We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Horse Hotel(Rottingdean)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horsted Place(Little Horsted)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Sussex National(Little Horsted)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bull(Ditchling)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,019)
Filter reviews
1,019 results
Traveller rating
83
273
224
182
257
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
273
224
182
257
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgroupon dealleisure facilitiessauna and steam roomhistoric hotelsloping floorscourse dinnerlots of characterfour poster bedfull english breakfastsouth downsbeamsfires
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
479 - 484 of 1,019 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This old atmospheric hotel is a gem... know what you are walking into.
If you want mod cons, boring decor and faceless staff this place is not for you.
If you want a slice of history, Tudor beams and friendly helpful staff then this is the place for you.
Yes, it is still undergoing change.. but for the better. Have a chat with Graham the manager, chat with Tom in the bar.. get a feel for the place.
I had my wedding reception n the county suite and it was a fabulous afternoon / evening.
Me and my husband went back on Sunday just passed 03/08/14 and were greeted warmly by Graham and Tom in the Tudor Bar and the hospitality was lovely.
Give this hotel a chance, book a room in the main hotel, a fabulous old building.
Avoid the annexe whilst it undergoes a spruce up.
If you want history, friendly staff, great food, drinks, a fab view, and an amazing location on Lewes High Street then book now.

Room Tip: Book in the main hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tudorgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAC380, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you very much for this review and your appreciation of what the hotel can offer, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My colleague and I stayed here for 2 nights whilst working at a conference. We booked it because other conference exhibitors were staying there. It wasnt until the morning that we set out for our stay did we look at the reviews, which, i must say were mainly pretty scathing, so as you can imagine, we braced ourselves! BUT when we arrived what a pleasant surprise! Yes its very tired, could do with a revamp, but its spotlessly clean, the staff definately made it for me, all lovely! It was a very very very old coaching house so lovely little bits of uneven floor character, obviously no air conditioning! Bedrooms and bathrooms although dated, clean clean clean! Lets face it folks its not as if you' ve paid £200 a night here! Breakfasts well cooked, plentyfull, great service, they have a lush pool in a seperate bit! So! It might not be the height of luxury BUT, clean, welcoming and friendly? Definately!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodney19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAC380, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for a great review and I am especially pleased that you felt that we offer good value for money. We really appreciate your comments and hope that you will return for a non-business visit! Lewes has a lot to offer.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

As a party of four visiting Lewes for the day...we shopped and then stopped for lunch in the high street. The White Hart Manager greeted and directed us through to the garden terrace. Splendid views of the South Downs were a great surprise and added bonus! This was Saturday 26/7/14. The sun shone and we ordered a chilled bottle of white wine followed by a superb lunch of varying choices all of which we're delicious and great value! Thank you to very polite and pleasant staff for a thoroughly enjoyable experience! Great location!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bubblecar05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAC380, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

What a great review, thank you. Our terrace is one of the hidden treats of Lewes and as I commented to a previous reviewer our new chef is delighted that you have enjoyed his cuisine. Thank you very much for your comments - a great boost for us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have just returned from a most enjoyable overnight stay. Having read previous reviews we weren't expecting much and so were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Yes, it's old. Yes, it needs some refurbishment but it's interesting, quirky and of a decent standard for the money (£105 per room including breakfast). Our room on the third floor was a good size and although I haven't seen a pastel pink bathroom suite for many years, it was very clean with sparkling white towels and a good supply of toiletries. The bedroom was hot and as there is no air conditioning, we tried opening the sash window but it refused to stay open. Still we were able to wedge a book into the opening and with an hotel dating back to the 1700s you can expect some shortcomings. We liked the oak panelling in the public rooms, the numerous oil paintings and the broad wooden staircase.
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice. It managed to avoid the rubbery eggs with solid yolks, the flaccid, greasy bacon and the dried out sausages which you usually get with a buffet breakfast. This was almost as good as a freshly cooked one.
We also had a light lunch at the hotel and that was very good value- a smoked trout salad for £8.50 and a sandwich with side salad for £4.50.
The hotel is centrally placed in Lewes and with a car park.
Perhaps we were lucky being in the main building but don't be put off by the bad reviews. Do give it a try. If, however, you want something pristine but characterless there are numerous modern chain hotels which would suit you better.

Room Tip: Our room (Room 21) was facing the road although on third floor. With the window open there was some traffic noise but it was tolerable. Might be better to be at the back of the main building?
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Annebailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAC380, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you very much, we are all pleased with your review and to know that you appreciated the hospitality here. We too believe that our breakfast is excellent and our new chef is delighted with your comments.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Booked it because of location and advertised amenities. The original building is quaint and full of character but the rear annex building is circa 1985 and does not appear to have been decorated since then. The room had a very musty odour and the fixtures and fittings were all very dated and shabby. The staff had taken a lot of time cleaning but there's only so much you can do with poor decoration. We asked to see another room but it was just as dissapointing so we decided to move on. The staff were very pleasant and accommodating and agreed a no quibble refund. With an investment in refurbishment this hotel could be outstanding, but at present falls well short of the competition. A shame.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swamprat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAC380, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

I am sorry that you were disappointed, I appreciate your comments, there is work to be done with some of our rooms, but I am pleased to know that you were impressed with the cleanliness which has not always been appreciated by other reviewers! The Housekeeping team do a good job! Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews