We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very poor cleanliness and service”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great location, very poor cleanliness and service”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I don't have unrealistic expectations from hotels. This is a relatively cheap hotel in lewes. It's position on the high street is excellent. It is clearly a faded hotel that has lacked attention for a few decades. However it is also lacking in cleanliness to an extreme. The glasses were dirty. There was dirt between the bathroom tiles. The best I can say is that the mirror was clean. The receptionist didn't have any idea of customer service.
If, like me, you are happy with relatively basic amenities as long as the bathroom, in particular, is clean, do not come here!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordonpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel.Your comments will be discussed with the relevant departments and corrective action taken to ensure no reoccurrance of the points that you addressed.I do hope that in time that you may consider the hotel on a future visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    253
    210
    168
    221
See reviews for
129
409
42
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This hotel advertises free car parking on the leaflet but there are about ten spaces for a much larger number of rooms and functions, not to mention the difficult experience getting in and out of the car park to discover this. Lewes can be busy for parking and finding a space can be challenging at busy times, and parking is chargeable in the daytime. Otherwise the hotel needs a serious upgrade in terms of the TVs, central heating system (I had the sound of running water all night), beds and furnishings, not to mention its customer service. It is a shame as the location is brilliant and the hotel has lots of interesting historic features.

Room Tip: Try to get on in the main building rather than in the sixties outbuildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your construtive comments following your recent visit to the hotel,the hotel does have its challenges however I am convinced with the team on board that we can strive forward with the White Hart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lewes hotels

Sussex
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We visit Lewes regularly and usually stay at the White Hart. It is the only sensibly priced hotel in the centre of Lewes (I think the Pelham is seriously overpriced!). It's location is ideal - right in the heart of this fascinating town. Yes - the decor is very dated. Simple things could be done at virtually no cost - such as sticking wallpaper down where it has come away at the corners and making sure the cleaning is up to scratch (this time we had hairs on the loo and in the bath) and making sure the loo seats are ok (ours was loose). The bathrooms aren't good and really need updating. This time the white coating on our bath was very scratched and peeling off. We were in the annex and in some ways it is quieter as it doesn't overlook the High Street - however, the walls are paper thin. We were in room 56 and at one point I thought someone was in our bathroom because the noise from the fan in the one next door was so loud! BUT the staff were all very polite, friendly and helpful. They always have been when we have visited. The main hotel is really old and full of interesting features. So, we are happy to stay there for a night occasionally, especially given the relatively low cost but wouldn't want to do a long break!

Room Tip: Annex is off the High Street but has characterless rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpm_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crawley
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We got a great deal staying at the White Hart hotel, we have stayed before and new what to expect. The staff were friendly and helpful but some areas of the hotel could do with refurbishment, especially the patio area outside the dining room, the garden chairs and tables were in a state of disrepair. Our room was small and basic but seemed to be clean enough. The TV was tiny as was the bathroom. The food was very good, we enjoyed both the evening meal and the buffet breakfast. The hotel is situated in an excellent position for exploring Lewes. I will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Guest

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for your continued loyalty.We are in the process of changing all the televisions in all rooms.We are also looking at alternative new furnishings for the terrace we had not expected the early warm weather conditions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights - in the bathroom of our 'room', the bottom of toilet bowl was corroded with faeces, black hairs in bed, stinking grime round the taps, the ceiling crumbling and dilapidated, the tv was tiny,(we went cross-eyed trying to watch it,) no plug for the cheap kettle so had to unplug tv and the cord was so short, we had to boil the kettle on the floor. The 'food'? absolutely rank, a small block of fatty pork belly, everything cold, black cold lentils under a small lump of hard chicken. The menu,(limited) please beware- is the same every night, all pre -cooked(you know by the taste) and don't order the 'steak sandwich' in the bar, it was wafer thin, grey, rock hard and cold and the chef could not care less. The 'chef' was dressed in the dirtiest grimiest clothes I have ever seen, and his work station was covered in greasy slime stains on the walls and the containers. The spa? oh pleaseeee... it was tiny,a small hole at the side of the pool just room for 2 tiny people only, it was cold and the mosaic tiles round it were encrusted with gunge and we did not dare put our hands anywhere near it. and a big old plastic tree above was just 'odd'. I don't like dirty hotels or hotels that do not have good honest standards for their guests, whether it is in the rooms or the restaurant. Poor quality, poor hygiene, dirty bathrooms, poor service, this hotel is just poor. Beware.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnysmiler68060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive feedback,Legacy Hotels and Resorts Directors are under discussion with you in relation to your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We got an exceptional deal at this hotel - £30 for a room for two people including full english breakfast. Whilst the hotel was quite tiredand could benefit from an upgrade, we had a really nice time in this very interesting old building. The corridor to our room was at quite an angle! Surprisingly for a town centre inn, this hotel had a very nice swimming pool which we enjoyed - the changing facilities were quaint, but very clean. The room and bathroom, whilst old fashioned, were both clean and comfortable. We stayed in the main hotel, although there are some rooms in an annex. The breakfast was excellent and served in an interesting dining room and conservatory. Staff at all times were most pleasant and helpful and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kabu56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your comment in relation to your recent stay at the hotel.All feedback is valued,we do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Do not bother! Apart from the location and the breakfast everything was poor. The room was dirty, the dinner was alomst inedible and the customer service given by a certain employee was shocking. A big disappointment!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lottie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive feedback and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations.Please call me on 01273 476694 in order that we may discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.0 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#4 of 8 in Lewes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
2.3 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Lewes Town Centre
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 55 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legacy White Hart Hotel is an unusual 16th century coaching inn. The original Tudor building has been sympathetically extended to incorporate a good standard of facilities whilst retaining its wonderful historic character. The public rooms boast period features, original oak beams, stone Tudor fireplaces, oak paneling and creaking, sloping floors. Then step into our leisure facilities complete with heated swimming pool and fully equipped gym offering treadmills, weight benches, cross trainers and much more. The hotel is within close proximity of Brighton and Falmer and Eastbourne. The train station is a short stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Lewes
White Hart Hotel Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing