We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs total refurbishment”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Needs total refurbishment”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Staff try hard with a building that is way past it's prime. 14" TV's that don't work, showers that dribble intermittent hot water and beds that sag in the middle.

Shabby annex at the back smells bad.

On the positive side, character filled and centrally located. Most staff pretty upbeat for their situation and there is a small gym and pool.

It won't kill you to stay there, but you're unlikely to want to stay too many times.

Room Tip: Rooms on top are quietest (no floorboard noise) but showers are slowest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeilRV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent stay.We have a detaild plan in place for refurbishmant at the hotel and I am confident in time that should you wish to return to the hotel you will see the favourable changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    258
    214
    171
    241
See reviews for
134
423
43
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheddington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Our two night stay was unexpectedly good and is highly recommended. Before visiting we looked at the reviews and were rather concerned. We had prepared ourselves for the worst and was expecting very basic standard of accomodation. How wrong can you be!!

We were greeted on reception by extremely friendly, bubbly and welcoming staff. The communal areas of the hotel were full of period features including wooden panelled walls, large fireplaces and comfortable lounge areas.

We then went up the main staircase to our room, number 26, on the second floor and our 'step back in time' continued. Our room (with separate self contained bathroom) was beautiful - from the exposed beams to the sloping floor and squeaking floorboards we loved it all!!! The bathroom, although nicely tiled, was rather basic and could have benefitted from a towel rail. The shower was rather dated and lacked power however, the room was delightful and this is a very small price to pay in order to stay here and would certainly not deter us from coming back.

We ate in the main restaurant on our first evening and found the menu to be exceptional and the food superb - well presented and very tasty. The breakfast was average but quite adequate.

All the staff were polite, professional and extremely helpful.

If you want a light, bright, modern hotel with all mod coms then this is not the place for you. If you book to stay in a 16th century Coaching Inn then it is unreasonable to complain about sloping floors and squeaking floorboards!! This hotel is full of character and period features and yet still gives you good quality and service. Our review is based on our stay in the 'old part' of the hotel however there is a 'new wing' at the rear of the hotel and we cannot comment on this.

In addition, your stay entitles you to full use the attached leisure facilities and free parking.

The location is perfect for exploring both Lewes Castle and also the town generally. The pedestrianised shopping centre and antique shops are at the bottom of quite a steep hill which is fine going down but rather more demanding on your return!! Therfe is a regular bus service into Brighton etc and there is a stop almost outside the hotel.

An excellent period hotel which is highly recommended and one that we hope to visit again.



were delighted to see the immediately very impressed by the

Room Tip: Our double room, number 26, was in the 'old part' of the hotel and was full of characte - it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent stay,we hope that we can extend you a warm welcome on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

At £159 for 2 nights, with 3 course dinner on both nights, bottle of (very decent) house wine first night, and of course breakfast, this was really good value. That made up for a couple of shortcomings: tiny TV (14 inch CRT – from Freegle? – though management assured us they plan upgrade) and fiddling with antenna position to get a picture; steam room not available (what is it with steam rooms? that's two stays in a row); curiously sloping bedroom floor, with a very loose floorboard and one bed tilted to the right. Location is very central. Good sized pool, likewise the sauna (really hot!), though rather feeble hot tub. Dinner is "gastropub plus" rather than AA rosette standard, but good portions and hardly any supplements. Friendly staff – special commendation to dinner waitress Bernadetta, a real pro. Free wi-fi in the Harts lounge, easy to connect and fast. Small car park accessed through narrow passage, but we got a slot without bother. Would certainly recommend it at the price: with the included meals and wine, the room is virtualy free!

Room Tip: No lift in the main hotel, so ask for lower floor or annex in case of mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Guest

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay and the hotel,your comments will be discussed at our next meeting and a detail plan developed to enhance the product
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Had to book 2 rooms as no family room available, booked double and twin, arrived to 2 doubles, in the annexe which is very dated, peach bathroom suite and very small tv. Clean and satisfactory though. Had to remember to lock door with key otherwise security would be an issue. Hotel staff friendly, breakfast delicious. Kids used pool facilities and loved it.
Would definitely visit Lewes again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lem78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your constructive feedback perhaps you could call me on 01273 476694 to discuss your stay further
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

My wife and I stayed at the The Legacy White Hart Hotel, Lewes on the 25th and 26th April. The hotel is very well priced. The front of house the 'old tudor' part still has many of it's old features and is very cosy and welcoming, all the staff are very freindly.
Our room was in the extension to the rear of the main building. The room is adequate, but very tired, poor decor and broken fixtures and fittings. The television screen ia a bit larger than an ipad screen, very old and 'not working' we did get the porter to see if he could get it to work, the first thing he noted was that it had two controls! (it says that it does in the hotel information!) he went onto say..the owners Legacy wont put any money into the rooms..he was not kidding.
The television was reported to reception, but nothing was ever done about it..I spoke to the porter who told me 'good news' I wasn't the only one with a television that was not working!
The breakfast was excellent, allthough where you eat it, is an old run down conservatory, handles broken, paint flaking, wet patches, drafty and cold. the bottom carpark is full of rubbish! and the metal steps from the dirty sun terrace, are coroded and very steep, metal hand guards are lose and or missing, H&S issue in my opinion...You get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Keep to the main part of the hotel, a freind who was staying had a cracked window that could not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent stay,your comments are duly noted and will be addressed at our next meeting.The hotel does have its challenges and in time working with the owners the hotel can strive forward in the right direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I don't have unrealistic expectations from hotels. This is a relatively cheap hotel in lewes. It's position on the high street is excellent. It is clearly a faded hotel that has lacked attention for a few decades. However it is also lacking in cleanliness to an extreme. The glasses were dirty. There was dirt between the bathroom tiles. The best I can say is that the mirror was clean. The receptionist didn't have any idea of customer service.
If, like me, you are happy with relatively basic amenities as long as the bathroom, in particular, is clean, do not come here!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordonpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel.Your comments will be discussed with the relevant departments and corrective action taken to ensure no reoccurrance of the points that you addressed.I do hope that in time that you may consider the hotel on a future visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lewes hotels

Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This hotel advertises free car parking on the leaflet but there are about ten spaces for a much larger number of rooms and functions, not to mention the difficult experience getting in and out of the car park to discover this. Lewes can be busy for parking and finding a space can be challenging at busy times, and parking is chargeable in the daytime. Otherwise the hotel needs a serious upgrade in terms of the TVs, central heating system (I had the sound of running water all night), beds and furnishings, not to mention its customer service. It is a shame as the location is brilliant and the hotel has lots of interesting historic features.

Room Tip: Try to get on in the main building rather than in the sixties outbuildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your construtive comments following your recent visit to the hotel,the hotel does have its challenges however I am convinced with the team on board that we can strive forward with the White Hart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.0 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#4 of 8 in Lewes
799 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#3 of 8 in Lewes
379 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
241 reviews
6.2 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,189 reviews
7.9 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 55 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legacy White Hart Hotel is an unusual 16th century coaching inn. The original Tudor building has been sympathetically extended to incorporate a good standard of facilities whilst retaining its wonderful historic character. The public rooms boast period features, original oak beams, stone Tudor fireplaces, oak paneling and creaking, sloping floors. Then step into our leisure facilities complete with heated swimming pool and fully equipped gym offering treadmills, weight benches, cross trainers and much more. The hotel is within close proximity of Brighton and Falmer and Eastbourne. The train station is a short stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Lewes
White Hart Hotel Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing