We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful wedding venue with attentive, friendly staff.”
Review of The Shelleys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Shelleys
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We got married at The Shelleys on 9th April and could not have had a more perfect weekend. The hotel is lovely and perfect for exclusive use. We had our ceremony outside in the garden and a BBQ the following day and were blessed with glorious weather. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and the whole weekend was very relaxed. Our guests commented on what a great venue it was. The hotel still needs a bit of money spent on it to justify the room costs and yes, coffee facilities in the rooms would be good. The food for our wedding breakfast was excellent as was the breakfast and bbq. The hotel is under new ownership and I hope they manage to make positive enhancements whilst at the same time retaining the overall charm of this wonderful hotel. I would not have changed a thing about my day and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tashywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2011

We stayed in a superior double - beautifully decorated but what about complimentary tea and coffee facilities in the room? Might be explained by the comment I overheard from the duty manager to the receptionist to stop charging for sewing kits and shower caps if asked (I can not believe a hotel of the supposed standard of this one would EVER charge for a small hotel sewing kit or a SHOWER CAP fgs) but "we won't leave them in the room cus everyone will nick them" - you are charging £165 per night for a double room in LEWES, I think you could provide sewing kits, shower caps and tea and coffee without being asked!

Very chatty receptionist - so chatty to us, other guests, other members of staff, etc etc that sitting quietly in the lounge relaxing was impossible. Congratulations to her grandson's football team but we really didn't need to hear her recount his success in detail individually to EVERY single other member of staff on duty at high volume! Also not desperately professional to also discuss an unsuccessful interviewee also in public at high volume. Reliable WIFI as advertised would be nice too, coverage in the hotel was very patchy - hence sitting in the lounge to get internet access.

I can't comment on the restaurant in the evening as we didn't eat there but breakfast was lovely with good, polite, efficient service.

All in all, a nice hotel (if you get discount!) but the management/reception staff need to remember what level of hotel experience they are aiming to provide, how much they are therefore charging and provide appropriate professional service to that level.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GloriaMumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Stayed two nights the staff couldn't do enough for you. Recommend it to anyone one.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidayboy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We stayed at The Shelley's for one night as part of the groupon deal.
I was a little apprehensive as I was worried they would treat us differently because we had a voucher instead of paying in full, but my boyfriend and I had a wonderful time!
The staff were very courteous at check-in and offered us tea and coffee. Our room was fabulous, with a large comfortable bed, with views from the front of the house and the garden. The bath room was large with a fantastic power shower, with lovely soaps and even a bathrobe.
We had dinner in the restaurant too and the food was great. The room we ate in was quiet and romantic and quite beautiful.
The breakfast the next morning was even better :)

Even without the voucher it would have been great value for money.
I really enjoyed my stay here and we really want to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emiushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

My partner and I have just returned from The Shelleys after having a weekend in Lewes visiting friends. It is a beautiful hotel, the ambience is so relaxing and welcoming. The service was excellent, the food in the Apostrophe restaurant was delicious and the room was clean, tidy and amazing value. The bed and the pillows-to die for! I am a light sleeper and never truly sleep well anywhere other than my own bed, however the beds were so comfortable. Overall, highly recommended, I would love to live near Lewes and have a wedding there! 5 stars from us.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sangria2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

I have stayed at other hotels in Lewes and been thoroughly disappointed. So I asked to be booked somewhere else for my latest trip and was delighted by the people in this hotel.

Everyone was so helpful, nothing was too much trouble, the rooms were clean, well fitted and had more than just the basic TV channels.

Although I ate out with colleagues in the evening , I thoroughly recommend the breakfast and guess that dinner would have been just as enjoyable.

The sort of place I would love to come back to with my wife for a week-end.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 89,222,704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Finally got to stay in this amazing Hotel. Absolutely faultless. Superb room, wonderful food and a delicious breakfast. Perfect start to the New Year. Will definately stay again - hopefully sooner than later. So much to see in Lewes - well worth a trip.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.3 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
850 reviews
2.1 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
256 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#27 of 43 in Brighton
594 reviews
8.3 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hove
513 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#32 of 43 in Brighton
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelleys

Address: 135 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range: £84 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shelleys 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step off the historic High Street in the beautiful county town of Lewes and into the peaceful tranquility of The Shelleys; an elegantly sublime 17th Century, family-run, country house hotel. The Shelleys offers discreet service, with high standards, within a uniquely calm ambience, with friendly staff who anticipate your every need. With nineteen luxury boutique rooms, all en-suite, each designed and decorated to reflect our Georgian origins and fitted with a television and Wi-Fi access; The Shelleys perfectly combines English tradition with contemporary luxury. Dating back to 1588, The Shelleys is a grade II* listed property – falling into the 4% bracket viewed as a “particularly important building of more than special interest” by English Heritage… Located close to Brighton and Eastbourne, this East Sussex hotel is the perfect venue for a change of scene. Whether it’s a weekend of rest and relaxation, a romantic break, or a base from which to explore the surrounding historical town and South Downs, you’ll find your every need is anticipated at The Shelleys. The a la carte lunch and dinner menu is available in the stylish award-winning Apostrophe Restaurant or on the brick-paved terrace overlooking our beautiful gardens. Morning Coffee & Afternoon Tea, Drinks and Bar Lunches are also available throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The Shelleys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Hotel Shelleys
The Shelleys Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing