We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My boyfriend and me were sleeping in this hotel on Good Friday (18th-19th April 2014), with dinner and breakfast included.

This hotel is in a good location (Lewes town center) but the rest of the things are really average and sometimes poor. The "spa area" is not really clean and the water in the swimming pool doesn't smell really good. The hotel is really old and need a lot of repairs.

Our dinner wasn't really good. We waited a lot and the food was insufficient, and didn't taste really good. The breakfast was poor. But the worst thing was that my boyfriend found in the dinner and also in the breakfast hair in his plate. It was a little bit disgusting.

Room Tip: Choose other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    255
    210
    168
    224
See reviews for
130
410
42
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The only positive to the White Hart is the General Manager who was as helpful as the state of the place and the staff allowed him to be and the location in the town. It is a well located historic building in Lewes which is quite pretty, but a terrible lack of maintenance, cleanliness and general ambience make this a tragic has been. It needs to close down and have a sympathetic restoration removing all the bad decor, furniture, wiring and old fixtures, to make this anything worth visiting. Such a shame as the bar and front lounge have great potential with oak panelling and stone fireplaces, but everywhere is tired, drab and dirty.

Our room was a horrific throwback to the worst of the 70s or 80s, the louvre doors on the cupboards, bad light fittings, dodgy electrics and most uncomfortable bed just made it worse. The bathroom was tiny, dingy and grubby with a broken tap and towels the size of postage stamps and about as thin.

The dining area was OK, if a little dated and the food was edible at dinner, although the hot breakfast had lots of grease and all covered in a skin from the headlamps on the buffet.

Everywhere is hopeless if you have any mobility issues and the rooms in the annexe which are supposed to be more accessible are accessed via the sloping car park and no lighting around the door of the annexe at night. The car park s very very tight with limited spaces.

Appalling.

Room Tip: None of them! Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jben40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
We acknowledge your comments and I would like to offer a personal thank you for your support. I am sorry that it has taken so long to respond. We are continually working towards higher standards and our recently appointed chef is doing a great job to invigorate the menu. Refurbishment is always being considered and we are trying hard to find ways of sympathetically re-decorating certain areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lewes hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

i checked in at 5pm and was told that my kids could only use the pool for an hour. we rushed to the pool and there i was told that i had to either got in the pool or sit right next to it (only one chair - occupied)
the food in the restaurant was so awful we could not eat it. and the state of the kitchen looked dangerous
when we went to the room it was ok but the double bed sagged and the heating was on so high it was uncomfortable (radiator level could not be changed)
at 9.45 - we were all in bed trying to sleep when the mind numbingly loud fire alarm went off (there was no fire - just a fault with the alarm)
i checked out and went in search of a better hotel - i asked for a refund which they said they would give me - a week later - still nothing.

Room Tip: try any other hotel or B&B in Lewes (except the Crown)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tgotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
I am sorry that this has taken so long to post a response but in the meantime the writer of the review will acknowledge that we have corresponded since his stay and rectified matters. Incidentally the alarm was accidentally set off by a youngster. Annoying I know, but surely better safe than sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I too was a little worries based on the reviews but we had a lovely stay. Our room was in the Annex, a large room with a big bed, the matress was very soft which was lovely apart from we sort of sunk into each other in the middle, but more cuddles i guess! We had a Groupon deal so got a 3 course meal, the food was nice, pretty standard pub food, we also got breakfast included which was very nice. We didnt use the spa facilities but they looked lovely, i wish we had. The hotel is a little tired but is old so it didnt bother us, it was very clean and in our room we got body wash, shampoo, bath salts and moisturiser. Lovely little touches.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondey_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the services provided and I am sorry that it has taken so long to acknowledge your support. Thank you for taking the trouble to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had read all the reviews and were a little bit worried about staying at the hotel particularly as we had room in the annex! Are room was very clean and large. We had a lovely time, yes the hotel needs some refurbishment but for the price (we stayed two nights with a groupon deal) it is amazing. The food was outstanding, we had a 3 course meal which was top quality and the breakfast you could not falter. I would 100% go back to this hotel it is in an ideal place, we got the train into Brighton which took 15 mins. Please ignore the bad reviews, don't let it put you off staying. Very well done to the management and staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colletten2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
We really appreciate your review and support for the hotel. I am only sorry that it has taken so long to reply. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

A one night break spent at this lovely olde worlde hotel in Lewes. Would thoroughly recommend. Although slightly tired looking in places our rooms and the communal areas we spent time in were very clean. Frances went way above anything I have experienced even in the most expensive London Hotels in making our stay special. The food was excellent and plentiful. The rest of the staff polite and friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for such a nice review, and for mentioning Frances. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tenterden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Having read previous reviews I was a bit concerned. Yes the lovely old building is tired and tatty in places, but the food, drink, and service and general care, especially from the manager make this a charming place to see Lewes with it's castle, and great range of individual shops.
We were on a Groupon Break - how they do it for the money I don't know. I think they should charge more to be in a position to start re-investing in the fabric of the building.
Our room was smallish, but very comfortable, clean and everything worked, with a great view of the Sussex downs. Breakfast was particulally good - great sausages. Dinner from the table d'hote menu would have been great value @ £22.00 but was included in the groupon rate.
I very much hope the Hotel goes from strength to strength, and charges enough to get it back into physical shape to compete with modern country house stayle hotels

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main hotel building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAC380, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for you support, I am sorry that it has taken so long to respond. We appreciate your comments and look forward top welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.0 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
768 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#4 of 8 in Lewes
368 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
234 reviews
6.2 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,162 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 55 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legacy White Hart Hotel is an unusual 16th century coaching inn. The original Tudor building has been sympathetically extended to incorporate a good standard of facilities whilst retaining its wonderful historic character. The public rooms boast period features, original oak beams, stone Tudor fireplaces, oak paneling and creaking, sloping floors. Then step into our leisure facilities complete with heated swimming pool and fully equipped gym offering treadmills, weight benches, cross trainers and much more. The hotel is within close proximity of Brighton and Falmer and Eastbourne. The train station is a short stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Lewes
White Hart Hotel Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing