We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“*Could* be great...”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Welwy
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“*Could* be great...”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The White Hart could be great, It has a great location and classic town inn building but is in desperate need of refurbishment. The room we stayed in was incredibly tired, probably fitted out in the 70s or early 80s. The windows were dirty, the carpets threadbare, the 14" portable TV couldn't pick up BBC channels and worst of all the mattress on the bed was lumpy with springs poking up.
Breakfast was better - nice sausages and ok service. But again the state of the room lets it down - scruffy and down at heal.
No one minds basic - at £64 for a twin with breakfast you don't expect frills but you do expect a decent bed and maybe a TV that works. It maybe low cost but its not good value.
I'd have given the comments directly to the hotel but no one asked me how my stay was, which says it all really.

Room Tip: Can only vouch for the bad quality of the rooms in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyjamesbeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    256
    211
    170
    232
See reviews for
131
415
43
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is our third stay at this hotel in six months, some areas of the hotel do require upgrading but all three rooms we have stayed in have been warm, clean, full of character and very comfortable. The breakfast is excellent, staff helpful and in general fantastic falue for money .

Room Tip: Original building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The White Hart looks lovely but the rooms at the back [dating from the 80s?] are pretty sad. The sound-proofing is very poor and the beds a bit grim. Who sleeps with scratchy blankets these days, and a single hard pillow?
The staff were great and the breakfast fine but the room was a rip-off. Don't stay here if you want a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lewes hotels

Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Firstly, this review is just the start. We feel this hotel, in our opinion, has falsely advertised/misrepresented itself and we will be taking things further. Secondly, speaking to other customers and after viewing their rooms, a high percentage of the accommodation on offer is sub-standard and outrageously over priced. We were not even put in the main hotel but in an annex at the back of the hotel, that in our opinion needs knocking down!
Here are a few of the problems we encountered at this hotel.
Door to the annex is damaged.
Door handle to the hotel room was loose.
Hotel room looks like its not been touched since the 1970's.
Dirty (would love to see the outcome of hygiene tests in the bathroom).
Shower was a trickle and absolutely useless.
Towels smelt and were stained.
Portable TV (probably from the 80's) had no signal and didn't work at all.

The room was a disgrace and is THE WORST hotel we have ever stayed in including hostels that charge £7 a night for better services. The reception staff were useless and on bringing all of the above to their attention they accepted that the rooms were sub-standard and they were aware of all these problems, but still felt justified in charging the full rate as advertised on the booking site for rooms that are displayed which were obviously not on offer to ourselves or other guests that ended up in the annex!

We can't comment on the food as after seeing our room we didn't even want to go to the restaurant - we couldn't wait to get out in the morning, and to be quite honest the only reason we stayed for the night is that we couldn't get a room in any other hotel, and believe me we tried!
A more detailed letter will be sent to the hotel with our full list of grievances and expectation of a full refund at the very least.
This is the first time we have written a a hotel review as we feel, in our opinion, the need to inform other people how bad this hotel really is.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 181Andrew1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive feedback and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations.Further to your feedback a full investigation has been carried out and remedial works actioned, the hotel is at present putting together a refurbishment programme which will see the negatives turn to posistives in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Once we had been round the block twice we eventually had found the car park which has limited spaces we booked in and found that we were in the Annex which was a dirty throw back from the 70's with its musty smell and and dirty carpet. The room felt dirty and the toilet didn't flush which meant going to main building!! Room was basic and bed wasn't great and staff weren't really interested with toilet complaint. Only plus side was breakfast which was really good.
Overall wouldn't recommend to anyone real big disappointment

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for your response your feedback is very valued, both positive and negative, and has been actioned upon already.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Having read a lot of reviews I was a bit unsure as a lone traveller. However I had a really good experience. The room was clean and comfortable,if a bit in need of updating. Staff were very helpful and the brakfast was excellent

Room Tip: Best rooms are in the main building but the annexe is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you very much for your comments,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We had a lovely room in the main Hotel - comfortable bed, very clean. Breakfast was the best we've ever had in any hotel it was really excellent and set us up for the day.

The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.

Room Tip: Stay in the main Hotel - really is a delightful old building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Many thanks for your comments.
we would be delighted for you to return for the third time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.0 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#4 of 8 in Lewes
784 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#3 of 8 in Lewes
374 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
238 reviews
6.2 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,173 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 44 in Brighton
2,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 55 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legacy White Hart Hotel is an unusual 16th century coaching inn. The original Tudor building has been sympathetically extended to incorporate a good standard of facilities whilst retaining its wonderful historic character. The public rooms boast period features, original oak beams, stone Tudor fireplaces, oak paneling and creaking, sloping floors. Then step into our leisure facilities complete with heated swimming pool and fully equipped gym offering treadmills, weight benches, cross trainers and much more. The hotel is within close proximity of Brighton and Falmer and Eastbourne. The train station is a short stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Lewes
White Hart Hotel Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing