we don't have buildings that old in Australia! The sloping & creaky floors, the beams and the odd doors were all part of the charm. The rooms were clean and warm. Breakfast was good. The staff were mostly pretty dour that day, but that didn't bother us too much. We would have stayed another night, but they were all booked up. The pool was a plus, but the best thing is staying in this wonderful old building (we were in the main building, 2 rooms, not the annexe.) The location, too, is excellent, and we absolutely loved Lewes.

Room Tip: For character, go for the main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Riley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

Dear Guest

It was pleasure to read your positive comments following your recent stay at the hotel,we hope to offer you a warm welcome on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Booked with Groupon I was initially disappointed as the hotel does require major updating however this aside you can't fault the service or the food & we do need to remember this is a 16th century building. Our room (19) was clean and comfortable even if the TV was on the small side. The evening meal in the restaurant included in the price was fantastic with excellent service & nothing was too much trouble for the staff (especially the duty manager) during our stay. The 2nd night we ate in the bar and again had another lovely meal. The afternoon tea was super & breakfast on the last morning in the conservatory with the sun streaming through the windows was a perfect end to a lovely restful week-end.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SUSAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Dear Guest I would like to thank you for your positive feedback in relation to your recent stay at the hotel,we hope that we can extend a warm welcome on your next visit to Lewes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

For exploring Lewes this hotel is in an ideal location and just a stones throw for exploring the castle..
We stayed for four nights and we were out all day and out most evenings.
We had one meal in the restaurant and it was good although they did run out of house wine so we had to purchase the next one up.
The choices for breakfasts were very good and very tasty, very enjoyable.
The whole hotel could do with a face lift all round as it does look a little shabby.
The pool is great for a splash about and the sauna is enjoyable.
The big down side is the car parking which is very limited and a bit of a free for all. There is also a question about disabled facilities. Some of the staff were a little grumpy as well!
All in all a great location and the price we paid it was value for money but.......

Room Tip: Difficult to advise as they are on different levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DerbyboyTurvesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Dear Guest

I was pleased to read that you found Lewes to be an ideal location for your recent break and that you enjoyed your overall stay at the hotel,I di hope that you will consider The White Hart on your next visit to the area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this so called hotel and was made to walk through the hotel through the car park and to a room which was basically a dirty old shack. The blankets were out of the war, old scratchy woollen blankets and a TV that was out of the ark. I complained and was offered another room, the staff member who opened the door (the the second room) was embarrassed by the state and smell of the room. I got my money back and left that same night. Seriously you would not let a tramp live in those conditions. Avoid at all costs had a spa apparently god knows what that was like, probably a cesspit in a field. Give this place a wide berth!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katamanda31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments noted on Tripadvisor,as a newly formed team we are in the process of updating the facilities and I am deeply sorry that we failed to meet with your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We paid just £65 per night and for that we got a double room (though we lucked out and ended up in the Pelham Suite as the doubles were sold out), a bottle of wine on arrival and dinner for two every night. The room was stunning, and full of character, typical of this 500-year-old building. The four-poster bed was fitted with the most sumptuously comfortable mattress, guaranteeing a wonderful night's sleep. We expected the meal to be a fairly bland main course only, but it was in fact three courses, a la carte, of the finest food I've ever had (yes, THAT GOOD), prepared in full view of the dining area with consummate ease by the chef, Richard. Also included was breakfast and use of the swimming pool. If we had paid three times as much, it would have been well worth it. And the staff were excellent. Derek and his team are doing great things with this hotel, so if you have given it a poor review in the past, go back and you are sure to be impressed. We had a fantastic experience and were delighted that we were able to stay another night.
The only slight problem is that the car park is small and awkward, but it is difficult to see what could be done about this.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main building rather than the annexe as this historical building has so much charac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrFloZo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your comments on The Tripadvisor site,it is alwyas a pleasure to receive positive comments such as yours.Your feedbak will be shared with the team and we look forward to extending you a warm welcome in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Booked a night here in February with a Groupon deal which, at the time of booking, was seemingly great value with afternoon tea, a 3 course dinner and an overnight stay. We were not disappointed! The staff were terrific and were all so friendly and approachable, the food was wonderful, especially dinner, the leisure facilties were more than adequate and the bedroom was spacious and had all you needed (except a larger TV!!). The bedroom was in the outside annexe and was in need of a facelift as was the bathroom, but everything was clean and working so no complaints. As an aside, the TV could have been bigger! Parking could be an issue if it is busy but we were able to park on the grounds. The hotel building is a mix of old and new but works well and the location is right in the hight street so you can walk around the town very easily.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glugSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Dear Guest

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall experiance at the White Hart.Thank you for your constructive feedback.We are currently looking at the television recommendations for all bedrooms.We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.0 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#4 of 8 in Lewes
834 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#3 of 8 in Lewes
393 reviews
2.3 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
171 reviews
6.2 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,233 reviews
6.7 mi away
The BlackSmith's Arms
The BlackSmith's Arms
#2 of 2 in Halland
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: 55 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range: £65 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel is an unusual 16th century coaching inn. The original Tudor building has been sympathetically extended to incorporate a good standard of facilities whilst retaining its wonderful historic character. The public rooms boast period features, original oak beams, stone Tudor fireplaces, oak paneling and creaking, sloping floors. Then step into our leisure facilities complete with heated swimming pool and fully equipped gym offering treadmills, weight benches, cross trainers and much more. The hotel is within close proximity of Brighton and Falmer and Eastbourne. The train station is a short stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Lewes
White Hart Hotel Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing