We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Orihuela Costa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable stay”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The room was full of character and quiet. It was comfortable with value for money facilities. The staff were of high standard, polite and friendly and the breakfast was excellent.
I will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear Guest

I was pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay wityh us at The White Hart Hotel and we do hope that you will consider the hotel on your future visits
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    255
    210
    168
    224
See reviews for
130
410
42
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed at The White Hart in Lewes on a Groupn deal for my birthday on the 1st of Macrh. The staff were lovely and friendly and were keen to help out in anyway they could.

We stayed in the old Tudor part of the hotel and our room was clean and tidy. The building itself is an old, with wonky floor boards and lovely oak beams. That was right up my ally!

There is an annex out the back of the hotel with more rooms (maybe a 70's extention??), however we did not investigate this part of the hotel, so I cannot comment on what it was like.

The swimming pool was lovely and warm and a real treat!

The food was fantastic! We had cream tea in the afternoon, a three course meal and breakfast the next morning (cooked breakfast or continental were available). Each time it was fabulously cooked, the staff were happy to make any changes (one customer asked for an omelete in the morning which the manager whipped up in a moment). They have an open kitchen, so you can see your food being prepared, which is nice.

The hotel could do with a bit of tidying up, which is why I have not gone for an excellent rating. But these are all minor things such as a few tired looking carpets etc.

They have a great little bar in the front of the hotel, and lots of open fires which was nice for this chilly March weather! The hotel is in an excellent situation, right in the centre of town and near the shops. Close to Lewes station, so good for exploring Brighton and surrounding Sussex.

If you like modern, perfect (boring), hotels... then this is not for you. If you like something with a bit of character and you want to feel like you are well looked after... then book The White Hart hotel. I would suggest you request to be in the old part of the hotel though... as it was lovely :)

Room Tip: Ask to be in the Tudor part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lulabellx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Dear Guest

Having just checked the site I would like to thank you for your comments in realtion to your recent stay,the team hope that we can extend another warm welcome on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed at the hotel at the beginning of March and were not sure what to expect having read the reviews. Our room was the Pelham Suite which was lovely, warm, clean and very comfortable.The staff were helpful and friendly, we did not have an evening meal but breakfast was very good. The telvision only seemed to want ro show Family Guy (could have been us)
the hotel is old and a bit qurirky it is also excellent value for money. The best recommendation we could give is that we have booked to stay again.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alison s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Dear Guest

I was pleased to read that your overall stay at the White Hart was an enjoyable one and should you to decide to visit the area in the near future the White Hart will be your first choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We loved the fact that we were staying in such an old hotel - we don't have buildings that old in Australia! The sloping & creaky floors, the beams and the odd doors were all part of the charm. The rooms were clean and warm. Breakfast was good. The staff were mostly pretty dour that day, but that didn't bother us too much. We would have stayed another night, but they were all booked up. The pool was a plus, but the best thing is staying in this wonderful old building (we were in the main building, 2 rooms, not the annexe.) The location, too, is excellent, and we absolutely loved Lewes.

Room Tip: For character, go for the main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Riley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear Guest

It was pleasure to read your positive comments following your recent stay at the hotel,we hope to offer you a warm welcome on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Booked with Groupon I was initially disappointed as the hotel does require major updating however this aside you can't fault the service or the food & we do need to remember this is a 16th century building. Our room (19) was clean and comfortable even if the TV was on the small side. The evening meal in the restaurant included in the price was fantastic with excellent service & nothing was too much trouble for the staff (especially the duty manager) during our stay. The 2nd night we ate in the bar and again had another lovely meal. The afternoon tea was super & breakfast on the last morning in the conservatory with the sun streaming through the windows was a perfect end to a lovely restful week-end.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SUSAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Dear Guest I would like to thank you for your positive feedback in relation to your recent stay at the hotel,we hope that we can extend a warm welcome on your next visit to Lewes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turves UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

For exploring Lewes this hotel is in an ideal location and just a stones throw for exploring the castle..
We stayed for four nights and we were out all day and out most evenings.
We had one meal in the restaurant and it was good although they did run out of house wine so we had to purchase the next one up.
The choices for breakfasts were very good and very tasty, very enjoyable.
The whole hotel could do with a face lift all round as it does look a little shabby.
The pool is great for a splash about and the sauna is enjoyable.
The big down side is the car parking which is very limited and a bit of a free for all. There is also a question about disabled facilities. Some of the staff were a little grumpy as well!
All in all a great location and the price we paid it was value for money but.......

Room Tip: Difficult to advise as they are on different levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DerbyboyTurvesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Dear Guest

I was pleased to read that you found Lewes to be an ideal location for your recent break and that you enjoyed your overall stay at the hotel,I di hope that you will consider The White Hart on your next visit to the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this so called hotel and was made to walk through the hotel through the car park and to a room which was basically a dirty old shack. The blankets were out of the war, old scratchy woollen blankets and a TV that was out of the ark. I complained and was offered another room, the staff member who opened the door (the the second room) was embarrassed by the state and smell of the room. I got my money back and left that same night. Seriously you would not let a tramp live in those conditions. Avoid at all costs had a spa apparently god knows what that was like, probably a cesspit in a field. Give this place a wide berth!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katamanda31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments noted on Tripadvisor,as a newly formed team we are in the process of updating the facilities and I am deeply sorry that we failed to meet with your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lewes hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.0 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
769 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#4 of 8 in Lewes
368 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
234 reviews
6.2 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,162 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 55 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legacy White Hart Hotel is an unusual 16th century coaching inn. The original Tudor building has been sympathetically extended to incorporate a good standard of facilities whilst retaining its wonderful historic character. The public rooms boast period features, original oak beams, stone Tudor fireplaces, oak paneling and creaking, sloping floors. Then step into our leisure facilities complete with heated swimming pool and fully equipped gym offering treadmills, weight benches, cross trainers and much more. The hotel is within close proximity of Brighton and Falmer and Eastbourne. The train station is a short stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Lewes
White Hart Hotel Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing