We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Hart Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Reviewed 2 January 2007

Despite being somewhat concerned by some of the reviews of the hotel,a party of ten of us booked a two night new year's break from which we have just returned.
Perhaps the building can best be described as a little "tired" but the rooms had all the facilities that we needed and the beds were very comfortable.
The standard of food was in our opinion above average for this grade of hotel and a very pleasant surprise was the very reasonable prices in the adequate wine list.
We made good use of the leisure facilities which were of a high standard and clean.
The real plus factor was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and we have not come across better.
Apart from a few minor problems (and they were minor), would we recommend the hotel to others?-yes, would we go back again?-most definately!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank krispat07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,003)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

973 - 979 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2007

We have just returned from a New Year break at the White Hart. We had already booked the trip before we read the reviews and therefore decided to expect the worst. However it was nowhere near as bad as some have made out. For the money we paid it was good value. Our room was in the annexe on the lower floor but we had little disturbance during our stay. The pool and leisure complex were clean and everything worked.
All the staff were helpful and friendly especially all the waiting staff for meals. They were all still up working hard at 1.30am New Years Night and were there with breakfast all set out and smiling at 8.30 and looking a lot happier than a lot of the guests !!! The carvery on our first night was excellent but our New Years Eve Gala meal was a little dissapointing but it was mass catering and we have come to expect that at this time of year. The Harveys beer was a treat and the breakfast was ample and again acceptable for the price paid. The whole hotel just needs a bit of a tidy up all round and a little bit of basic investment and it could become a very good hotel.
Overall I believe we had good value for money, if you want more you have to pay more in this country.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SalsaKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2006

Our family have been staying at the White Hart each spring for seven years, and we love it. It may not be super-swish, but it has a character, friendliness and sense of History which is missing in many far smarter places. We do prefer the spacious rooms in the annexe - opening the doors and listening to the birds which fill the trees outside on an evening in early summer is delightful, as is eating in the conservatory, overlooking the magnificent views of the Downs. We love to abandon the car in the car park, take the bus from right by the hotel to Brighton, shop till we drop, then come back and luxuriate in the pool before getting ready for dinner, followed by a lovely walk in the town. We have always found it perfectly clean, and the staff are so nice. The entry to the car park is a bit grim, but the back of the kitchens are pretty terrible at any hotel- in a modern one they're hidden - History dictates the old coaching inn arrangements here. This is Old England at its most characterful - if you want a modern box don't go for historical.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Givevra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2006

One of those hotels that is in a lovely area and looks great from the outside. The bar and reception area is bursting with character. Get past the reception and you are challenged.

I had to borrow shampoo from one of the members of staff, there were no toiletries at all. The beds were not good, I asked for a non smoking room but the whole place reeked of smoke. Shabby curtains, uneven floor, and generally hideous atmosphere that could not be softened by the 'historic' character of the room.

Staff were dreadful. I was told to wait to be called for the carvery menu as they were not quite ready for people to enter. I patiently sat in the area just before the restaurant watching various people enter the restaurant. The staff had completely forgotten about me and I was waiting for over 1/2 hour. I presented myself again and managed to get a table. Carvery food was average and (to top it all...) I was asked to move table because a ghastly pre-booked larger group had presented themselves and they wanted to merge tables. I did not make a fuss in order not to fluster the foreign staff but the whole experience was embarassing.

I had a brief business meeting in the morning in the reception with a work colleague and the process of getting 2 coffees was almost traumatic. Standards of service needs to be embedded, I felt guilty about asking for basic things.

I would not rate this hotel at all, but hope visitors can be compensated by the lovely town of Lewes and it's history.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank WindJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2006

When my friend said she had booked this hotel for a one night stay and I read the reviews on line, I was horrified.
However we found it lovely.
The staff are lovely, the accommodation is more than adequate. Excellent beds, bathroom a bit dated but my friends had been refurbished and it was all spotlessly clean.
The public rooms are as expected,very olde worldy with lovely big roaring fires.
The carvery was excellent and very reasonable.
The included breakfast was also excellent and served in the very pleasant conservatory.
Lewes is a lovely pleasant and unusual town to stroll through and there are lots of lovely comfy, homely pubs to stop at. There are also lots of places to eat and lots of shops to browse in.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank twodogslynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2006

We had our reception in the Conservatory and were very pleased with the excellent treatment we all received and with the quality and presentation of the buffet. The staff were very professional, polite and friendly. The whole event was well organised from start to finish and we were made to feel very special. We also booked 5 rooms for ourselves and guests. Despite previous reviews on this site, we were all very satisfied with the standard of the rooms. This is a lovely old hotel and the decoration reflects the period it was built in. We had to check out very early and the staff laid on a special breakfast just for us. We also used the leisure facilities and were suitably impressed. We would definitely recommend this hotel for a special occasion or even just a quiet weekend.

Stayed: September 2006
1  Thank zpqblfqxqx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2006

Spent one night here on business trip. The lobby area is OK, and the reception staff fvriendly. The hotel has masses of character as would be expected from a buiding of it's age, but it desperately needs updating. The carpets are dirty, and the bedrooms are dark which isn't helped by a lack of lights and dark, heavy curtains. The bathroom was large and clean, but the showere old fashioned and took ages to set to the right temperature. I didn't eat in the restaraunt, but in the evening there was a distinct smell in the lobby from the carvery which wasn't pleasant. The hot food at the breakfast buffet appeared to have been there some time and wasn't particularly appetising. The conservatory extension at the back of the restaraunr was, however nice and light and a pleasant place to start the day. Didn't get achance to see the leisure facilities, but the bar was pleasant and the beer good.
It's a shane that the hotel has so much potential but urgently needs cleaning up and bringing up to date whilst keeping it's old character

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank stevecosslett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0 mi away
Pelham House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#2 of 7 in Lewes
407 reviews
2.3 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 7 in Lewes
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
176 reviews
6.2 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,293 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Address: 55 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range: £54 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel is an unusual 16th-century coaching inn. The original Tudor building has been sympathetically extended to incorporate a good standard of facilities whilst retaining its wonderful historic character. The public rooms boast period features, original oak beams, stone Tudor fireplaces, oak paneling and creaking, sloping floors. Then step into our leisure facilities complete with heated swimming pool and fully equipped gym offering treadmills, weight benches, cross trainers and much more. The hotel is within close proximity of Brighton and Falmer and Eastbourne. The train station is a short stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Lewes
The White Hart Hotel Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing