We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Character”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Hailsham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Character”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

After a fortnight of worry because of other comments, we were pleasantly surprised by our room, yes a little dated but lovely and clean, enough room even though in the main building, characteristic wonky floors though out the corridors and rooms, make you feel drunk even if you
are not. Food for our function was plentiful hot fresh and very tasty, great service buy all staff encountered. One tip for the hotel is turn the heating down you will save a lot of money the room and corridors were really hot.
Purpose of trip was a Christmas Function.

Room Tip: Room 12 the right hand side of the building, quiet, cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for such a positive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed all the facilities provided and yes I agree we need to get the heating under control in this (so far) mild winter, the roaring log fires seem to be generating a lot of additional heat in the original building!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    255
    210
    168
    224
See reviews for
130
410
42
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Spent a very pleasant two nights at this hotel, the room was warm and comfortable. The building was fascinating and the stafff were very informative of the history of the hotel. I will be going back here in the new year and would recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
We appreciate your thoughtful comments and thank you for recommending the White Hart. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yeovil
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed here back in March 2013 and was suprised to find that our room was very different to the one displayed in the picture. We have a 60's style pink bathroom and a bed that creaked more than Dot Cotton. The main hotel and bar area were lovely with a open fire and good beer.

The breakfast was very good with a wide variety of options. the pool was alsio an additional plus.

You get what you pay for!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Since March many improvements have been made but we may still creak a bit (such is the age of the building)! Thank you for the positive comments and we continue to uphold and improve upon these standards. We hope to see you again,.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lewes hotels

Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed at the White Hart, with my parents, for my mother's 87th birthday. As previous reviewers have said, the main hotel is very nice, but we were allocated the annex, which left a lot to be desired. My mother is partially disabled, but the corridors were too narrow to accommodate a wheelchair, so she had to resort to walking, with our support. Our room was very dated and inadequate. Poor reception on TV, broken sink taps, that only delivered cold water, and a hand held shower. We had dinner in the main restaurant, where the standard of food was poor. There were side plates, but we were never offered rolls. We ordered wine, but it was just poured out, without an invitation to taste. The mushroom starter was so swamped with vinegar, it was inedible. The mussels were nice, but too many were served, that hadn't opened. The guinea fowl was over cooked and dry. The skin on the trout was not crisp and served with so much fennel, as to mask the trout. The ginger bread, served with the poached pear was stale. However the breakfast was excellent and one of the best I've ever experienced. What was really annoying was that every time I ordered a round of drinks, to be charged to my room, someone would appear at my shoulder and ask me to sign a chitty. It would have been better just to ask me to sign for the lot, at the end of the evening. There are much improvements needed. Update the annex rooms, get a chef, who knows how food should be cooked and retrain staff in the art of waiting at table.

Room Tip: Don't accept the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
We are amazed at this review. Having checked with my staff they were surprised at such poor comments. They have assured me that several checks were made throughout the stay and all replies seemed positive at the time and on check out.

I do acknowledge that there is some training to be done in the restaurant, changes to the menu and style of service is underway, but I do believe that fundamentally the restaurant offers very good value for money as many of our reviews show. I am sorry you were disappointed, it's a shame that the little touches made by the staff to ensure your mother's birthday was enjoyable have not been mentioned and that at no time during your stay were we made aware of your dissatisfaction when we could have done something about it.

Thank you however for staying with us and I hope that you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Although not staying in the hotel we had an excellent lunch experience today, our first meal there since the new Manager took over. Staff were polite and friendly despite our arriving half an hour earlier than our booked time. The restaurant is south-facing, clean and comfortable, with wonderful views over the South Downs. The menu offered a good range of choice. We chose a well-flavoured celeriac and Stilton soup, served piping hot with a wholewheat roll and butter to start. Our main courses (confit duck leg and braised lamb) were both tender and were well presented, with delicate fondant potato, spinach or kale, and a root vegetable mash. The accompanying jus was again well-flavoured and everything hot. Very acceptable wine list including some good, reasonably-priced wines by the glass, and a piping hot cafetiere of good coffee and truffles to finish. The prices were very fair, especially considering the central location of this historic hotel. Based on this experience we thoroughly recommend the White Hart Hotel Restaurant and will certainly be returning - perhaps for dinner next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverband15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you! It is so rewarding when local people acknowledge that change is afoot. The staff are greatly encouraged by such comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is not my first review of the White Hart, my wife and I are serial visitors here, some might say gluttens for punishment, but having read so many harsh reviews, I would like to put the record straight, we are realistic about what should be expected, and in any case, for us, putting aside all the obvious defects, and neglect, the place does have some charm, the staff we have actually found on the whole friendly and helpful, and it is situated in a marvelous part of Lewes, a lovely little Town, and a 3 minute walk to the train station, there is parking if required, quite simply, if we wanted 5 star luxury then we wouldnt be coming here!

Our most recent stay was from a Friday night for three nights, the first two nights were part of a deal that gave us dinner on the first night, and cooked breakfast for both mornings, we tagged an extra day on and a part of that deal was cream tea in the afternoon and a bottle of wine, we payed a very reasonable amount for all this, and the food here is more than acceptable.

The view across the Downs is lovely when having your food, in the Summer you can sit outside and take it in with a drink, it has facilities, swimming pool, sauna and steam room, ok, it needs modernising, but is still a pleasant way to spend an hour, and it easy perfectly placed in the Town, and easy to take a bus into Brighton that only takes 25 mins.

Our room this time was actually the best we have stayed in in all our visits, so perhaps the owners are gradually sprucing the place up, so we had another very enjoyable break.

For all those that moan about the place, seriously, read the reviews, and then don't bother coming, if you have unrealistic expectations then yes, you will go away dissapointed, be realistic, look for the plus points, and consider how much you pay, then perhaps you will enjoy your stay.

We have witnessed staff taking all sorts of unwarrented abuse over the years, very little of it justified, some have commented about the staff's attitude, but I am a firm believer that if you treat people decently, then they in turn will treat you the same!

We shall certainly continue to come here, it would be nice to see some continued improvements being made, but we are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Main building is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you so much for your support, The White Hart certainly has character and I am delighted that you have taken such a measured view of the hotel and its facilities. Yes, there is work to be done and we are working hard to improve the facilities, modernising where possible. Your remarks about the staff and their attitude is so encouraging, a great boost to morale. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Though the historic White Hart has received many poor reviews, it holds three secrets that are worth revealing!

The first is not the appalling state of parts of the building - especially the conservatory, pool & gym - which are sorely in need of reconstruction. Neither is it the interior decor in the public rooms, all of which need complete refurbishment. Nor yet is it the squeakiest floorboards I've ever heard in the older bedrooms. Nor even the mattress like a hammock on which we tried to sleep!

The first secret is the helpful, hardworking and friendly staff who went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable & enjoyable as possible.

The second secret is the value for money. Though the food is by no means Michelin starred, the room, breakfast & evening meal rate was very reasonable.

The third secret is that Lewes has the best Firework Night torchlight parade in the UK and the White Hart is bang in the middle of it all. Situated on the High Street it is the ideal place to stay on November 5th. With our friends we have done this two years running and would be delighted to return any time.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank NicPhillipsTVuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
I enjoyed reading your review, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again next year. Bonfire night is certainly a memorable night in the town but there are many other facets to Lewes worth exploring at other times of the year.

Your comments regarding the hotel have been taken seriously and we are moving along to realise its full potential. The staff here do a great job and are very supportive as we make changes and I am delighted that their efforts have been recognised by our guests.

Your support is much appreciated, I look forward to welcoming you again in 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.0 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
768 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#4 of 8 in Lewes
368 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
234 reviews
6.2 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,161 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 55 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legacy White Hart Hotel is an unusual 16th century coaching inn. The original Tudor building has been sympathetically extended to incorporate a good standard of facilities whilst retaining its wonderful historic character. The public rooms boast period features, original oak beams, stone Tudor fireplaces, oak paneling and creaking, sloping floors. Then step into our leisure facilities complete with heated swimming pool and fully equipped gym offering treadmills, weight benches, cross trainers and much more. The hotel is within close proximity of Brighton and Falmer and Eastbourne. The train station is a short stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Lewes
White Hart Hotel Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing