We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful old hotel with very high standards of service”
Review of The Shelleys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Shelleys
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful old hotel with very high standards of service”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

The Shelleys is a very old, elegant hotel, conveniently situated near the top of cobbled Keere Street, yet quiet and so relaxing. There is a genuinely warm welcome from the moment you enter, nothing is too much trouble. I’ve visited for both business and leisure (including a really lovely wedding) and am always impressed by the high level of comfort and friendly service. Rooms are luxuriously furnished, appropriate to the period, with homely touches, and the beds have lovely deep mattresses. The food, served in the pretty dining room overlooking the garden, is delicious. There are plenty of cosy chairs scattered about where you can relax with a book and pot of tea. The building itself is very old and quirky, with heaps of historic interest. It really is a very special hotel, oozing class and friendliness, & I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms at the back which overlook the pretty gardens & have lovely countryside views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairyfootsteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Thank you for such an uplifting review. We are proud of being the current custodians of The Shelleys which is steeped in much history and we hope as many good memories for our guests

Hopefully we can welcome you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    99
    62
    35
    27
See reviews for
42
201
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, lovely room & facilities. Restaurant service a bit hit & miss with old & current dinner menus handed out each with differing dishes. Food not too bad but not wonderful, Sunday breakfast far superior to Saturday's, different chef I guess.
With friends who had booked a travelzoo deal which we couldn't get, we ended up on a valentines package for the first night but the second night was charged at a rate far higher than the most expensive rate currently shown on their web site, it was as quoted to us so we should have paid closer attention. Mix up on drinks charges on final bill which was quickly resolved once queried. Lewes is a lovely town, highly recommended, The Shelleys is a good place if you can get a good deal.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank daviddUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Your thoughtful remarks are appreciated, thank you. At different times of year we will look to work with our partners but inevitably these offers tend to sell out quickly

Hopefully on your next visit we can ensure your stay meets all your expectations as your custom is valued
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We were given a night's stay for The Shelley's from my fiancée’s aunt and glad they chose the place as it was an experience. The hotel is on the High St (walking distance from Lewes station) and from my estimation there is parking for about 20 vehicles in the car park next to the building. The gentleman at the front desk was fantastic, very well mannered and very helpful. He showed us to our room by leading us through a short maze of corridors and double doors.
The room itself (Room 20) was lovely and had a little alcove which housed a desk and lighting. We were pleasantly surprised at the size and the decor though the bathtub had a small dent in it and was only 'covered' up with what resembled quickdry plaster.

The dinner (which was included) was a three course meal and the pigeon for the starter was a little tough but I have not had pigeon before so it just may be the way it is. The steak main great which was accompanied by chunky chips. Delightful. For dessert we the selection of ice cream which tasted like any other ice cream really.

During the night it was a little hard to sleep because the heater hummed a little much for my liking and the fact that read that the hotel is haunted (rooms 6,7 and 26) really did not make the night any easier.

The breakfast was nice. Classical music played whilst eating a full english is something I have never experienced but did notice that it settled me down after an easy night due to my overactive imagination. The restaurant hosted both dinner and breakfast and in the morning we were able to look into the garden and beyond that was a lovely view.
After breakfast we wandered the other rooms and even thought about having our wedding reception there as it had the right look but due to its size it would not be able to accommodate a reception of more than 40-50 by the look of it.

Overall the hotel is beautiful inside and out, nice decor, and friendly staff. If a haunted history does not bother you and you are in Lewes stay here. The place will not disappoint, though you may want to eat out for something more adventurous.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
What a wonderful gift from your fiancee's aunt - hopefully we can welcome her to the Shelleys before too long

Your kind remarks are much appreciated, thank you. Since your stay we have launched our new menu and look forward to seeing you again soon. Lewes and the Shelleys have, we hope, a great deal to offer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Stayed at the hotel on a recent business trip and arrived to find I'd been given a beautiful room, but was very cold as the radiators didn't work, and the bathroom was practically freezing. Having reported the problem, the staff were very helpful and provided me with a small fan heater, which helped to an extent but couldn't have heated the room properly even if I'd left it on all day. Given the time of year and the relatively high price of the rooms, I would have expected better and perhaps to have been moved to a warmer room.

The food was also relatively average, although I do have to add that the staff were yet again very pleasant and helpful.

So on the whole, felt my stay was quite average and had expected a lot more.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MPrCr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Regrettably we were hit by heating/boiler problems at the time of your stay and while your kind remarks concerning our staff are appreciated, naturally we were sorry that the room wasn't warm enough. 400 year old Grade II listed buildings are wonderful but still have their peculiar ways sometimes

Hopefully we will be able to restore fully your faith in Shelleys at a future time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

This is a lovely old building with loads of character. We found it very clean, warm and comfortable. The food is really good and the staff were excellent. It is looking a bit tired in places but that's the nature of the building and its history. We had a tea tray in our superior room but the TV cannot get a decent signal so we were told - much better without a TV anyway. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank THEVIKING100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
A great review thank you though we were sorry the TV signal was a little 'off colour' during your stay. We are looking for ways to boost the reception

We will look forward to seeing you again before too long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Well situated. Upgrade room was huge but on the front with traffic noise all night. Large comfortable bed. Free bottled water as well as tea/coffee maker in room. Room maid called early evening to ask if we wanted ice and check that we had everything. Very quiet in the hotel probably due to the date, 02/01/2013. Food excellent and staff friendly. Would happily return and recommend.

Room Tip: Avoid the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
We are delighted The Shelleys managed to help set 2013 off so well for you and many thanks for your positive and kind remarks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Amazing location right on the High Street yet it was quiet inside. Our room was large as was the bathroom and all furnished to a high standard. Comfortable bed, crisp white sheets, soft towels and dressing gowns provided. The building itself is centuries old, very quirky and full of history. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the dinner and especially the breakfast which was waiter service and cooked to order. Would definitely like to go back/.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taiters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
What a superb title for your review which really is appreciated by the team here - thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.3 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
783 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#7 of 8 in Lewes
947 reviews
2.0 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
167 reviews
6.4 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,172 reviews
6.4 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelleys

Property: The Shelleys
Address: 135 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shelleys 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step off the historic High Street in the beautiful county town of Lewes and into the peaceful tranquility of The Shelleys; an elegantly sublime 17th Century, family-run, country house hotel. The Shelleys offers discreet service, with high standards, within a uniquely calm ambience, with friendly staff who anticipate your every need. With nineteen luxury boutique rooms, all en-suite, each designed and decorated to reflect our Georgian origins and fitted with a television and Wi-Fi access; The Shelleys perfectly combines English tradition with contemporary luxury. Dating back to 1588, The Shelleys is a grade II* listed property – falling into the 4% bracket viewed as a “particularly important building of more than special interest” by English Heritage… Located close to Brighton and Eastbourne, this East Sussex hotel is the perfect venue for a change of scene. Whether it’s a weekend of rest and relaxation, a romantic break, or a base from which to explore the surrounding historical town and South Downs, you’ll find your every need is anticipated at The Shelleys. The a la carte lunch and dinner menu is available in the stylish award-winning Apostrophe Restaurant or on the brick-paved terrace overlooking our beautiful gardens. Morning Coffee & Afternoon Tea, Drinks and Bar Lunches are also available throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Shelleys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Hotel Shelleys
The Shelleys Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing