We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Horse Hotel(Rottingdean)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horsted Place(Little Horsted)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Sussex National(Little Horsted)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bull(Ditchling)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,019)
Filter reviews
1,019 results
Traveller rating
83
273
224
182
257
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
273
224
182
257
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgroupon dealleisure facilitiessauna and steam roomhistoric hotelsloping floorscourse dinnerlots of characterfour poster bedfull english breakfastsouth downsbeamsfires
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
544 - 549 of 1,019 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for work reasons for 3 nights. Stayed in the annex. As you walk in there is an awful stale smell. Room was in need of a lick of paint and to be honest a refurb. The towels provided were like hand towels. Shower was just a trickle. Walls were so thin you could hear everything. But the worse thing I woke up covered in bites. Not pleased at all. The staff were nice but I would never recommend this hotel. How they are still open is beyond me.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Bupsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAC380, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

I am really sorry that your stay was not the pleasant experience it should have been, your comments have been noted and we will continue to make improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We are sitting here in the lovely, sunny terrace room, enjoying what must be said is probably one of the best hotels breakfasts we have ever had....can't remember the last time I saw proper scrambled egg on a breakfast buffet..or indeed perfectly cooked New potatoes.!
We had a wonderful sleep in a magnificent room, (26) although if anyone was underneath us, they may not have , as the old floorboards were appropriately squeaky. Room and bathroom were very clean and tidy, in fact most of the hotels public spaces were.
Dinner last night was superb...better then some restraunts I have been to, compliments to the chief.
All in all a great hotel, that you can visually see is trying to improve its image, very friendly staff and no complaints from us.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJones72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAC380, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our terrace. Your positive comments are very encouraging to us all. I hope you will be able to return. Thank you for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Unfortunately due to car problems we weren't able to take advantage of everything on offer Pulling into the car park it was lucky we had a very small courtesy car which we squeezed into the last space - it's quite tight in there. I assume there's on-street parking nearby as it's a high street location. We were greeted on arrival by a friendly staff member who offered us a continental breakfast when we told him we'd have to leave too early the next day to have the full breakfast. This was a really nice surprise. Room (no. 12 in the main building) was very clean with good complimentary toiletries & tea/coffee facilities. The bath was a bit tired and had no shower curtain, not a problem for us as we were going straight out and leaving early the next day. Rest of the bathroom was fine. We went out almost immediately to a local event so didn't spend long in the room - it didn't have much of an outlook but in our case it didn't matter. It was hot on arrival despite the heating being turned right down, but returning later it wasn't a problem and didn't affect our sleep. Floor was sloping and quite creaky, I'm guessing no guest room below or the occupants would have been disturbed by us walking about. Good night's sleep, up for our continental breakfast by 6am, again the staff we met were charming and nothing too much trouble. Overall we were impressed with The White Hart and would have no hesitation in revisiting. It was well located for us and had time permitted I would have enjoyed a stroll around Lewes which was on the doorstep. The new management are trying very hard to improve on previous problems, some of which, such as the condition of the building, will take longer to sort out than others. Staff were pleasant and always helpful and I'm just a bit miffed that due to unforseen circumstances of our own we missed out on the hot food which has been praised in recent reviews. We only glimpsed the spa and pool area but there were plenty of people enjoying them. Public areas such as bars/lounges looked appealing - again we didn't have time to try these out but that's just something to look forward to another time, especially the outside terrace with the lovely view.

Room Tip: If staying more than one night probably worth requesting a nice view and a room in the main building on an upper floor (to avoid being under a creaky floor)
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musette_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAC380, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble to write even after such a short stay. I was particularly pleased to note that you were impressed with the attitude of the staff and I hope that you will be able to enjoy a longer visit to the town which certainly deserved more time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

After reading the reviews on the Whitehart Hotel we were a bit concerned about what we may of found but our experience of this hotel was a great one.Our room was very nice and quirky (room 26) with beams etc but the bad experiences seem to be about the anexso stay in main building. The Staff very helpful and the food very good especially the breakfast. Only bad mark was mattress on bed not very comfortable got seasick lol!All in all we had a very good stay well done to whitehart.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAC380, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you - all very encouraging and we are pleased that you enjoyed your experience of the White Hart. We'll look at that mattress!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We have just returned from the White Hart having stayed the night on a groupon deal. Like some others, we thought that given the amazing price, we may have been palmed off with the worst room etc, however, nothing could be further from the truth. We were even given an extra hour before check out because we were on the deal. Contrary to previous reviewers, we found the staff to be helpful, polite and friendly without exception. Our room (no 26!) was in the main building and was very spacious, comfortable and full of character and quirkiness. Because the bathroom was along a corridor within the room, it felt more like a suite. The bed was very comfy and we had no noise disturbance at all. It was one of the nicest rooms we have ever stayed in. Like others, we did find the room incredibly hot on arrival, but we just turned the radiator off and opened the windows and it soon cooled down to a level we found comfortable. The restaurant was very pretty with lots of character and the food was really good. The service was fast, efficient and friendly. The meal alone was worth what we paid for the whole experience. The breakfast was similarly good, in fact better than any hotel breakfast we have had elsewhere. Hot, fresh and plentiful. We used the spa facilities this morning and were the only ones in there. Very relaxing. The only reason we haven't given this an "excellent" rating is because the pool area is a little tired but even so, this didn't detract from out stay at all. We would definitely visit again. From the previous reviews I've seen, I would say the manager, Graeme, has made magnificent efforts to improve standards which have really paid off. Thanks to all at the White Hart for a really lovely stay.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel at the end of a corridor so no passing footfall or High Street noise. Room 26 rocks:)
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAC380, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you very much we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The staff are greatly encouraged by your comments, they do try hard. We are working away at some of the inevitable maintenance issues in such an old and (as others have described it) quirky building.

Once again, thank you for being so positive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews