We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic stay”
Review of The Shelleys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Shelleys
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night DB&B and I cannot praise this hotel more. The staff and management were exceptional and could not do more for you.
The building dates back to the 1500's so in reference to the comments that there is creaking what would you expect from something that age it all adds to the charm of the place.
The building is beautiful and very well decorated keeping to its history.
The food is amazing and plentiful and the staff very attentive during service.
Overall this is a great getaway for a night or two away and to explore the surrounding area.
I have stayed in many hotels and this is up there with the best!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ostacey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Thank you for such a super review - the team at Shelleys are on cloud nine as a result and are very much looking forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the near future. More so as we have some great new dishes ready for the Spring

Renewed thanks for your kind words and custom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

Nice hotel in nice town. Very large and well furnished room. Service was impressive and our meal was good but not up to the standard the last time I stayed here some years ago. The room was a well decorated but there were cobwebs hanging from the ceiling and some unpleasant stains on the carpet. Shower was difficult to operate and the noise of creaking floorboards in the room and corridor above led to a regularly broken nights sleep. Some noise and background hum from pipes/extraction equipment.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs, no lift and a bit of a rabbit warren. Make sure to tell the hotel at the time of boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

This review and your custom is much appreciated, thank you. Since taking over management of the hotel we are now mid-way through a comprehensive but sympathetic renovation program designed to turn back years of under-investment by previous owners

Shelleys is magnificent, dating back several hundred years and we cannot help but think of her as the 'grande dame' of Lewes - she has given so much over the years and wants to keep giving. As with any old building there will be creaks and given its listed status we have to be both disciplined and thoughtful in the work that we do which is, of course, a labour of love

Hopefully next time you visit you will see further improvements and meanwhile, renewed thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Subject: The Shelleys
Location: Lewes, East Sussex, England, United Kingdom, Europe
Title: booking not honoured
ID#: 153584107

On l4th Feb 2013, I rang and booked a surprise Valentine gift for my husband - a night's stay on Nov. 5th 2013 to join in Lewes famous bonfire night celebrations. At the hotel's request, I gave my credit card details and immediately received a full email confirmation. It was for a single room they sometimes let as a very small double (in our case) for £100 inc. breakfast.
EIGHT days later, I get a phone call from the hotel telling me there had been a mistake made by a new receptionist, and we had to have a room for 2 nights on Bonfire night. This is despite it being midweek (e.g. Monday and Tuesday). The cost of our stay? £240 (package dinner on one night). A whopping 140% increase on my Valentine gift, already given!! Although they apologised, they said they could easily sell the space, and absolutely no compensation for their mistake was offered, just a 'take it or leave it' email response from the manager relayed to me via the receptionist in an email.
Dismissing a confirmed booking is actually illegal - by law a hotel has to honor its confirmation, date and price, or there is no point in actually getting one!
Faced with my husband having to take an extra day off work and the unexpected cost, was upsetting. If they had offered to upgrade the room for the two days, or ANYTHING to apologise, it would have been accepted - as a very small room for two days is not so great. My email enquiry about parking costs was just ignored. With one final phone call attempt from me, they came back and offered nothing to compensate for their error, despite admitting they still had three better and bigger rooms free. The meanness of what is supposed to be a classy hotel is totally breathtaking, and out of principle I hope people avoid it at all costs.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
7  Thank lyndsay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Regrettably we cannot identify with these comments and view them as apocryphal. It is clear these guests have not stayed at the hotel so on this basis it is a case of "enough said" other than to point out that Guy Fawkes is one of the key nights of the year for both the hotel and Lewes. As such we should perhaps quote John Lennon as it would be "strange days indeed" if we did not know our booking policies, more so as we have a stable and incredibly hard-working team on reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

The Shelleys is a very old, elegant hotel, conveniently situated near the top of cobbled Keere Street, yet quiet and so relaxing. There is a genuinely warm welcome from the moment you enter, nothing is too much trouble. I’ve visited for both business and leisure (including a really lovely wedding) and am always impressed by the high level of comfort and friendly service. Rooms are luxuriously furnished, appropriate to the period, with homely touches, and the beds have lovely deep mattresses. The food, served in the pretty dining room overlooking the garden, is delicious. There are plenty of cosy chairs scattered about where you can relax with a book and pot of tea. The building itself is very old and quirky, with heaps of historic interest. It really is a very special hotel, oozing class and friendliness, & I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms at the back which overlook the pretty gardens & have lovely countryside views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clare h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Thank you for such an uplifting review. We are proud of being the current custodians of The Shelleys which is steeped in much history and we hope as many good memories for our guests

Hopefully we can welcome you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Lovely hotel, lovely room & facilities. Restaurant service a bit hit & miss with old & current dinner menus handed out each with differing dishes. Food not too bad but not wonderful, Sunday breakfast far superior to Saturday's, different chef I guess.
With friends who had booked a travelzoo deal which we couldn't get, we ended up on a valentines package for the first night but the second night was charged at a rate far higher than the most expensive rate currently shown on their web site, it was as quoted to us so we should have paid closer attention. Mix up on drinks charges on final bill which was quickly resolved once queried. Lewes is a lovely town, highly recommended, The Shelleys is a good place if you can get a good deal.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank daviddUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Your thoughtful remarks are appreciated, thank you. At different times of year we will look to work with our partners but inevitably these offers tend to sell out quickly

Hopefully on your next visit we can ensure your stay meets all your expectations as your custom is valued

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We were given a night's stay for The Shelley's from my fiancée’s aunt and glad they chose the place as it was an experience. The hotel is on the High St (walking distance from Lewes station) and from my estimation there is parking for about 20 vehicles in the car park next to the building. The gentleman at the front desk was fantastic, very well mannered and very helpful. He showed us to our room by leading us through a short maze of corridors and double doors.
The room itself (Room 20) was lovely and had a little alcove which housed a desk and lighting. We were pleasantly surprised at the size and the decor though the bathtub had a small dent in it and was only 'covered' up with what resembled quickdry plaster.

The dinner (which was included) was a three course meal and the pigeon for the starter was a little tough but I have not had pigeon before so it just may be the way it is. The steak main great which was accompanied by chunky chips. Delightful. For dessert we the selection of ice cream which tasted like any other ice cream really.

During the night it was a little hard to sleep because the heater hummed a little much for my liking and the fact that read that the hotel is haunted (rooms 6,7 and 26) really did not make the night any easier.

The breakfast was nice. Classical music played whilst eating a full english is something I have never experienced but did notice that it settled me down after an easy night due to my overactive imagination. The restaurant hosted both dinner and breakfast and in the morning we were able to look into the garden and beyond that was a lovely view.
After breakfast we wandered the other rooms and even thought about having our wedding reception there as it had the right look but due to its size it would not be able to accommodate a reception of more than 40-50 by the look of it.

Overall the hotel is beautiful inside and out, nice decor, and friendly staff. If a haunted history does not bother you and you are in Lewes stay here. The place will not disappoint, though you may want to eat out for something more adventurous.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

What a wonderful gift from your fiancee's aunt - hopefully we can welcome her to the Shelleys before too long

Your kind remarks are much appreciated, thank you. Since your stay we have launched our new menu and look forward to seeing you again soon. Lewes and the Shelleys have, we hope, a great deal to offer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Stayed at the hotel on a recent business trip and arrived to find I'd been given a beautiful room, but was very cold as the radiators didn't work, and the bathroom was practically freezing. Having reported the problem, the staff were very helpful and provided me with a small fan heater, which helped to an extent but couldn't have heated the room properly even if I'd left it on all day. Given the time of year and the relatively high price of the rooms, I would have expected better and perhaps to have been moved to a warmer room.

The food was also relatively average, although I do have to add that the staff were yet again very pleasant and helpful.

So on the whole, felt my stay was quite average and had expected a lot more.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MPrCr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Regrettably we were hit by heating/boiler problems at the time of your stay and while your kind remarks concerning our staff are appreciated, naturally we were sorry that the room wasn't warm enough. 400 year old Grade II listed buildings are wonderful but still have their peculiar ways sometimes

Hopefully we will be able to restore fully your faith in Shelleys at a future time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.3 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
850 reviews
2.1 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
256 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#27 of 43 in Brighton
594 reviews
8.3 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hove
513 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#32 of 43 in Brighton
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelleys

Address: 135 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range: £84 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shelleys 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step off the historic High Street in the beautiful county town of Lewes and into the peaceful tranquility of The Shelleys; an elegantly sublime 17th Century, family-run, country house hotel. The Shelleys offers discreet service, with high standards, within a uniquely calm ambience, with friendly staff who anticipate your every need. With nineteen luxury boutique rooms, all en-suite, each designed and decorated to reflect our Georgian origins and fitted with a television and Wi-Fi access; The Shelleys perfectly combines English tradition with contemporary luxury. Dating back to 1588, The Shelleys is a grade II* listed property – falling into the 4% bracket viewed as a “particularly important building of more than special interest” by English Heritage… Located close to Brighton and Eastbourne, this East Sussex hotel is the perfect venue for a change of scene. Whether it’s a weekend of rest and relaxation, a romantic break, or a base from which to explore the surrounding historical town and South Downs, you’ll find your every need is anticipated at The Shelleys. The a la carte lunch and dinner menu is available in the stylish award-winning Apostrophe Restaurant or on the brick-paved terrace overlooking our beautiful gardens. Morning Coffee & Afternoon Tea, Drinks and Bar Lunches are also available throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The Shelleys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Hotel Shelleys
The Shelleys Lewes, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing